A "trip" or "visit" to the mound is an actual Baseball rule, not baseball announcer slang. Rule 8.06 reads:
A professional league shall adopt the following rule pertaining to the visit of the manager or coach to the pitcher:
(a) This rule limits the number of trips a manager or coach may make to any one pitcher in any one inning
(b) A second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning will cause this pitcher's
(c) The manager or coach is prohibited from making a second visit to the mound while the same batter is at bat, but
(d) if a pinch-hitter is substituted for this batter, the manager or coach may make a second visit to the mound, but must remove the pitcher.
And further: A manager or coach is considered to have concluded his visit to the mound when he leaves the 18-foot circle surrounding the pitcher's rubber.
There is nothing in the rules that states when the "visit" actually begins. I have seen coaches walk out of the dugout, request time out, cross the foul line, then suddenly veer off and go to the first or third baseman, and this has not been considered a visit. I believe the interpretation is that the visit starts whenever a) the coach enters the 18 foot pitcher's circle, or b) if the pitcher leaves the 18 foot pitcher's circle and actually starts talking with the coach.
There is nothing in this rule that addresses anything about a reason for the visit. However, typically, if the pitcher appears to be injured in some way, it is not considered a visit, but the umpire is usually there to ensure there is no strategy being discussed.
Yes, all trips to the mound will be considered a "trip to the mound" no matter if the coach or manager is just talking strategy with the Pitcher or just with the Fielder or Fielders. The only way a trip to the mound does not count against a team is if they're doing an injury check on the Pitcher who is currently pitching in the game however if a pitcher was just substituted into the game and is warming up then the coach or Manager would still be out there and therefore it wouldn't count as a "trip to the mound."
Yes, it doesn't matter if it's the Pitching Coach or the Manager, it still counts as a visit to the mound. The only instance in which mound trips by coaches do not count is if they're checking on a pitcher to make sure they're not hurt and they let the umpire know before their trip to the mound.
The pitcher can re-enter the game as a pitcher later in the game if he is taken out with no trips to the mound or after one trip. If he is taken out after the second trip to the mound he can re-enter the game in any position except for pitcher..
I am not sure if the following will help. When the second trip to the mound happens in the same inning the pitcher has to be replaced. on a timeout no... u dont have to change the pitcher... if it is the 2nd "Mound Visit" with the coach on the mound yes. when only a catcher is talking to the catcehr or anyone already on the field it doesnt count. it is not considered a mound visit until the coach steps over the foul line. if there are 2 mound visits in in 2 different innings for the same pitcher u can remain on the mound
Yes, unless one of the trips was to check on the pitcher to see about an injury. A trip to the mound to check about an injury does not count towards the two trips per inning rule.You will notice when a manager makes a 'regular' trip to the mound, the home plate umpire stays away for 30 seconds or so and, if the manager is still at the mound after that time, will walk out to the mound to break up the conversation and get the game started again. But if a manager goes out to check about an injury, the home plate umpire is there listening to the conversation to ensure that no strategy is being discussed.
Anytime a manager advances from the dugout and says something to the pitcher it is considered a visit to the mound, unless it is in regards to an injury, in which they can only discuss the injury. If a manager visits the mound and then turns back to the dugout and then turns again to say something else, this is considered a 2nd visit, and the pitcher will by rule have to leave the game. Generally you will see catchers look into the dugout and the manager will give him a sign to go out and talk to the pitcher
A batted ball that hits the pitcher's mound (or any base) is considered a fair ball. A fair ball that lands out of play is considered a ground rule double.
Yes. The only time a manager can go to the mound and it not be considered a visit is if the manager believes his pitcher is injured. In that case the home plate umpire will accompany the manager to the mound and listen to the entire conversation to ensure that the manager and pitcher are not talking strategy but solely about how the pitcher is feeling.
they practiced animism. they believed that spirits were everywhere in the natural world. animal spirits were also considered to be very powerful.
The Mound Builders were considered to be semi-nomadic. This meant that they had no fixed home and would move from place to place according to the season in order to find food.
A digger wasp is an insect that would dig a big mound of sand. Another possibility would be a sand flea, however it is not considered an insect.