The main rule is that the ball has to travel 10 yards downfield before it can be recovered by the kicking team prior to the opponents touching it.
A kickoff is a free kick. Whoever recovers a kickoff gains possession of the ball. The ball must travel 10 yards downfield before the kicking team can touch it unless the receiving team touches it first within 10 yards. If the kickoff doesn't travel 10 yards downfield the receiving team is not obligated to attempt a return.
The kick must hit the ground, in addition to travel 10 yards to give the kicking team possession of the ball if they can recover the kick. That is why onside kicks are kicked straight into the ground.
Yes. However, according to NFL Rules: " If ball hits ground or is touched by member of kicking team in flight, fair catch signal is off and all rules for a kicked ball apply. " Therefore, if the onside kick touches the ground, it may not be fair caught. Since the vast, vast majority of onside kicks are on the ground, it would be a rare sight to see an onside kick fair caught.
You go to the full playbook on kick-off. Then you select onside kick.
yea you are not suppose to tell them but the way you line up for an onside kick they will know already.
an onside kick you try to kick it about ten yards and recover it, a punt you try to get it as far down field as you can. Also onside kicks have a tee, and punts you toss in the air and kick it
Yes you can kick a touchdown. By kicking an onside kick recover it and return it for a touchdown.
The ball must travel 10 yards ( 30 ft. ) on an onside kick.
The onside kick from scrimmage was eliminated, in the collegiate game, before WWI -- around 1912, I believe. The NFL started in 1920. So I guess the answer is -- never. In the NFL, an onside kick is only possible on a kickoff or on a free kick after a safety. But has there ever been an onside drop kick? I don't know, but lets consider why that would rarely (if ever) happen: Kickoffs are required to be a place kick (from a tee). So the only time you could even attempt an onside drop kick is after a safety, which is one of the rarest plays in football. An onside kick after a safety is very dangerous, as the kick must be from the 20 yard line. The opponent could recover the ball already in field goal range. An onside kick must hit the ground to prevent the other team from calling for a fair catch. This is more difficult to pull off with a drop kick.
The packers are going to recover this onside kick
After a safety, the team that was forced into a safety must punt the ball to the opposing team instead of kicking a normal kickoff. I guess it just depends on how far the ball is being punted, there are no rules on how far the ball must be punted after a safety. So the answer is yes but it's not called an onside kick.
An onside kick in the NFL is the same in any other level of football. The onside kick is a strategy. After a team has scored a touchdown, that team must kick the ball to the opposing team. The kicking team may kick the ball as far as they want but if it goes out of bounds it is a pentalty. The ball must also pass ten yards before the kicking team can touch the ball and take possession of it. The goal of the onside kick is to recover the ball after the ball has crossed ten yards from where the ball was kicked, and set your offense up to score again. The onside kick is usually used when a team is losing and needs to score in a little amount of time. But, that is a tough thing to do because the opposing team has a better chance of recovering the ball than the kicking team.
The rules for an onside kick (or any kickoff, for that matter) state that the ball must travel forward 10 yards before the kicking team may touch the ball, unless the receiving team touches it first. The receiving team may touch the ball at any time. If the kicking team recovers, they may not advance the ball. The NFL has recently implemented additional rules which make recovery of the onside kick nearly impossible: No more than five players on the kicking team may line up on one side of the ball, and the receiving team may line up just 5 yards from the ball.
no it is not.
As long as it goes 10 yards before bouncing back it is a legal kick
There is no such thing as an onside punt because if you punt it, the other team has to touch the ball before you can recover it. There is such thing as an onside kick on a kickoff when the ball can go ten yards then any team can recover it. Or on an onside kickoff if it hits the receiving team, anyone can recover it
Actually, you can, as long as the ball has not hit the ground.
As long as it goes 10 yards.
An onside kick is when you kick the ball a very shot distance on kick off (10 yards or more) and your team attempts to recover it. Usually you line up most of your players on the side you kicking to for a better chance at getting the ball. If the ball does not go 10 yards the other team well either get the ball or there will be a re-kick. If an opposing player touches the ball inside 10 yards however, then the ball is live.