answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

You may be referring to "Merkle's Boner" in which he did not step on second base but ran off the field to avoid a mob but was later called out.

In September 1908, the Cubs were at the Giants. With a 1-1 score in the bottom of the 9th, the Giants had runners on first and third with 2 outs. The runner on first base was Fred Merkle, a 19-year old rookie. The guy at the plate lined a single into the outfield; the runner on third came home, apparently getting the win for the Giants. The fans swarmed the field...Merkle saw his teammate touch home and figured the game was over so he hustled off the field to avoid the mob. But since there were 2 outs, a forceout at second base ends the inning and the run does not count, even if it crosses before the forceout is made.

The Cub secondbaseman Johnny Evers ran to the outfield to get the ball and touch second. A fan allegedly picked it up and threw it as far away as he could to prevent it. Evers eventually did come up with a ball, showed it to the umpires and stepped on second base. The umpire called the out and since order couldn't be restored the game ended in a 1-1 tie.

Because of the tie the Giants and Cubs ended up tied for first place. The Giants lost the 1-game playoff and the Cubs went on to the World Series.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2012-03-14 16:27:03
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What game was lost because the runner did not step on first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can a runner slide for the first score of the game?

Yes, a runner may slide into any base at any time.


How do you score a runner missing first base?

When it is a home run that wins the game in the bottom half of the last inning. This is known as a walk-off home run. If the runner does not touch first base and the umpire sees this the runner is out.


Does a passed ball in baseball prevent a perfect game when the runner reaches first base?

Yes, it does. In order to be a perfect game, no opposing player can reach first base safely. It doesn't matter if it was by way of an error or a passed ball, the runner cannot reach first. Bottom line, 27 batters get up and all 27 batters must be retired. No exceptions.


If a pinch runner comes into a game and steals a base Who gets the credit for the steal?

The pinch runner gets credit for the stolen base, and for any run he might score.


Can a Pitcher still have a perfect game if someone on his team gives up an error but the pitcher himself does not allow anyone on base?

No. The definition of a perfect game is that no one reaches base in any way for the entire game, even if that runner is thrown out on the same play. If the second baseman makes an error and allows someone to reach first base, even if the runner tries for second base and gets thrown out, the perfect game is over. It becomes a no-hitter.


What is a defensive indifference in baseball?

That is a term generally used when a base runner is stealing a base. The catcher will not attempt to make a play on the runner (throw the ball to the base that the runner is attempting to steal). Sometimes, the official scorer will rule this 'defensive indifference' and not award the runner with a stolen base. You might see this in the 9th inning of a game where the team batting is down by several runs and the defensive team is more concerned with getting the batter out than attempting to throw out a base runner attempting to steal since that run will not affect the outcome of the game.


If a batter gets hit and can not continue what happens then?

A pinch runner must be inserted for him at first base. Then, the batter that was hit cannot return, and the pinch runner must stay in the game (unless he's replaced by someone else, in which case the runner can't return).


What is an energy relay race?

Energy relay game is a race game, in which there are four runner (One team). There are three points where the first runner of the team passes the stick to the second runner. The second runner passes the stick to third runner and third runner passes the stick to last runner. This cycle is completed by all the participating teams. The team who did this first is the winner.


Is it a balk when the picture throws to first base without the first baseman in position i.e. straddling first base. During a recent game the ump ruled it a balk because 1st baseman was not in pos.?

Yes. If there is a runner at first base and the first baseman is not stationed at the base, should the pitcher throw the ball to the first baseman in a pickoff attempt there is no way the runner could be putout since the runner must be tagged to be putout on a pickoff attempt. There is no specific rule in the MLB rule book that covers calling a balk when a pitcher throws to first base in a pickoff attempt with the first baseman not stationed at the base. However ... Rule 8.02(c) states that a pitcher shall not "Intentionally delay the game by throwing the ball to players, other than the catcher, when the batter is in position, except in an attempt to retire a runner". The penalty for this is a warning for the first offense and ejection for any subsequent offense. And there is Rule 8.05(h) which states that a balk shall be called if "the pitcher unnecessarily delays the game". The pitcher attempted the pickoff, in all probability, not intentionally but due to miscommunication between him and the first baseman. Therefore, Rule 8.02(c) would not apply because the delay was not intentional but Rule 8.05(h) would apply because the delay was unnecessary.


What is the first base-mans job in a softball game?

For defense the first baseman has to catch flyballs and field grounders sent in their direction. The first baseman also has to catch throws from other fielders to touch first base or the runner for the out. When the batter is bunting, the first baseman is expected to cover the space between the pitcher's mound and first base. The first baseman covers the first base bag in case the runner on first wants to steal. The first baseman usually bats for their team, but they do the same batting things as every other player


What is defense indeference in baseball?

Defensive indifference:The official scorer shall not score a stolen base when a runner advances solely because of the defensive team's indifference to the runner's advance. The official scorer shall score such a play as a fielder's choice.Rule 10.07(g) Comment: The scorer shall consider, in judging whether the defensive team has been indifferent to a runner's advance, the totality of the circumstances, including the inning and score of the game, whether the defensive team had held the runner on base, whether the pitcher had made any pickoff attempts on that runner before the runner's advance, whether the fielder ordinarily expected to cover the base to which the runner advanced made a move to cover such base, whether the defensive team had a legitimate strategic motive to not contest the runner's advance or whether the defensive team might be trying impermissibly to deny the runner credit for a stolen base. For example, with runners on first and third bases, the official scorer should ordinarily credit a stolen base when the runner on first advances to second, if, in the scorer's judgment, the defensive team had a legitimate strategic motive-namely, preventing the runner on third base from scoring on the throw to second base-not to contest the runner's advance to second base. The official scorer may conclude that the defensive team is impermissibly trying to deny a runner credit for a stolen base if, for example, the defensive team fails to defend the advance of a runner approaching a league or career record or a league statistical title.


Has anyone ever stolen 1st base in a baseball game?

It is a baseball saying that "you can't steal first base", so it is perhaps surprising that it has been done, at least once. On August 4, 1911, Herman A. "Germany" Schaefer was on first base and another runner was on third. Schaefer stole second in an unsuccessful attempt to draw a throw so the other runner could steal home. Since this didn't work, he returned to first base--"stealing" first from second--so that he could try again. It has also been reported that he did this in an earlier game, but the report is unconfirmed. It wasn't until 1920 that the rules were changed so that a runner could not relinquish a base that he had safely reached.

People also asked