answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no. the batter can stay in the batters box as long as they dnt move when someone is stealing third base. if the batter tried to block the catcher tho by moving, the bater is out. if the catcher hits the batter and the batter is still standing in the batters box, and the catcher throws to third base and the third baseman tags the runner the runner is still safe.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-25 01:49:59
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Runner stealing third base batter stands in batters box catchers arm hit batter in head is runner out?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does batter have to move out of way for runner to steal second base?

no as long as the batter i the batters box and not on home plate he can remain in the batters box even if the baserunner is stealing third the catcher would have to move to throw it.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


What is batters interference?

Batter's interference is when the batter interferes with the catcher's ability to throw and catch a ball that is in play. An example of this is if the batter were to obstruct the catcher when a teammate is stealing a base, resulting in the catcher's inability to throw out the runner.


Is it obstruction if the batter doesn't move when the runner is stealing home?

Absolutely.


What happens to the batter with 3 balls 2 strikes when a runner is caught stealing?

The runner is out and the batter gets a new at bat when the next inning starts.


Does the batter become a batter runner on ball fore?

The batter becomes a runner the moment he steps out of the batters box and is heading towards first base.


Does th batter have to attempt to move from the batters box if a runner is stealing from second to third?

No the batter has to make no effort to move out of the batters box, because most of the time it would have been a swing and a miss, and the catcher will go around the batter too make the throw, and usually the batter will stay in the box as an obstacle to the catcher.


In the MLB if a batter has a full count with one runner on base and the runner is caught stealing to make the last out what happens to batter?

The batter who was at bat when the out was made bats first the next inning... the out was made by the base runner the batter is not penalize for his out ...( the base runner could have made the out at any base and the batter will bat again )


Batter interferes with catcher after striking out runner stealing and safe at second is runner out for batter's interference or returned to first base?

returned to first because when the batter intefer with the catcher the play is normaily stop


How could one team's pitcher face 32 batters but the other team have only 31 times at bat?

at the end of any inning, a batter would be in the box with a runner on base. then the runner gets thrown out, either stealing or in a pick of play. the batter never completed his AB but the pitcher did face him


Can a runner on first steal a base on a strike swing?

if a batter swings and misses and a runner is on base and the runner is stealing then he can steal a base. Not sure what you mean though on a strike swing.


With a runner on third stealing on a passed ball can the batter be called for interference?

yes i doesnt matten ur team or not


Was there ever a time when a batter who was up when a runner was caught stealing for the third out that he started the next inning with his old pitch count?

No.


Can a runner advance when the batter is hit by a bunted ball out of the batters box?

no because it will be considered a dead ball


Does a batter have to move from the batters box when a runner on third steals home or can he just stand there and let the runner slide between his legs?

you would have to be really far up in the box... i think the batter has to move


Does batters interference have to be intentional?

No, any type of interference is against the rule. It is similar to a pitcher unintentionally hitting a batter. As it is true that the interference does not have to be intentional, there are occasions where there might be "interference" that is not called as such. i.e If a batter takes a pitch and a runner is stealing a base, if the catcher throws the ball and hits the batter or his bat, while the batter is still standing in the box, this is not called interference


In Cal Ripken League baseball a runner is on second base with first base unoccupied the batter is walked can the runner on second advance to third base?

I'll be honest that I'm unaware of the rules specific to the league, but generally speaking, a batter-runner advances on a walk only when he is forced to do so by a trailing batter-runner. If a runner chooses to advance when not forced to do so, he is allowed, but is liable for being tagged out as if he were stealing a base.


If a runner on third is stealing home on a passed ball and the ball bounces off the backstop and hits the batter is the batter out?

The batter or the runner? Either would have to be tagged to result in an out. The catcher (or any player) would have to have the ball and touch the runner from third. If you mean the batter is still in the batter's box and the ball rebounds and hits him then I would surmise that it is a judgment call by the umpire as to whether or not the batter was in the way of the catcher being able to make a play.


Is the runner out if he leaves the base before batter hits the ball?

Absolutely not -- a runner can (and invariable does) leave the base even before the pitcher throws the ball to the batter! That's called leading off. A batter can attempt to run to the next base without the batter hitting it -- ie, stealing a base. PERHAPS what you're asking about is what happens if the runner leaves the base before the ball is hit AND the batter hits the ball AND the ball is caught by a fielder before it hits the ground AND the ball is then thrown to the base where the runner was AND the ball is held there before the runner returns to that base. If ALL of those things happen, then the runner is out.


Does a batter have to move when a runner is stealing third?

No, under the rules of general baseball the batter is never required to move from the batter's box on a steal attempt, even if the attempt is at home. Some leagues may require the batter to move for safety though


Little league ball is hit and bounces back toward batter it hits batters helmet and goes out of bounds Is the batter out?

If the baseball hit the ground in foul territory, the ball is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory, and the batter/runner is still in the batter's box when the baseball hits him, it is a foul ball. If the baseball hit the ground in fair territory and the batter/runner is out of the batter's box when the baseball hits him, the batter/runner is out and the ball is dead.


What happens to the batter when there is runner interferecnce?

Nothing happens to the batter. The runner who interfered is called out.


What constitutes batter interference when a catcher throws to second to get the runner out who is stealing?

If the ball hits third base on a hit, it is foul according to Major League Rules


When will a runner get a strike in softball?

A runner doesn't get a strike, a batter does.


How do you score the batter if a base runner is hit by the ball?

The batter is credited with a single. The runner is out and play is dead.