answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

the batter is out

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-03-15 01:26:58
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Who catches the baseball thrown by the pitcher if the batter doesnt hit it?

In that case, the catcher is supposed to catch the ball , but sometimes they don't.


If a player is the dead ball area and reaches into foul territory and catches the foul ball is the batter out?

A batter is out anytime a fielder catches a foul fly ball.


If a ball is hit over third base and the third baseman reaches across the line and catches the ball is the batter out?

If the ball never touches the ground before the 3rd baseman catches the ball the batter is out.


If a batter hits the ball with butt of bat and the ball goes into play is it live?

Yes. Any part of the bat is fair game. Sometimes, a pitcher will throw the ball up and behind the batter's head, and if the ball strikes the bat it counts as a foul ball - and if it pops into the air, and the catcher catches it, it is an out!


If a batter hits the ball in the air and the defender catches the ball what is it a strike or a out?

If the defender catches the ball before it hits the ground, then it's an out.


What happens if the pitcher gets hit by the batter's hit?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.


Who catches the ball thrown by the pitcher in baseball?

umpire


What happens when you foul tip the ball on the third strike and it hits the batter?

Well a foul tip is when on the third strike, the catcher catches the ball resulting in the batter being out. But if you are suggesting that on the third strike the batter fouls the ball off but it ends up hitting him it is a strike but the ball is dead, so the count stays the same.


Ground ball to pitcher- pitcher drops ball and batter beats throw does pitcher gets an error or the batter get a hit?

It depends on how bad the pitcher boots the ball. An error is recorded when an out is not made within reasonable effort or talent.


If a ball hits the foul pole and a player catches the ball is the batter out?

No, that is considered a homerun.


If a player is walked is the ball considered a dead ball?

The ball is only dead until the batter reaches first base and the pitcher has the ball. After that the batter can steal and the pitcher is free to do what he wants.


Bases are loaded 2 outsand batter hits fly ball to outfield outfielder catches ball in his hat is the batter out?

Yes


What is a pitcher?

A pitcher is the person who pitches, or throws, the ball to the batter.


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


A baseball pitcher throws a fastball at 42 meters per second If the batter is 18 meters from the pitcher approximately how much time does it take for the ball to reach the batter?

It would take the ball .26 sec. to get from the pitcher to the batter.


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


Why is the pitcher considered the most important defensive player on a baseball team?

Because where and how the pitcher throws the ball has a lot to do with where and how hard the batter hits it. If the pitcher is throwing the ball on the corners of the plate, moving the ball up and down in the strike zone, and changing speeds generally the batter will not hit as hard as the pitcher who throws the ball, no matter how hard, over the middle of the plate. The defense will usually set its positions based on how a pitcher is going to pitch to a batter. If the defense plays a batter to the opposite field and the pitcher throws a pitch on the outside corner at the knees, the batter is usually going to hit that ball to the opposite field, maybe sometimes up the middle. If the defense is playing the batter to the opposite field and the pitcher throws the ball belt high over the inside half of the plate, chances are the batter will hit the ball very hard and pull the ball away from where the defense is setup.


Why is a pitcher consider the most important defensive player on the team?

Because where and how the pitcher throws the ball has a lot to do with where and how hard the batter hits it. If the pitcher is throwing the ball on the corners of the plate, moving the ball up and down in the strike zone, and changing speeds generally the batter will not hit as hard as the pitcher who throws the ball, no matter how hard, over the middle of the plate. The defense will usually set its positions based on how a pitcher is going to pitch to a batter. If the defense plays a batter to the opposite field and the pitcher throws a pitch on the outside corner at the knees, the batter is usually going to hit that ball to the opposite field, maybe sometimes up the middle. If the defense is playing the batter to the opposite field and the pitcher throws the ball belt high over the inside half of the plate, chances are the batter will hit the ball very hard and pull the ball away from where the defense is setup.


What does beaned when playing baseball?

When a pitcher deliberately throws a ball at a batter's head, that is a bean ball. If he hits the batter's head, he beaned the batter.


If a player catches a fly ball and in attempting to throw it to hold a runner but drops the ball is this an error on the player and is the hitter awarded a hit?

If the fielder catches the ball and, during the motion of reaching into the glove to grab the ball to throw, the ball drops to the ground the batter is called out. As long as the fielder has complete control of the ball before attempting to throw, the umpire will call the batter out.


If a batter hit the ball and bounces off the home plate and the catcher catches it without touching the ground is it an out?

No, as soon as the batter is hit by the ball, the play is considered dead and the batter gets his base.


When a pitcher pitches and the ball does not hit the groundand the batter does not swing but ball bounces off catchers mitt and hits batter why isn't that a walk?

The only way a hit-by-pitch walk can be recorded is if the batter is actually hit by the pitcher. Once another defensive player has touched the ball it is no longer the pitcher's responsibility.


What is a fly out in softball?

An infield fly is when the batter hits it really high in the infield and no matter if it is caught or dropped, the batter is out. Or just a regular fly ball is when the batter hits the ball into the air and one of the fielders catches it and the batter is out.