answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

the pithers team has to be winning by 3 or less runs to save the game A pitcher must enter the game after the fifth inning, his team must be three or less runs ahead, and the pitcher must preserve the lead.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-08-06 23:59:27
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What has to happen for a pitcher to save the game?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What are the save situations?

In order to record a save under baseball rules, the following must happen: The pitcher must be the last to appear in a game won by his team. The pitcher is not the winning pitcher. The pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs, and records at least one out. He comes in with the potential tying run on base, at bat or on deck. A pitcher can also record a save by recording at least three effective innings to close out a game, at the discretion of the official scorer. Consequently, a blown save is when a pitcher enters a game in any of these situations and allows either the tying or go-ahead run to score.


When does a save happen in baseball?

When a relief pitcher comes in while leading & does not give up the lead when game concluded.


Pitcher leaves game with one run lead but two runners on base relief pitcher comes in finishes game for win does relief pitcher get a win or save?

He gets a save


When did Relief Pitcher - video game - happen?

Relief Pitcher - video game - happened in 1994.


How does a relief pitcher get a save in a game?

In order to record a save under baseball rules, the following must happen: The pitcher must be the last to appear in a game won by his team. The pitcher is not the winning pitcher. The pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs, and records at least one out. He comes in with the potential tying run on base, at bat or on deck. A pitcher can also record a save by recording at least three effective innings to close out a game, at the discretion of the official scorer. Consequently, a blown save is when a pitcher enters a game in any of these situations and allows either the tying or go-ahead run to score. Almost had it - the tying run is on base, on deck, or in the hole. If a team is up by 3 runs and the reliever starts the inning, he can still get the save. Also the reliever cannot create his own save situation.


How many innings does a pitcher have to pitch to get a save in the MLB?

A single out is enough to get a save. To get a save a pitcher has to record the game ending out, and has to have entered with a lead of 3 runs or fewer, or with the tying run at the plate or on deck. If a pitcher throws the game's final 3 innings he can get the save regardless of how big a lead his team had when he entered.


Has anyone ever blown 2 saves in same game?

No, by definition that is not possible. Should a pitcher stay in the game after blowing a save and the team retakes the lead, the pitcher would be in line to get a win and not a save.


What are the rules for a save for a pitcher?

Relieving pitcher finishing the game and his team wins, with relieving pitcher coming in while his team is already winning.


Most save opportunities for a pitcher in a season?

A save is credited to a pitcher who finishes a game with a certain number of saves or percentage of save opportunities. Mariano Rivera is the MLB's leader in one season's saves with 652.


If im winning 4-0 in the 9th inning can you get a save?

According to the MLB Official Rule Book, a pitcher is credited with a save when 1) the pitcher is the last pitcher the team uses and 2) the pitcher is not credited with the win and 3) one of the following three conditions apply ....A) the pitcher enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning or ....B) the pitcher enters the game with the potentional tying run on base, at bat, or on deck or ....C) the pitcher pitches at least three effective innings regardless of what the score was when they entered the game In MLB, since a save is awarded if the finishing pitcher enters the game with the tying run being at bat or on deck, it would be possible to be credited with a save when entering a game in the ninth inning with the score 4-0. If the pitcher enters the game at the beginning of the ninth inning of a 4-0 game a save cannot be credited. Rules 1 and 2 above would be satisfied but Rule 3 would not. But if the pitcher enters the game with the bases loaded and the score 4-0, a save can be awarded since the first batter the pitcher faces is the potential tying run.


Is it possible for a pitcher to be credited for a win and a save in the same game if he goes to another position and then comes in the get the final out?

no. According to the rulebook a save can only be awarded to a pitcher who is not already being considered for the win.


Can a relief pitcher come into a game in a non-save situation then give up runs to get into a save opportunity?

Not at all. 1. save rule (n) the baseball rule that credits a relief pitcher with a save if he comes into a game with his team ahead and completes the game with his team winning, and meets one of the following conditions: a) enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning, or b) enters the game with the potential tying runner on base, at bat, or on deck, or c) pitches for at least three innings Absolutely not. A pitcher cannot create his own save situation; if it's not a save situation when he enters, he's not getting a save, no matter what he does. If he's pulled for another reliever, that second reliever could get a save.


Does the new pitcher in the top of the seventh inning of a 1-0 ballgame get the win or a save?

If the relief pitcher pitches 3 innings, and completes the game, and never gave up the lead, he would get a save.


How do you decide if pitchers get the win or loss or no decision?

If pitchers' team is ahead when he leaves the game (all runners left on base that score, are charged to the pitcher that left them on base), he gets the win. The pitcher must pitch at least 5 innings in a game over 6 innings to get the win. If it is a tie game and the relieving pitcher's team wins, relieving pitcher gets the win. Otherwise he is charged with the loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters as a pitcher and then loses the game, the relieving pitcher is charged with a loss. If the relieving pitcher's team is winning when he enters the game as a pitcher and wins, the relieving pitcher is given a Save.


How many innings do you have to pitch to earn a save in a high school game?

There is no inning requirement to earn a save. To earn a save, a pitcher must enter the game with the tieing run(s) either on base, at the plate, or on deck, and finish the game by not allowing the tying run or runs to score.


Who is the oldest pitcher to save a Major League Baseball game?

Satchel Paige at age 47 in 1953.


How does a pitcher earn a win in baseball?

TO UPDATE THE PERSON'S POST ABOVE: MLB Rules state that a condition for a "save" is that the pitcher is not eligible for a "win". As such, a relief pitcher entering the game prior to the 5th as a reliever would get credit for the win, with no save allocated. If a pitcher pitches 6 innings and leaves the mound with the lead to field another position, then returns in the 9th to close, he remains credited with the win (if his score holds) with no save allocated. As for a team taking the lead with a pinch-hitter for a pitcher, the actual change of pitcher of record does not take effect until the next pitcher "takes the mound". Though the pitcher is removed for a pinch-hitter, the performance of the team will affect his ability to win the game. In other words, if the pitcher leaves the game while his team is on offense with the lead, he can only earn a win or a no decision. If he leaves the game while his team is on offense with a tie or behind, he can win, lose, or have a no-decision, depending on what the score is when the next pitcher takes the mound.


How does a pitcher get a save?

Any relief pitcher can come in and pitch at least three innings EFFECTIVELY and get a save. Here is rule 10.20 from the MLB.com site on June 2nd. Credit a pitcher with a save when he meets all three of the following conditions: (1) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his club; and (2) He is not the winning pitcher; and (3) He qualifies under one of the following conditions: (a) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning; or (b) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat, or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batsmen he faces); or (c) He pitches effectively for at least three innings. No more than one save may be credited in each game.


Pitcher leaves game relief pitcher enters with two runners on base and one run lead does relief pitcher get win or save?

It will depend on the circumstances. If this happens in the top of the ninth inning, he will get a save if he retires the remaining batters without giving up a run, but if he gives up one run to tie the game, so that the game is tied in the middle of the ninth, he will get a win if his team gets a run in the bottom of the ninth inning. Peter


What is a save in baseball?

A save is where the team who is leading brings out a pitcher to close a game. Usually the team calls out the closer who specializes in saves, but sometimes the team puts out a different reliever to rest the closer. Saves consist of mainly 1-3 run leads sometimes even 4. The new pitcher usually comes in the ninth inning to close out the game and give the team a win, but the closer may have to come in the eighth inning with two outs, this is called a four out save. If the pitcher blows the lead it is called a blown save. The pitcher can still get the win though. They record the closers record of saves, for example the pitcher could have a 43/46 record. This means the pitcher saved 43 games out of 46.


Who was the NL pitcher with win in 2010 All Star game?

The winning pitcher was Matt Capps of the Washington Nationals. Jonathan Broxton of the Los Angeles Dodgers was credited with a save.


If a pitcher enters the game in the 8th inning with the score 5-0 pitches the 9th inning and the game ends with a score of 8-0 does the pitcher gets a save?

No he does not. You must enter the game with the score being within 3 runs of the other team. But if the pitcher pitches three innings without giving up the lead, (after the starter) then he is awarded the save as well. example: 1-0, 5-2, 9-8


What will happen if you take the battery out of your gba game?

You may lose your save data.


What would happen if you save it in the mystery zone for Pokemon diamond?

when I did it ,it restarted my game.


Can a MLB pitcher get a save in extra innings?

A home pitcher can't get a save opportunity since any lead would result in a walkoff victory. However a road pitcher can get a save opportunity by relieving another pitcher in the bottom of the inning when they have the lead.