answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A sacrifice bunt.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-03-27 14:28:23
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide
More answers
User Avatar

Anonymous

Lvl 1
โˆ™ 2020-04-20 15:16:14

Buyvgobugg

User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is a bunt that allows a baserunner to move to the next base while the batter gets out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

What is a forceout in baseball?

A baserunner may lose his right to occupy a base when a batter becomes a baserunner. The original baserunner could be thrown out when forced to advance, this becomes a force out. Example: Baserunner on first, batter hits a ground ball, the baserunner on first must try to advance, so the batter may try to advance to first, should a fielder field the ground ball and throw to another fielder at 2nd base, who then tags the base for the out, this is a force out of the runner who originally occupied first base.


What happens if a baseball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory, the baserunner is out and the batter is awarded first base. If the baserunner is in foul territory and is hit by a batted ball it is just a foul ball. If a baserunner is hit by a thrown ball the ball is still in play, unless it is determined that the baserunner purposely moved into the path of the thrown ball, or is running out of the base path, then the baserunner is out for interference.


Who gets base when batter and fielder touch base at same time?

Tie always goes to the baserunner.


In softball when are the fielders able to use a force out?

Hello. A force out can be used when the runner is 'forced' to move to the next base. For example, when there's a baserunner at first and the batter hits the ball, there are force outs at both first (where the batter must go) and second (since the batter is coming to first, it forces the baserunner to second). However, if the ball is caught, the baserunner may stay at first since the batter is out. If the baserunner is not 'forced' to move to the next base, a force out cannot be used. For example, when there's a baserunner at second, first is empty and the batter hits the ball, there is only a force out at first. Since the baserunner on second does not have to yield her base to a runner directly behind her, she must be tagged to make the out if she tries to take third. Even in a situation where a force out will work, a tag is also an out. So IMO if the runner is off base and you can tag her, do it, then look to see if there are other outs that could be made.


Is it a base hit when you get thrown out at second base when a runner advances to home?

It is a base hit once the batter-baserunner passes first base. This will not change by being thrown out at second.


What is a baserunner?

In the game of baseball, a baserunner is a player who is on base, ready to run to the next base.


What is sacrifice in baseball?

If you are referring to a sacrifice bunt, it is a play in which they may need to move a runner on first to second to get him into scoring position. They bunt the ball and force them to throw to first to get the batter out while they get the baserunner to second base.


If the ball hits a baserunner is the play dead?

Yes, the play ends, the batter is awarded first base, and the runner that was hit is automatically out.


What happens on a fly ball when the baserunner is not on a base in softball?

The baserunner is called out.


What is the rule on a dropped third strike with first base occupied?

With 0 or 1 outs, the batter is automatically out. With 2 outs, the batter may attempt to reach first base safely. In order to be called out automatically, first base must be occupied by a baserunner.


What is the ruling when a batted ball is deflected by pitcher and hits a baserunner?

A batted ball that hits a fielder is in play, regardless of whether or not it later hit a baserunner. If a batted ball hits a baserunner before touching a fielder, the runner is out, the batter is awarded a hit, and all other runners return to their previous base unless forced to advance.


Should base runners return to their base after each pitch?

Yes. The act of taking a step away from the base keeps a pitcher thinking about you. You, the baserunner, are helping to distract the pitcher, making it harder for him to concentrate on the batter.


What does s mean in baseball stats?

Strike In the box score an "s" denotes a sacrifice bunt. This results in an out for the batter, but the baserunner moves up a base.


What if a ball hits a baserunner while standing on a base?

Nothing, as long as the runner is touching the base. A runner is out only if touched by a batted ball that is still in play if he is off the base.


Does batter have to move out of way for runner to steal second base?

no as long as the batter i the batters box and not on home plate he can remain in the batters box even if the baserunner is stealing third the catcher would have to move to throw it.


When is a baserunner not protected after reaching first base for example after a batter-runner safely reaches first base and turns in foul territory when is he no longer protected?

After a batter has hit a ball and runs to first base he is allowed to over run the bag (base) ... If the base runner turns left in the siltiest way it is seen as if his going for 2nd base (even if he walks back to first) he can be tagged out ...


If a batter hits the ball and the ball hits a runner leaving 2nd base the runner is out Is the batter out Do the other 2 baserunners get to advance to the next base?

When the ball hits the baserunner it is a dead ball at the runner the ball hit is out. The batter is credited with a single. Since the batter is given a single, any baserunner required to advance will advance, however, no runners ahead of the runner who was out will advance: i.e bases loaded, the runner at 2nd is hit by the ball, the runner at 2nd is out, the runner at 1st goes to 2nd and the batter goes to first. the runner at 3rd does not get to advance, he will stay at 3rd, so the bases will remain loaded runners at 2nd and 3rd, -- the ball hits the guy at 3rd base (while he is in fair territory), runner at 3rd is out, runner at 2nd returns to 2nd, and batter goes to first, you now have runners on 1st and 2nd hope this helps


What sport is the term back related to?

in baseball a base coach would yell 'BACK' to a baserunner if the pitcher made a pickoff move to the base from which the baserunner had taken a lead.


Is a batter credited with a hit if an out isn't made on a fielder's choice?

No. If an out isn't made on a fielder's choice, it's an error for allowing the other baserunner to reach, but it's still FC for the batter. Say there's a runner on first. The batter hits an easily fielded ground ball to the shortstop, who chooses to attempt to put out the baserunner. That's a fielder's choice for the batter, no matter what happens next. If it's an out (6-4), bad throw (E6), second baseman fumbles it or fails to tag the base (E4A6), it's all the same to the batter.


What is a base runner in softball?

after you hit the ball, you run to first base and you are a baserunner..


What do you call a base hit that allows a batter to reach saftely reach 1st base?

RBI


When should a baserunner may run to the next base without being dismissed?

There are a few times a base runner may advance without fear of being put out. If the base runner is forced to the next base by a batter/runner being walked or hit by a pitch and for an illegal pitch being called on the pitcher.


What is a single in baseball?

A single is a hit that allows the batter to get to first base.


Define a stolen base in softball?

when a baserunner decides to sprint to the next base right after the pitcher releases the ball. It is a risk. But once the catcher catches the ball that was just pitched, the catcher can very quickly decide to throw the ball to the base and try to get the baserunner, or stealer, out.


What is a batter credited with when a baserunner is called out for interference?

Baseball rule 10:06 (e) a base hit shall not be scored when a runner is called out for interference with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball, unless in the scorer's judgment the batter runner would have been safe had the interference not occurred.