answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Nothing, as long as the runner is touching the base. A runner is out only if touched by a batted ball that is still in play if he is off the base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-06-20 11:22:59
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What if a ball hits a baserunner while standing on a base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What happens on a fly ball when the baserunner is not on a base in softball?

The baserunner is called out.


What happens if a baseball hits a runner?

If a batted ball hits a baserunner in fair territory, the baserunner is out and the batter is awarded first base. If the baserunner is in foul territory and is hit by a batted ball it is just a foul ball. If a baserunner is hit by a thrown ball the ball is still in play, unless it is determined that the baserunner purposely moved into the path of the thrown ball, or is running out of the base path, then the baserunner is out for interference.


What is a base runner in softball?

after you hit the ball, you run to first base and you are a baserunner..


What happens in softball when a fly ball is hit and the base runner is not on a base?

Baserunner is out. Can't leave base til ball is hit.


If a batted ball hits a base runner who is on the bag but is in foul ground what happens?

If a baserunner is in foul ground and is hit by a batted ball, the ball is declared foul and all runners return to their previously occupied base, regardless of whether or not the runner that was hit was standing on the base.


Is a runner out if hit by batted ball while standing on a base?

No


Define a stolen base in softball?

when a baserunner decides to sprint to the next base right after the pitcher releases the ball. It is a risk. But once the catcher catches the ball that was just pitched, the catcher can very quickly decide to throw the ball to the base and try to get the baserunner, or stealer, out.


Outfielder knocks ball out of play baserunner past second what base does he go to?

Third


What is a forceout in baseball?

A baserunner may lose his right to occupy a base when a batter becomes a baserunner. The original baserunner could be thrown out when forced to advance, this becomes a force out. Example: Baserunner on first, batter hits a ground ball, the baserunner on first must try to advance, so the batter may try to advance to first, should a fielder field the ground ball and throw to another fielder at 2nd base, who then tags the base for the out, this is a force out of the runner who originally occupied first base.


Do other runners advance if a base runner hinders a fielder in fielding a batted ball?

no, it is an immediate dead ball and baserunner is out


What is a baserunner?

In the game of baseball, a baserunner is a player who is on base, ready to run to the next base.


What is the ruling when a batted ball is deflected by pitcher and hits a baserunner?

A batted ball that hits a fielder is in play, regardless of whether or not it later hit a baserunner. If a batted ball hits a baserunner before touching a fielder, the runner is out, the batter is awarded a hit, and all other runners return to their previous base unless forced to advance.

People also asked