answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The runner is out, the ball is dead,all runners return to their original base, and the batter receives a base hit

AnswerThe batter is awarded a single

Added information: This was recently (past few years) changed. Now, the batter is awarded a base hit only if the official scorer judges that the ball would have been a hit had it not touched a runner. Otherwise the batter is on base with a fielder's choice!

improvement:

The official scoring is single, and the runner is out (unassited putout awarded to the nearest fielder)

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

If a play follows the interference, the manager of the offense may advise the plate umpire that he elects to decline the interference penalty and accept the play. In this case the interference is disregarded and normal scoring applies.

If the manager elects to take the interference penalty, it is scored as an error charged to the catcher.

If the batter reaches first base on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batsman, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, the play proceeds without reference to the interference and normal scoring applies.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

It depends on where the batter is in the base path.

First base is the only base where there is a running lane for the batter. This is a 3' wide lane to the right of the foul line, off the playing field. If the fielder throws the ball to first base for the putout and the ball hits the runner and prevents a catch by the fielder guarding the base:

-- if the runner was running within or to the right (as one looks from home to first) of the runners lane, the ball is dead and the runner is granted first base. This is true even if he falls down and is unable to make it to first before the ball is picked up and relayed to the first baseman.

-- if the runner is running outside the runner's lane (usually to the left), and is hit by the thrown ball, he is called out. In fact, if it is a quality throw, he could be called out even if he is not hit with the throw, if in the umpire's judgement he was attempting to interfere with the fielder's attempt to field the throw.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

16y ago

The baserunner is out and the batter is credited with a single. The putout goes to the fielder closest to the ball when it hit the runner.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

If the batter is outside of the box when contact is made, the batter is out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

The play is ruled dead. And the runner that was hit automatically is called out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

ask an umpire

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the official score on a batter stepping out of batter box and making contact with the ball and bat?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is the batter out if he steps on home plate after he hits the ball?

No. Home plate is considered fair territory and is treated as any other part of the field. However, if the batter is stepping on home while making contact with the ball, he is out for having touched the ball in fair territory. ---------- The above is not necessarily true. The rule says if the batter has all of one or both feet out of the batter's box when making contact with the pitch, he's out. But it's certainly possible for a batter's toe to be on the plate while his heel is on the inside line of the batter's box, and he would be legal. Next time you watch a Major League game, look for the inside line of the batter's box. In most ballparks, they don't chalk the inside line. Why? Because then it's up to the umpire to decide if, in his judgment, the batter's entire foot was out of the batter's box when he made contact with the pitch. It makes for fewer discussions with the Managers. And by the way, if the entire foot is out of the batter's box, and the batter makes contact with the pitch, he's out, whether he hits the ball fair or foul.


Can batter touch home plate when swinging at a pitch ball?

well you can do anything you want. first of all both feet have to be in the batters box while making contact with the ball. if your foot is on home plate while making contact with the ball you are out!!


When was Making Contact - album - created?

Making Contact - album - was created in 1982-08.


How many times can a batter swing and miss attempting a hit before he is declared out?

Each time a batter commits himself to making contact with the ball, but fails to do so, that is a strike. "And it's one ... two ... three strikes you're out In the old ball game!"


When was Making Contact - radio program - created?

Making Contact - radio program - was created in 1994.


Why is my 2003 Audi a4 making humming noise when stepping on gas?

Possible wheel bearing going bad.


What is the official map-making body of the British government?

The Ordinance Survey is the official map-making body of the British government.


Do batters watch the ball contact the bat?

Yes, a batter should watch the ball making contact with the bat. The batter should have his head turned toward the pitcher in a very comfortable position, as if he or she were watching TV. When near the point of contact, the batter should turn his head back a little and try to watch the bat hit the ball. If the batter does not turn his head, he will be looking at the ball out of the corner of his eye. I don't know of any person on this planet who can see something better out of the corner of their eyes. Hitting is tough and you must get a good look at the ball to have any chance at being successful.


What is the duration of Making Contact radio program?

The duration of Making Contact - radio program - is 1740.0 seconds.


What does not making eye contact mean?

Not making eye contact means not looking people directly in the eye.


How do you contact the Jonas Brothers from the UK?

They do have Myspace and Facebook. Which you may contact them on and leave comments. And theres a free contact telephone online which you can call and then the Jonas Brothers will somehow contact back. But be aware loads of people use it so them may not be able to answer all of them. It will take a matter of time. If you see them on bebo or facebook or anything else its not them, because they said themselves that they only have MYSPACE and Facebook. And its imposters who are making the other one's. Or you could go on there official website or official fan site at : Official Website http://www.jonasbrothers.com/ Fan Site http://www.jonasbrothersfanclub.com/


What is catcher interferance?

Catcher's Interference is an Umpire's call due to the Catcher making some type of contact with either the batter or his bat during a pitch or does other actions to interfere with a batter's ability to hit the oncoming pitched ball however an Umpire can only call Catcher's Interference as long as the batter is in a legal position while in the batter's box and in the event of Catcher's Interference being called the batter is awarded first base automatically and the runners advanced only if forced to.