answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

2 shot penalty

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-04-24 12:51:59
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the penalty for being hit by your own ball while in a hazard?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

A ball crosses a water hazard and rolls back into the water?

The ball is played from where it stops. If you can't hit it out of the hazard, take the drop and penalty.


What happens if you hit your golf ball in a red hazard but cannot find your ball?

You can take a drop with a new ball (one shot penalty of course), but only if you or your playing partners saw the ball enter the hazard. However, if you cannot be sure the ball entered the hazard you have to go back to where you played the previous shot from, this will cost you a one shot penalty.


When a player has addressed the ball outside a hazard and has grounded his club but then has a practice swing first is this deemed as a penalty stroke?

Not if the ball is sitting outside the hazard line.


Red stakes are a stroke penalty but not a distance penalty in golf?

Correct! Red is marking a lateral hazard. Ball may be dropped within 2 club lengths of where it crossed the red stakes or if found, played from the hazard with no penalty.


While on the green if you putt your ball and it hits a competitors ball what is the penalty?

You would be given a two stroke penalty.


When a player has addressed the ball outside a hazard and has grounded hisclub then has a practice swing first is this deemed as a penalty stroke?

You have made the distinction between, in the hazard and outside of the hazard, because of course, you can not ground your club in a hazard. If you address the ball but step away and take a practice swing there is no problem. You only incur a penalty if you knock the ball with the club and it moves. Also, a stroke is only deemed to have taken place if you make a genuine attempt to hit the ball.


What is the rule for hitting in a water hazard?

If you hit it into a water hazard, you can drop the ball as far back as you want, keeping the point where the ball entered the hazard between you and the flag. Or you can go back to where you hit the previous shot from. It is a one shot penalty for hitting into a water hazard. Interestingly you do not have to find your original ball, you can simply play another, but you must agree with your partners that the ball entered the hazard.


Is there a penalty for accidentally knocking your ball off the tee while teeing off?

You've caused the ball to move while in play, without taking a stroke. There is a penalty of one stroke, and the ball is replaced.


If a ball is struck towards a water hazard and cannot be found what is the ruling?

The key thing is you must know that the ball has went into the water hazard. If it has done so you either play another ball from your original positon, take a two club drop from the edge of the hazard or on a line with the pin and where the ball entered take the ball back as far as you want. There is a one shot penalty for hitting it into the water hazard.


What is the penalty for double hitting the golf ball out of a bunker in match play situation?

2 stroke penalty for contacting the ball while it is moving


If you play a provisional ball then discover that your original ball is in a water hazard which is the ball in play?

The ball in the water hazard. You just made a mistake, and must move on. The above is indeed correct, but only if you found the original ball within five minutes of arriving in the area where you believe your ball to be. Keep in mind, a lost ball in a water hazard differs than the normal ruling because you do not actually have to find the ball. If you see your ball, or have been told your ball entered the water hazard you may simply take a penalty drop with another ball.


What happens in golf when you hit your shot into the water?

Water hazards: Whenever you see yellow stakes, you know the pond/creek/lake in question is a water hazard. If you hit into a water hazard, you may play the ball as it lies (no penalty), or if the ball is unplayable, choose from these options (with a one-shot penalty):Hit another ball from the spot where you just hit (into the water hazard - try to avoid that this time!).Take the point where your ball crossed the water hazard and drop another ball (you can go back as far as you want, keeping that point between you and the hole).Lateral water hazards: If you're playing by the seaside, the beach is often termed a lateral water hazard. Red stakes mean lateral. Your options are either to play the ball as it lies (no penalty, but risky), or choose one of the following (with a one-stroke penalty):Drop a ball at the point where the ball last crossed the boundary of the hazard - within two club lengths, no nearer the hole.Drop a ball as near as possible to the spot on the opposite margin of the water hazard, the same distance from the hole.Hit another ball from within two club lengths of the spot you just hit from.Take the point where the ball crossed the water hazard and drop another ball as far back as you want, keeping that point between you and the hole.

People also asked