The infield fly rule is in effect when there are runners on first and second or bases are loaded with less than 2 outs.
Yes, runners may advance at their own risk.
False.An infield fly situation exists when A) there are less than two outs, and B) there are runners on first and second or runners on first, second, and third.
If, (while the infield fly rule is in effect), the ball is caught, the runners must tag up. If the ball is dropped or falls to the ground untouched, the runners may advance at their own risk.Clarification:The infield fly rule was enacted to prevent teams from getting an easy double or triple play by letting a popup in the infield drop. An infield fly is just like any other fly ball, with the exception that the batter is immediately out, with results in the runners not being required to advance in the even that the ball is not caught
No. The infield fly rule is only for fly balls within the infield. The reason for this is so that a defender cannot intentionally drop a fly ball in order to create a double or triple play. If a fly ball is dropped in foul territory, no runners may advance.
When the Infield Fly Rule is in effect [see Section 2.00 of the rulebook] the ball is alive, and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball.
Runners on 1st and/or 2nd, less then 2 outs, ball popped up in the infield, batter is automatically out.
If there are less then 2 outs and runners on 1st and 2nd or the bases are loaded. If a ball is popped up on the infield in fair territory the umpire will call "Infield Fly", the batter is out, and the runners are not required to advance, but can do so if they determine at their own risk of being safe or out. The ball is still a live ball in play, and it does not matter if the ball is caught or not. The infield fly rule does not apply to bunted balls that are popped up
Yes, the runners may advance at their own risk.
Yes! Under rule 2.00 'Definition of Terms': "Runners may...retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball".
The infield fly rule still applies, and is in effect when the following situations are met: 1. Fewer than two outs 2. A fly ball is hit that an infielder can reasonably catch (umpires discretion) 3. There are runners on 1st and 2nd, or bases are loaded. 4. When the above conditions are met, the umpire will verbally call "infield fly rule" as soon as it is determined the ball is an infield fly. The batter is automatically out, and the runners do not have to advance, even is the ball is dropped. Note: This rule was established to prevent fielders from purposely dropping a fly ball to attempt a double play.
As soon as the ump calls the infield fly rule, the batter is out, but the runners can still advance at their own risk. To answer your question specifically, no, the fielder can't do that - that is the exact result that the infield fly rule was enacted to prevent! Usually when they call the infield fly rule, the baserunners go back to the bases relatively quickly, because the play is over.
No. According to MLB Rule 2.00, the definition of an infield fly is: "An INFIELD FLY is a fair fly ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule. When it seems apparent that a batted ball will be an Infield Fly, the umpire shall immediately declare "Infield Fly" for the benefit of the runners. If the ball is near the baselines, the umpire shall declare "Infield Fly, if Fair."The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball. If the hit becomes a foul ball, it is treated the same as any foul. If a declared Infield Fly is allowed to fall untouched to the ground, and bounces foul before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball. If a declared Infield Fly falls untouched to the ground outside the baseline, and bounces fair before passing first or third base, it is an Infield Fly. Rule 2.00 (Infield Fly) Comment: On the infield fly rule the umpire is to rule whether the ball could ordinarily have been handled by an infielder-not by some arbitrary limitation such as the grass, or the base lines. The umpire must rule also that a ball is an infield fly, even if handled by an outfielder, if, in the umpire's judgment, the ball could have been as easily handled by an infielder. The infield fly is in no sense to be considered an appeal play. The umpire's judgment must govern, and the decision should be made immediately. When an infield fly rule is called, runners may advance at their own risk. If on an infield fly rule, the infielder intentionally drops a fair ball, the ball remains in play despite the provisions of Rule 6.05 (L). The infield fly rule takes precedence." An infield fly resulting from an attempted bunt does not qualify under the infield fly rule.
If the infielder is under the ball making it look like they are then yes there is an infield fly rule.
The infield fly rule is only in effect with runners on first and second or first, second, and third. The rule is put into effect when there is a pop up in the infield that is catchable. When the umpire yells, "Infield fly, batter's out" He means that the batter is out and the runner's don't have to go even if the fielder drops the ball. This is to protect the runners so they don't have to decide whether to stay on first base in case the fielder catches or to go in case he drops. If the fielder drops the ball the team in the field would have plenty of time to get the lead runner(s).
Nothing in your situation. Only maybe if there is less than two outs and at least another runner on second. If there is less than two outs, the infield fly rule applies. The runner should stay on first base. The batsman would be out anyway. That is the purpose of the infield fly rule. It was put in when Ty Cobb had a similar situation. He was playing short stop. There were runners on first and second. A batter hit a pop up toward him. He yelled, "I got it." The runners stayed on first and second. He dropped the ball. Tagged the runner on second. Stepped on the base, and threw the ball to first for a triple play. Then baseball put in the infield fly rule. If there is a popup in the infield with zero or 1 outs, and runners on base that would be forced out, the batter is out and the runner should not advance.
When there are runners on first and second or first, second, and third with less than two outs.
The infield fly rule is in effect when ... 1) there are less than two outs 2) there are runners on first base and second base OR runners on first base, second base, and third base and the batter hits a pop fly, in fair territory, that can be caught by an infielder using reasonable effort. The batter is automatically out and the base runners may advance at their own risk. The infield fly rule was created to keep the defense from gaining an unfair advantage based on a pop fly. For example, let's say there are no outs and runners on first and second. The batter hits a pop fly that will wind up landing about three feet from third base in fair territory. Since the ball is in the infield, the base runners must stay very close to their bases because the ball will most certainly be caught by the third baseman. If the runners stray too far off their bases, after catching the ball the third baseman will be able to throw to a fielder covering the base the runner was on before they get back to the base and create a double play. So, in this situation, the base runners must be concerned about getting back to the base they were on and not about advancing to the next base. If there was no infield fly rule, the third baseman could allow the ball to hit the ground, pick the ball up quickly, touch third base for one out, and throw to a fielder covering second base for a double play.
If there are runners on 1st and 3rd or bases loaded with less than two outs and the fly ball is in the infield, the umpire calls "Infield fly, the batter is out." In this case, the batter is out whether the ball is caught or dropped and all runners may return to their bases with no risk. If a runner wants to advance a base, they may do so at their won risk.If a batter hits a fly ball to the infield without the condition stated above, then it is like a normal fly ball, if it is caught it's and out. If it is not caught it is a safe ball and the defensive player must try to make the play at the base. These same rules for a fly-ball hit into the outfield.
An 'infield fly' is a term in baseball where the ball shoots extremely high and is caught in the infield. This is important because it prevents a 'sacrifice fly' which would be a fly ball in the outfield where a base runner could possibly advance. It is also a rule in softball. If the ump calls "infield fly" then its an automatic out if there are runners on 1st and second with less than 2 outs or if bases are loaded with less than 2 outs. It is there so the team cannot get all three outs out of one play. If you leave the base after the ball has hit the mit of an infielder or has touched the ground you are at your own risk and is considered a steal.
If baserunners are at 1st and 2nd base, or the bases are loaded with less than 2 out the umpire may call an "infield fly" if the ball is popped up in the infield area and can be caught with "ordinary" effort by an infielder. If the ball is caught the batter is out and the runners may tag up and advance at their own risk. If the ball is dropped the runners may try and advance to the next base at their own risk (they do not need to tag up/or even advance if they dont want) and the batter is still out. If the umpire fails to call it the rule still apllies. ** Infield fly does not apply to bunts or foul balls -- or line drives.
No, an attempted bunt can never be ruled an infield fly.
Any umpire may indicate the infield fly rule is in effect by yelling "Infield Fly" and extending his right hand above his head and pointing. However, the infield fly rule is in effect whether or not any umpire does this.
yes, the batter is charged with an at bat on an infield fly
Just hitting the ball itself is called "contact." Any other terms depend on what happens after contact is made. A few terms are: base hit, infield fly, fly out, infield hit, bounce out, ground rule double, sacrifice fly.