answersLogoWhite

0


Want this question answered?

Be notified when an answer is posted

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What are the top 3 pitches a picther can throw that can strike out a batter?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

What is The zone where the pitchers tries to throw her pitches?

The strike zone


Is it an unearned run when the catcher throws to first to throw the batter out on a dropped third strike?

yes


How did the term strike in baseball come from?

The original game of baseball had the batter stand with his foot against a peg in the ground and the pitcher then throw the ball at the batter. If the ball struck the batter on the trunk of the body it was term a strike. One strike and you were out. This game as far as I know originated in Wales, UK. I stand to be corrected on the last point.


How do you throw pitches?

be lazy


Can you have a 2 pitch inning?

Hypothetically, you can have a 0 pitch inning if the first 3 batters of each team refuse to take their position in the batter's box and the umpire calls 3 strikes on each of them. My original answer, at the bottom, is based on ONE HALF OF AN INNING since a full inning is after both teams have had an at-bat. So, technically, you can have a 2 pitch FULL INNING if 2 pitches are delivered to 2 different batters and they fly or ground out, then the other 4 batters step out and refuse to step into the batter's box before the umpire calls all 3 strikes on them.Acually you can have a 1 pitch innings. You can throw 2 balks, which puts guys on 1st and 2nd base. A balk is not a pitch. Then throw a triple play.No this is wrong. A balk does not award a batter a base. 3 pitch minimum for an inning.I once won a prize for this very question. You can get 3 outs on 2 pitches in MLB if: Batter 1 hits first pitch and flies out or gets thrown out at first base. Ditto batter 2. No runners on bases and 2 pitches thrown. Batter 3 steps out of batter's box after pitcher is set on mound and refuses to step back in - Rule 6.02 (c) "If the batter refuses to take his position in the batter's box during his time at bat, the umpire shall call a strike on the batter (note: it doesn't say the pitcher has to throw the ball for the strike to be called). The ball is dead, and no runners may advance. After the penalty, the batter may take his proper position and the regular ball and strike count shall continue. If the batter does not take his proper position before three strikes have been called, the batter shall be declared out." That's 3 outs on 2 pitches.


Catcher drops glove with ball still inside on third strike is batter out?

the batter has a strike out but the catcher glove dropping is the same a the ball dropping and thebatter will run to first ... which the catcher will throw the ball to for the put out ... It is a strikeout, but the batter is not out until he is either tagged out by the catcher, or the ball is thrown to first for the put out, or the batter leaves the home plate area to return to the dugout.


What Pitches did Babe Ruth throw?

forkball


What pitches did David Cone throw?

Fastball


Is a 50 percent strike ratio good for a pitcher in little league?

I would think it's okay. It really depends on how many pitches you throw. If you throw very few (2-49) then 50% isn't great however if you throw a lot (50+) 50% isn't bad at all.


What is the MOST number of pitches a pitcher can throw to a batter?

Until he doesn't feel like throwing any more.... Or until he walks or strikes him out, or he hits the ball into fair play.


Can a catcher get an assist on a drop third strike?

yes...if he cannot place a tag on the batter, he can then make the throw to first base, thus the putout is 2-3.


Why does the batter get three strikes in baseball?

probably a random number.. 3 strikes is more than enough