answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

As soon as the bat hits the glove, the ball is dead. The batter is awarded first base, no matter if s/he hit the ball or not.

----------

Above is incorrect. The play is not necessarily immediately dead on catcher's interference. If the batter puts the ball into play, the umpire lets the play continue until all action has stopped before calling time. The Manager of the team at bat then has a choice of either taking the result of the play, or having the catcher's interference enforced, which would put the batter on 1B, and all runners forced to advance would advance. However, if the batter reaches base safely, and all other runners advance at least one base, then the interference is ignored.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago

The player must have control of the ball in the glove. If the glove comes off before he completes the catch, it is not an out. The glove is considered part of the fielder's hand and he must have his hand in the glove.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

the batter is out

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What happens when the pitcher catches a ball from the batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Who catches the ball thrown by the pitcher in baseball?

The pitcher.


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.


If a batter hits the ball with butt of bat and the ball goes into play is it live?

Yes. Any part of the bat is fair game. Sometimes, a pitcher will throw the ball up and behind the batter's head, and if the ball strikes the bat it counts as a foul ball - and if it pops into the air, and the catcher catches it, it is an out!


What is the name of the player who hits the ball in baseball?

The pitcher throws the ball to the batter in baseball


What happens if a hit ball hits the umpire standing behind the pitcher?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


Standing in baseball?

I am not sure what you were going for when you typed this but here's what I thought of: In baseball you have outfielder, infielder, batter, pitcher, and striker. Uses: Outfielder: The outfilder stands in the outfield and catches far-flying balls. Infielder: The infielder stands a little farther in than the outfielder, and catches not as far-flying balls that go just outside the base diamond. Batter: The batter stands at home plate and hits the balls the pitcher throws with a bat. Pitcher: The pitcher throws a ball for the batter to hit and tries to make him/her miss the ball with the bat. Striker: The striker sits crouched behind the batter and catches missed balls (strikes--hence the term "striker"). And yes, guys, I am a girl and I am 13 (when I wrote this). ----------1-18-11----------


What is is pitcher?

A pitcher is the person who pitches, or throws, the ball to the batter.


Bases are loaded 2 outsand batter hits fly ball to outfield outfielder catches ball in his hat is the batter out?

Yes


Ground ball to pitcher- pitcher drops ball and batter beats throw does pitcher gets an error or the batter get a hit?

It depends on how bad the pitcher boots the ball. An error is recorded when an out is not made within reasonable effort or talent.


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


Is the batter out if the pitcher accidentally hits the ball to the batter?

No when the batter gets hit by the ball it is called and walk and the batter gets to go to first base


What happens when the center sends the ball to the quarter back?

Hopefully, he catches it.