answersLogoWhite

0

Second shot from a tee box?

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-31 03:35:51

Best Answer

If you just hit a ball out of bounce from the tee box or if you don't know if you did you can call for a provisional ball. You would hit your second shot from the tee box "your provisional shot" and see if you can find the first ball. If you can't and your provisional ball is in play then you have play provisional ball and you accrue a 1 shot penalty stroke also. If you find your first shot off of the tee then you pick up your provisional ball and play your first tee shot. No penalty if you find your first tee shot and you can play it. So, the second shot from the tee box would be considered a provisional shot.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-05-31 03:35:51
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Ben's Awesome Study Guide

4 cards

Birdie

Eagle

Bogey

Double Bogey

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
4.33
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Second shot from a tee box?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Can you use a tee for any shot?

No, you can only use the tee on your tee shot on every hole. Your tee shot is any shot that is hit from the designated tee box, and the teeing are is defined by the two tee markers. If you need to hit a provision shot from the tee box, you may use a tee. But you can not use a tee from anywhere else.


Can a tee be used on second shot off the tee after an ob?

yes as long as your shot that went ob was on the tee.


What is the first stoke that is played off the tee-off box?

A tee shot.


A golfer's first shot is from where?

A golfers first shot on every hole and at the beginning of the round is at the tee box


If you hit the ball out of bounds on your initial tee shot and decide to tee up again are you hitting three or four?

Your second tee shot will be your third stroke. So it takes you 3 strokes to get of the tee blocks, hence the saying "3 off the tee"


Do you have to use a tee when hitting from the tee box?

No, but that is what the TEE BOX is for.


If a hit a tee shot out of bounds and you lose your ball Are you playing your 4th shot from the tee?

Player who hit "ob" is hitting 3 from the tee. If lose your ball on the tee shot you must return to the tee and re-tee hitting your 3rd shot.


Are golf tee-markers a movable obstruction?

You may not move the markers on your tee box for your tee shot. This would result in a 2 stroke penalty. However if after your tee shot, your ball lies near a marker you may move it and replace it in the same location after your stroke.


Golf club used for approach shot?

An club that is used to hit the green, usually on the second shot to a par four, the tee shot on a par three and the second or third shot to a par five.


Does your second tee shot count in longest drive competition if first tee shot went out of bounds?

No, the rules of a long drive contest are first ball and it must come to rest in the fairway.


Is it legal to hit second shot from tee if first is playable?

No, there must be reasonable doubt that the first ball is either out of bounds or lost for a second shot to be able to be hit.


In a golf club competion your opponant enters your score in the wrong box?

They must correct their mistake, by replaying the hole, from the correct tee box before they tee off on the next hole. If they fail to do so, they are disqualified. Two shot penalty also for teeing off on the wrong tee box.


What is the area where you tee up?

tee box


What happens if your ball is lost from the tee shot?

You tee another ball up on the tee box and hit again. However, since your first shot was lost, you have to take a stroke for the lost ball and one to re-tee the new ball and therefore when you hit the new teed ball it is considered your 3rd storke on the hole.


How many stroke penalty for hitting another tee shot?

Technically speaking, none. A player has the right to decide whether or not his or her ball is unplayable, so there is always the option of claiming an unplayable lie and re-teeing. The penalty is for declaring the ball unplayable, not hitting another tee shot, although the second tee shot is the player's third shot.


When a golfer gets to a new hole where does he or she stand to drive the ball?

They hit their first shot on a new hole from the tee box, in between the tee markers as per the rules of golf.


How do you know the order in which you would golf in your foursome in the following situations off the tee on the green and in the fairway?

In foursomes it is quite simple, one player hits the tee shot on the odd holes, the other hits the tee shot on the even holes. Imagine two players A and B. On hole 1- A hits tee shot, B hits 2nd shot, A hits 3rd shot, B hits 4th shot etc. On hole 2- B hits tee shot, A hits 2nd shot, B hits 3rd shot, A hits 4th shot. If A hits the tee shot OB, then B hits the provisional tee shot, then A hits what would be the 4th shot.


Can one use a tee after one tees off?

After you have hit your tee shot, the next time you can tee up a ball is the next hole, unless you need to hit a provisional tee shot.


Can you use a golf tee in the fairway?

No, you can only use a tee for a tee shot, which is a shot which is taken from the designated teeing area. The teeing area is defined by the two tee markers. You can not use a tee anywhere but the teeing area. If you do you are deemed to have improved your lie, which carries a two shot penalty.


A golfer dreamed all his life to hit a tee shot straight into the hole One day he did it but was not pleased Why?

Because it was his second shot o par three?


How many times can you tee a ball up?

You may only tee the ball up when you are on the teeing area, hitting a tee shot. This is usually once per hole for each hole. However, if you hit a ball out of bounds you must hit another shot from where you hit the previous shot from, so you may tee the ball up. Also, if you hit a tee shot and can't find the ball you must go back to the tee and you can again tee it up.


What is a tee shot?

A tee shot in its simplest form is the first shot on every hole in a round of golf. It is where a stroke is played from the designated teeing area, as defined by two tee markers. Where the two tee markers are placed a player must tee the ball in between them and they have the option of going up to two club lengths behind them, but never in front of them. A tee does not have to be used.


Name of the area that golfers tee off from?

It is called the tee box.


If 2 people tee off and you hit his ball second shot instead of yours is it a 2 shot penalty or 1?

Two shot penalty, he must replace his ball and then you must play your own.


What happens if you are about to tee off from the wrong place and someone tells you?

If this happens, you pick up your ball and tee it up on the proper tee box, no penalty. However, if you or anyone in your group tee'd off from the wrong place they receive a two shot penalty and must correct their mistake (by teeing off from the proper tee box) before they commence the next hole. If they do not fix their mistake they are DQ'd.