Best Answer

The Grey Cup is the name of the trophy awarded to the champions of the Canadian Football League (CFL), and is analogous to the Vince Lombardi trophy in the US National Football League. The Grey Cup was first awarded by Canada's Governor General in 1909.

Every current CFL team has won the Grey Cup. Teams that have won the Grey Cup in the last 60 years, but no longer play in the CFL, are the Baltimore Stallions* and Ottawa Rough Riders. No other teams have won the Grey Cup since the end of World War II. The Baltimore Stallions are the only team not based in Canada to have won the Grey Cup.

(*The Baltimore Stallions are now the Montréal Alouettes.)

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-08-30 11:31:53
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What Canadian football team won the Grey Cup?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Why is grey cup important?

The Grey Cup is important to fans and players of Canadian Football as winning it marks the best Canadian professional football team.

How many times have the Oilers gotten the grey cup?

Never. The Oilers are a hockey team and the Grey Cup is the championship trophy for professional Canadian Football.

What is the trophy for Canadian University Football?

The Grey Cup

Who won the CFL grey cup in 2006?

The Grey Cup is awarded to the winning team of the Canadian Football League. On November 19th, 2006, the BC Lions defeated the Montreal Alouettes and won the 94th Grey Cup.

What is the big prize for the Canadian Football League?

the big prize in Canadian football, is called the Grey Cup.

What is the champianship game of the Canadian football league called?

Grey Cup

What is the big prize for the Canadian football league called?

The Grey Cup.

What is the name of the trophy given to the winner of the Canadian Football League?

Grey Cup

How do you spell gray cup?

The term is a proper noun, Grey Cup (The Canadian Football championship trophy).

What was Last Canadian team to win the grey cup?

All the teams which have won the Grey Cup, with only one exception, have been Canadian teams, which is to say that they were based in Canadian cities, including the most recent team to win it.

Who are the Winnipeg Blue Bombers?

The Winnipeg Blue Bombers are a team in the Canadian Football League. They are located in Winnipeg, Manitoba. They were the first team from Western Canada to win the Grey Cup.

Which football team has the most grey cup wins?

Toronto Argonauts, with 16.

People also asked