In the event of a batted ball being hit on the fly and was caught by an Infielder or Outfielder on the fly before it hit the ground, it will be ruled as a Fly Out and in the event of there being no outs, one out or two outs and in the event of there being runners on base, runners will have to return to their original bases prior to the pitched ball before they can advance to the next base.
No, the bases are treated like part of the ground.
Once it hits the base, it is considered a ground ball.
If the ball touches the wall before it gets caught, it is not a fly out. The ball is in play.
It is a fair ball in play if it is in fair territory when it is caught.
A "trap" happens when a fielder catches a line-drive or flyball on the first small bounce after hitting the ground. If the fielder caught the ball in the air, it would be an out. But because they caught it after the first hop, it is not an out. The term "trap" is used when the ball barely touches the ground, before the fielder grabs it.
if it touches the ground it must be cut into pieces and burned, respectfully
No, once the ball touches the wall, ground, or runner (after 1st being touched by a defender) the ball cannot be caught for an out
He can't. He can only be knocked out on strike three, tag-outs (which accurs when a fielder with the baseball tags the batter), or fly-outs (which a fielder catches the baseball before it touches the ground). However, if a fielder catches the baseball before it touches the ground, but it touched the ground before it was hit by the bat, then it's still fly-out.
All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "
A tornado that touches the ground is simply a tornado. Before it touches down it is called a funnel cloud.
In MLB, yes. MLB Rule 6.05(b) states that a batter is out when "A third strike is legally caught by the catcher" with the added comment "'Legally caught' means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground".
fog im guessing
The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.
when u dive for the ball right before it touches the ground
Yes. Any kick can be fair-caught. But if the ball hits the ground or a player touches it, the fair-catch signal is off.
It is called a funnel cloud.
yes aslong as it touches a player and not something like the ground or a wall
Yes it is as long as it never touches the ground on your side. Yes it is as long as it never touches the ground on your side. Yes it is as long as it never touches the ground on your side. Yes it is as long as it never touches the ground on your side. Yes it is as long as it never touches the ground on your side. Yes it is as long as it never touches the ground on your side.
A funnel cloud is typically visible before a tornado touches down
Any backward pass (which is what a lateral would be) that is not caught is a fumble in both the NCAA and the NFL.
It is English in origin. The root word, volley, can mean several things based on the context which it is used. Concerning sports, volley means 'to strike the object before it touches the ground'. And that is the rule of the game, to strike the ball before it touches the ground (or floor in this case).
When a funnel cloud touches the ground it becomes a tornado.
yes or if one knee touches the ground