answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer
Copy

The runner is out, the ball is dead,all runners return to their original base, and the batter receives a base hit

AnswerThe batter is awarded a single

Added information: This was recently (past few years) changed. Now, the batter is awarded a base hit only if the official scorer judges that the ball would have been a hit had it not touched a runner. Otherwise the batter is on base with a fielder's choice!

improvement:

The official scoring is single, and the runner is out (unassited putout awarded to the nearest fielder)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-10 21:56:04
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
๐Ÿ˜‚
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +5 pts
Q: What is the official scoring for the batter when the baserunner gets hit with a batted ball?
Write your answer...
Submit

Related Questions

Does a batter get an RBI if a runner scores on a passed ball if the batter then singles?

No, a batter will not receive a RBI in the event of a baserunner scoring a run on a passed ball. The batter will have to hit a batted ball in order to score a baserunner. Hitting after a passed ball will not be counted as a run scoring play regardless of the following outcome of the batter's at-bat.


What is the official scoring of a ground ball that hits the runner?

The baserunner is out and the batter is credited with a single. The putout goes to the fielder closest to the ball when it hit the runner.


What happens if a baseball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory, the baserunner is out and the batter is awarded first base. If the baserunner is in foul territory and is hit by a batted ball it is just a foul ball. If a baserunner is hit by a thrown ball the ball is still in play, unless it is determined that the baserunner purposely moved into the path of the thrown ball, or is running out of the base path, then the baserunner is out for interference.


What is the official scoring for the batter if he is hit in fair territory by his own batted ball?

That batter would be called out. If the ball goes directly from his bat to hitting the batter when they are not in the batters box, the batter is out. If a defensive player deflects the ball before it touches the batter then play continues as normal.


What is the ruling when a batted ball is deflected by pitcher and hits a baserunner?

A batted ball that hits a fielder is in play, regardless of whether or not it later hit a baserunner. If a batted ball hits a baserunner before touching a fielder, the runner is out, the batter is awarded a hit, and all other runners return to their previous base unless forced to advance.


What is the official scoring when a batter makes contact while stepping out of the batters box?

If the batter is outside of the box when contact is made, the batter is out.


If a baserunner is hit by a batted ball and declared the third out as per rule 7.09 m does the batter still get credited with a hit?

Yes, the batter is still credited with a hit.


What is interference by a runner in baseball?

If a baserunner touches a baseball that the batter just hit, he is interfering with the defense making a fielding play and that baserunner is OUT!


Can a manager in a dugout give signs directly to a baserunner or batter?

Yes.


Who gets base when batter and fielder touch base at same time?

Tie always goes to the baserunner.


Is anyone credited with a run batted in when a runner steals home?

No because the batter had nothing to do with the runner scoring.


What is a forceout in baseball?

A baserunner may lose his right to occupy a base when a batter becomes a baserunner. The original baserunner could be thrown out when forced to advance, this becomes a force out. Example: Baserunner on first, batter hits a ground ball, the baserunner on first must try to advance, so the batter may try to advance to first, should a fielder field the ground ball and throw to another fielder at 2nd base, who then tags the base for the out, this is a force out of the runner who originally occupied first base.


What does GDIP mean in baseball?

Double plays initiated by a batter hitting a ground ball (but not a fly ball or line drive) are recorded in the official statistic GIDP (Grounded Into a Double Play), an indicator of one form of batting ineptitude. Should a run score on a play in which a batter hits into a double play (the first-and-third or bases loaded, none-out situation), official rules of scoring deny the batter credit for an RBI, although the batter always gets credit for an RBI on a one-out groundout or a fielder's choice play in which a baserunner scores.


What is sacrifice in baseball?

If you are referring to a sacrifice bunt, it is a play in which they may need to move a runner on first to second to get him into scoring position. They bunt the ball and force them to throw to first to get the batter out while they get the baserunner to second base.


What is the most hits in a major league inning by one team without scoring a run?

I don't know what the actual answer is, but I say 6 hits without scoring a run is theoretically possible: three hits to load the bases, two fielder's choice outs of the lead runners, then two more singles to load the bases again. Then the 6th hit would be a batted ball into a baserunner. The baserunner would be the 3rd out and the batter is credited with a hit. Or the 6th hit could be, although unlikely, an infield hit where there's an attempted putout at 1st, then the batter rounds 1st in attempt to go to 2nd and is immediately tagged out before the run crosses the plate.


Is the batter out in every circumstance when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


In softball when are the fielders able to use a force out?

Hello. A force out can be used when the runner is 'forced' to move to the next base. For example, when there's a baserunner at first and the batter hits the ball, there are force outs at both first (where the batter must go) and second (since the batter is coming to first, it forces the baserunner to second). However, if the ball is caught, the baserunner may stay at first since the batter is out. If the baserunner is not 'forced' to move to the next base, a force out cannot be used. For example, when there's a baserunner at second, first is empty and the batter hits the ball, there is only a force out at first. Since the baserunner on second does not have to yield her base to a runner directly behind her, she must be tagged to make the out if she tries to take third. Even in a situation where a force out will work, a tag is also an out. So IMO if the runner is off base and you can tag her, do it, then look to see if there are other outs that could be made.


When pitch hits batter and gets away from catcher can he or any baserunner advance?

No, once the pitch hits the batter, it's an automatic walk and the ball is dead.


What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?

A sacrifice bunt.


What is a batter credited with when a baserunner is called out for interference?

Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.


Is there ever a time when pitch count for a batter is reset in MLB?

When a baserunner makes the last out of an inning, the batter at the plate gets a fresh count to lead off the next inning.


What does sf mean in baseball?

Probably Sacrifice Fly. This is where there is a baserunner who advances by tagging up on a fly ball hit by the batter.


If the catcher drops the third strike and the batter is safe at first base is that an error on the catcher?

Yes the official scoring notation is K-E2 (strikeout - error on the catcher)


If the ball hits a baserunner is the play dead?

Yes, the play ends, the batter is awarded first base, and the runner that was hit is automatically out.


What is the difference between a force out and fielder's choice?

It's a judgment call. I think the answer is this: A play is scored as a fielder's choice if, in the official scorer's judgment, the fielder had a clear opportunity to throw the batter/runner out at first, but instead chose to putout another baserunner. So I suppose a batted ball is scored as a force out if the fielder has no realistic chance (in the scorer's eyes) to get the batter/runner out at first and his only choice is to tag another runner or throw to another base.