Best Answer

The Grey Cup was first awarded in 1909, eleven years before the National Football League was formed.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-09-03 13:47:27
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides
See all Study Guides
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is older grey cup or an American championship?
Write your answer...
Related questions

Which is older grey cup or the Stanley cup?

The Stanley Cup Is Older.

What is the difference between the Grey Cup and the Stanley Cup?

The Grey Cup is awarded to the championship game winners of the Canadian Football League. The Stanley Cup is the award that is given to the championship game winners of the National Hockey League.

Canada's national football championship is called?

The Grey Cup

How many times have the Oilers gotten the grey cup?

Never. The Oilers are a hockey team and the Grey Cup is the championship trophy for professional Canadian Football.

Which city won the Grey Cup in 1940?

The Ottawa Rough Riders won their first Grey Cup in 1940, defeating Toronto Balmy Beach, in the only two-game 'total points' Grey Cup Championship.

What is older the Stanley cup or the grey cup?

The Stanley Cup was donated in 1893, making it the oldest trophy in professional team sports. The Grey cup was donated in 1909.

How do you spell gray cup?

The term is a proper noun, Grey Cup (The Canadian Football championship trophy).

How old is the Grey Cup?

The original Grey Cup was made in 1909. It's gotten a lot bigger since then with all the names on it and all. It has been awarded annually to the winner of the CFL championship game, except for 4 times between 1916 and 1919. The 100th Grey Cup game was held in 2012.

When was Championship Cup created?

Championship Cup was created in 2002.

Who was the first man to play in both a Grey Cup and a Super Bowl?

Roger Hagberg played college football at the University of Minnesota, then went to the Winnipeg Blue Bombers, playing for them in the 1962 Grey Cup. He was with the Oakland Raiders from 1965 to 1969, playing in the second World Championship game, against the Green Bay Packers, making Hagberg the first man to play in both a Grey Cup game and a Super Bowl.

When was Grey Cup created?

Grey Cup was created in 1909.

When did Grey Cup happen?

Grey Cup happened in 1909.

Yakima native Phil mahre was the first American to win what championship in 1981?

World Cup for Skiing

When was Asian Cup Volleyball Championship created?

Asian Cup Volleyball Championship was created in 2008.

When is the Grey Cup game?

The Grey Cup is traditionally played on the last Sunday in November.

Who was the first team to win the Grey Cup?

The very first Grey Cup Game was played on December 4, 1909, at Rosedale Field in Toronto. The University of Toronto Varsity Blues became the first team to win the Grey Cup, defeating Parkdale Canoe Club by a score of 26-6. The University of Toronto Varsity Blues were also the second and third teams to win the Cup, winning it as well in 1910 and 1911. In 1910 they defeated the Hamilton Tigers at the AAA Grounds in Hamilton 16-7, and a year later beat their cross-town rivals, Toronto Argonauts, 14-7, in the first Grey Cup Game of many played at U of T's brand new Varsity Stadium. But the 1909 University of Toronto team is not the first whose name appears on the Cup. The Hamilton Alerts won the fourth Grey Cup championship game in 1912. They had also won the Canadian championship in 1908, the year before the Grey Cup was donated by Canada's Governor General. Each Cup-winning team was responsible for having its own name engraved on one of the small plaques attached to the Cup. The Alerts took the Cup to an engraver and not only got their name engraved on it as the 1912 winners, but also as the 1908 winners. (The Hamilton Alerts were one of the three teams that eventually merged to become today's Hamilton Tiger-Cats.)

What CFL team has the most grey cup victories?

Toronto Argonauts have 16 Grey Cup wins from their first in the 6th Grey Cup in 1914 to their win in the 100th Grey Cup in 2012. The team that has won the most grey cups in a row would be the Edmonton Eskimos who won 5 in a row between 1978-1982.

The Grey Cup was a priceless porcelain cup made for Earl Grey True or False?


How many times have they played for the grey cup?

The game in 2012 was the 100th Grey Cup game.

When was the last time grey cup was played in Winnipeg?

Winnipeg hosted the Grey Cup in 2006.

When was World Ladies Championship Salonpas Cup created?

World Ladies Championship Salonpas Cup was created in 1973.

Who has won the grey cup the most often?

Toronto Argonauts won their 16th Grey Cup in 2012.

What cup did paul hamm win gymnastics?

Paul Hamm won the America's Cup in gymnastics in 2008. Hamm was the first American male to win the world all-round championship.

What do you get when you win the gray cup?

The grey cup.

Why did the 1960 grey cup take 2 days?

It didn't. You must be thinking of the 1962 Grey Cup Game.