answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The runner has to run back to first base before the ball is thrown to get her out. She has to tag back on first no matter if the ball was caught before she tagged second base or not. She has to tag back at first to be able to run to second or she will most likely be out.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-20 22:34:01
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the rule in asa softball if a runner tags base before the flyball is caught?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If a runner has to return to a base on a caught flyball is that a force out?

Yes. The fielder covering the base does NOT have to tag the runner. The runner is forced out when the fielder steps on the base before the runner can make it back. Got that.


How can people get out in softball?

To get someone out in softball the pitcher can strike them out. They can hit a pop-fly that is caught. The ball can beat the runner to first base by a defensive player tagging that base before the runner gets there. If the runner runs into a defensive player who is making the initial play on the ball, the runner is out. The runner could be tagged out before they touch the base.


Runners first and third flyball hit center caught runner on third tags and scores runner on first does not return to the base before center fielder throws him out 3rd out does run score?

In my league, if the pop fly was caught as the second out, and the runner on first wasn't forced out, then if the runner on third gets home before the other runner is out, then he/she is considered safe. So basically.. if its not a forced play, and the runner gets home before the out, then yes. The run counts. But that may not be every league.


In a game of softball what is the meaning of the phrase tagging up?

tagging up is whena base runner advances to the next base before the fly ball is caught


What is agood time for a high school catcher to throw a softball to second base?

Runner attempting a steal from first, or a runner caught returning to second base.


When will a runner get a strike in softball?

A runner doesn't get a strike, a batter does.


In ASA softball can you be a courtesy runner and then a pinch runner for someone else?

NO


Can a runner on 3rd base score before a fly ball is caught when there are 2 outs?

No. A runner can only advance on a fly ball after it is caught. Since there are two outs and the catch of the fly ball would make the third out. A runner cannot score before a fly ball is caught at any time.


In softball when a runner gets to the base before the fielders get the ball is called a what?

I guess if you were to call it something it would be called advancing bases, or if the coaches were talking about the runner it would be called advancing the runner.


In softball if at any time a base runner leaves the base can they be tagged out?

yes they can I play High school softball and you can get but if you leave the base before the pitcher releases the ball you are out


What is an sacrifice fly in softball?

A sacrifice fly in softball is when they batter sacrifices themselves (meaning they are getting an out) to score the runner or to move the runner into scoring position.


In softball how can a runner be out?

The batter is out, if they hit a ball in the air and a defensive player catches the ball before it touches the ground, in fair or foul territory. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches a base before the runner, the runner is out. If a defensive player has the ball in control and touches the runner with the ball in their hand or glove, the runner is out.

People also asked