answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A safety is when you intentionally leave your opponent in a position where it is either difficult or impossible to make a shot.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-12-15 03:18:29
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a safety shot in Eight ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

When Playing pool if you call a shot and it hits the eight ball does it count?

If you made the shot off of the eight ball it only counts if you call it off the eight.


Do you have to call your shot for the eight ball in pool?

yes


Can you use the eight ball in a combination shot to make your last ball?

Under conventional rules, yes, the eight ball is neutral and can be the first ball hit for a combination shot. It may always be used in the middle of a combination shot (which can't be done on your last ball of course). However, many local rules in the US do not consider the 8 ball neutral - check the local rules before you make this shot.


If you are on the black ball in pool and you get somebody elses ball in do you lose?

In the game of Eight Ball, when you have pocketed your other balls and are shooting at the eight ball (your last ball), if you accidentally pocket your opponents ball(s) you DO NOT lose the game. However, your opponent's ball(s) remain pocketed and your turn is over. If the cue ball didn't strike your object ball first (the eight / black ball in this case), then the shot may be considered a foul and your opponent may get "ball in hand" (choice of cue ball position) for his next shot. This depends on the specific rules you play by, though.


If you are on your last colored ball in pool and then you get the white ball in so on your next go you would be trying to hit the black ball would you lose?

In eight-ball, if you pocketed your last colored ball and then got the white ball in (a "Scratch"), in the same shot, then No, you would not lose the game. It would be considered a foul shot, meaning your turn would be over. Also, depending on which rules you go by, your opponent may have "ball in hand" (choice of cue ball placement) for his next shot. However, if you were shooting at the eight (black) ball and scratch (pocket the cue ball), it would be considered a loss.


When pocketing the eight ball in pool are you able to hit the opponent's ball first?

The 8 ball must be the first ball struck to be a legal shot in 8 ball. The 8 ball is allowed to carom or deflect off another ball afterwards, although some local rules, not tournament rules, require that this be called as part of the shot.


How many billards are in a game of 8 ball?

a billiard is a type of activity in a shot and therfore has no requirements as to number performed in a single game of eight ball


When shooting your last ball or black ball can you call the shot off your opponents ball legally?

No. The first ball contacted by the cue ball must be the 8 ball to be a legal shot. However, if you use the opponent's ball as a carom shot after hitting the 8 ball, yes, this is a legal shot.


Can you deliberately scratch on the eight ball if no other shot is avalibal?

Yes, you can intentionally foul if you wish. Your opponent would get ball in hand, meaning they can place the cue ball anywhere on the playing surface for their next shot, but sometimes this is the most strategic play. The only caveat would be if you pocket the 8 ball and scratch on the same shot, in which case you would lose the game.


What equipment is used for shot put?

Shot ball


Price of an eight ball?

an eight ball usually goes for around $170 - $200. Are they talking about an eight ball - dope (i.e. crack?) or an eight ball in pool? An eight ball in dope was about $150 - $175. I have NO idea how much a pool eight ball is.


When one grabs the ball after a missed shot?

When one grabs the ball after a missed shot in basketball they have rebounded the ball.


What is a shot pocket in basketball?

The shot pocket is the area in your shot when you have a "pocket" to hold the ball in. right before you shoot the ball, and before your guide hand leaves the ball when your arm is bent backwards and you are in the air about to shoot, when the ball is currently positioned is the shot pocket. with both hands on the ball and the ball is ready to shoot.


When one grabs the ball after a missed shot in basketball?

When one grabs the ball after a missed shot in basketball they have rebounded the ball.


Who invented the eight ball?

who invented eight ball billiards


What is the shot put ball called?

A shot put ball is called GET A LIFE AND GET OFF THE COMPUTER!


If you have two balls left on the pool table and one is the eight ball and the seven and you put them both in on the same turn the seven before the eight would you win?

No you would lose. The 8 ball cannot be pocketed without it being a foul in the game of 8 Ball unless it is the first ball struck by the cue ball. However, in a "friendly game" that is not being played under BCA or APA or other rules, if you describe the shot, this type of shot may be played for a win if the opponent agrees.


If a ball stopped on the edge of a pocket falls in the pocket after another shot is played what is the status of that ball?

If the ball went in the pocket during the second shot, then it was sunk on that shot just as if it had been hit down by another ball.


What colour is the eight ball in pool?

The eight ball is solid black.


Is it a legal shot when the ball hits the side of the backboard?

Yes, it is. As long as the ball does not hit the back of the backboard or the shot clock, the shot is valid.


What is the duration of A Small Ball Shot by a Midget?

The duration of A Small Ball Shot by a Midget is 1.67 hours.


Does the air pressure in the ball affect a basketball shot?

The air pressure in the ball can affect a shot, but rarely and very little. Only if the ball is very flat can you notice a big change in the shot.


Second shot from a tee box?

If you just hit a ball out of bounce from the tee box or if you don't know if you did you can call for a provisional ball. You would hit your second shot from the tee box "your provisional shot" and see if you can find the first ball. If you can't and your provisional ball is in play then you have play provisional ball and you accrue a 1 shot penalty stroke also. If you find your first shot off of the tee then you pick up your provisional ball and play your first tee shot. No penalty if you find your first tee shot and you can play it. So, the second shot from the tee box would be considered a provisional shot.


When was Sinking the Eight Ball created?

Sinking the Eight Ball was created in 1998.


When was Eight-Ball Andy created?

Eight-Ball Andy was created in 1948.

Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide