Many little leagues play a 9th batter rule. At the coach/machine pitch level our league plays that when the 9th batter comes to the plate, the hitting team must announce it or he's out after a pitch is thrown. Once announced, there are automatically two outs. That batter completes his at-bat, either safe or out and then the half-inning ends.
For our Minors (kid-pitch) kids, same rules, except the 9th batter can stay on the bases and advance until he scores. When he crosses the plate or an out is made the inning ends. The only way runners behind him can score is on an over-the-fence home-run.
A batter rule is an instrument consisting of a rule or frame and a plumb line, by which the batter or slope of a wall is regulated in building.
There is no rule that says that.
Yes, by rule the batter would receive a ball.
Infield fly rule.
I presume you meant to add "and it is caught in foul territory before it hits the ground." The batter is out because that is the rule. And it's the rule because it's the rule. I can't say any more than that.
If the wrong batter completes the at bat, then the skipped batter is recorded as an out. If it is noticed prior to the completion of the at bat the skipped batter assumes the count of the at bat and completes with no additional penalties.
it is a foul.
On a ground rule double, the batter is awarded second base and all runners advance two bases. The ball is dead.
Section 6 of the MLB rulebook concerns the batter. There is no clause in Section 6 stating when a batter must drop the bat, nor is there a clause in Section 6 stating that the batter must drop the bat after hitting a fair ball. There might be some obscure clause somewhere else in the MLB rule book that covers this but nothing is found in Section 6. Click on the "MLB Rule Book - Section 6' link below to read MLB written rules concerning the batter.
If the batter is still in the batters box, it is a foul ball, otherwise, the batter will be ruled out, and it is a dead ball with runners returning to their bases This is wrong, if the ball hits the bat a second time in fair territory the batter is out, standing in the batters box means nothing in this rule. see MLB rule 6.05 h
No, it would not be an at-bat.
That's what the rule says.
Yes, a pitcher may be replaced at any time with one exception. That exception isifthe pitcher has just entered the game and the batter is the first batter he is pitching to. The rule states a pitcher must pitch one full at bat and applies to both starting and relief pitchers. Of course, if the pitcher suffers an injury the umpires can rule that he may be replaced regardless of whether the batter is the first batter the pitcher is pitching to.