answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Answer

According to the Official Rules of Major League Baseball:

10.19 SAVES FOR RELIEF PITCHERS

A save is a statistic credited to a relief pitcher, as set forth in this Rule 10.19.

The official scorer shall credit a pitcher with a save when such pitcher meets all four of the following conditions:

(a) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;

(b) He is not the winning pitcher;

(c) He is credited with at least â…“ of an inning pitched; and

(d) He satisfies one of the following conditions:

(1) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning;

(2) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batters he faces); or

(3) He pitches for at least three innings.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-11-13 01:38:31
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the requirement for a save to be made by a pitcher?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

How does a pitcher get a save in baseball?

A pitcher can get a save in baseball when his team is winning by three or less. It can be a 5 out svae or 3 out save. Sometimes there are other ways.


Can a MLB pitcher get a save in extra innings?

A home pitcher can't get a save opportunity since any lead would result in a walkoff victory. However a road pitcher can get a save opportunity by relieving another pitcher in the bottom of the inning when they have the lead.


How many innings do you have to pitch to earn a save in a high school game?

There is no inning requirement to earn a save. To earn a save, a pitcher must enter the game with the tieing run(s) either on base, at the plate, or on deck, and finish the game by not allowing the tying run or runs to score.


Pitcher leaves game with one run lead but two runners on base relief pitcher comes in finishes game for win does relief pitcher get a win or save?

He gets a save


Pitcher of pitcher plant is made of?

It is made up from leaf


How many innings does a pitcher have to pitch to get a save in the MLB?

A single out is enough to get a save. To get a save a pitcher has to record the game ending out, and has to have entered with a lead of 3 runs or fewer, or with the tying run at the plate or on deck. If a pitcher throws the game's final 3 innings he can get the save regardless of how big a lead his team had when he entered.


How can cloud computing save money?

It reduces the requirement for infrastructure by outsourcing.


Most save opportunities for a pitcher in a season?

A save is credited to a pitcher who finishes a game with a certain number of saves or percentage of save opportunities. Mariano Rivera is the MLB's leader in one season's saves with 652.


What are the rules for a save for a pitcher?

Relieving pitcher finishing the game and his team wins, with relieving pitcher coming in while his team is already winning.


Why do pitcher plants eat insects?

Pitcher plants eat insects because these plants need more nitrogen for survive and this requirement can not be completed by soil.


Can a save be earned by the visiting team pitcher in extra innings in MLB?

Yes, the pitcher who pitched the bottom of the previous inning would get the win and if a new pitcher is used in the bottom of the next inning and holds the lead, he would get the save.


Does the pitcher before the save get the win?

Not necessarily. The "winning" pitcher is the one who most recently pitched when her/his team went ahead, without ever surrendering the lead. A starting pitcher must pitch at least five innings. Thus, the pitcher before the one that gets the save MIGHT get the win, but it is not guaranteed. If a team went ahead in the first inning and maintained the lead, and that team's starting pitcher pitched for more than five innings but had two relief pitchers to follow him, then the starter would be the "winning" pitcher and the final pitcher would have a chance at a save. But the second pitcher would have no chance for either a win or a save.

People also asked