answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

The runner is out for interference.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-22 18:43:54
This answer is:
๐Ÿฆƒ
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Runner runs into fielder in basepath catching thrown ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a base runner is advancing the infielder approaches and makes contact with the runner as he is running through the basepath to field the ball is the base runner out?

If the fielder has fielded a ball and has it in his possesion yes. If the fielder is in the path of the base and does not have the ball, the answer is no New answer: The fielder may enter the base path to field a BATTED ball and the runner must avoid contact whether the fielder has possession or not. The above answer is correct for a thrown ball only. (ie. the third baseman cannot position himself on the basepath while waiting for a throw from left field while the runner is advancing from 1st to 3rd on a hit.


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


How long must a player hold onto a ball after he has tagged out a runner?

There is no set time a player must hold on to a ball after catching either a batted or a thrown ball - the rule only states that he must maintain "control" of the ball. If the umpire rules that a fielder has control of the ball and then tagged a runner that was off-base, that runner is instantly 'Out' and the fielder need not maintain control of the ball after that. He can immediately throw the ball elsewhere, or even drop it, and the runner would still be out.


If the batter hits a single to left field and a runner is thrown out at the plate is the batter credited with a hit or fielder's choice?

This would be a hit. The only scenerio that this would be a fielder's choice is if the bases were loaded during the hit and the runner that was thrown out was on third base during the hit. A fielder's choice is scored only if the batter would have been out had the fielder chosen to go after him instead of a runner already on base. If the batter would have reached first anyway (such as in the scenario described here), he would get a hit.


2nd and third with 1 out batter hits ball off pitcher and runner attempts to score and is thrown out does batter get a hit?

If the runner who started on 3rd base is the one thrown out at home, no it is not a hit. It is ruled a fielder's choice


Is a runner out when running in front of a fielder?

MLB Rule 7.08(b) states: Any runner is out when -- He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball;Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not.If an umpire decides that the base runner has "hindered" a fielder by running in front of him, then that runner is out. But this is a judgement call.


Is a runner considered out in baseball if he gets hit by the ball?

yes unless he is standing on the base It is also interference. Y-THINK-Y These answers assume we are talking about a batted ball (not clear from the question). A runner hit by a ball thrown by a fielder is not out, unless his interference with the throw was intentional. It is NOT interference if the ball first passes a fielder other than the pitcher. EXAMPLE: If the runner were to be running behind the fielder, and the ball went through the fielder's legs and hit the runner, the ball is live and there is no interference. A runner hit by a fair batted ball while standing on the base is out.


If a base runner who runs into a fielder attempting to field a ball while in the baselineis he out?

MLB Rule 7.08(b) states a runner is out when: " He intentionally interferes with a thrown ball; or hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball; Rule 7.08(b) Comment: A runner who is adjudged to have hindered a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball is out whether it was intentional or not. " So the answer is yes. It doesn't matter whether the contact was intentional or not, if a runner hinders a fielder attempting to make a play on a batted ball, that runner is called out.


With a runner on first base the pitcher overthrows ball to first where should the runner be awarded?

The runner isn't awarded anything. If the fielder can get the ball in time, the runner can still be thrown out at second. The runner is only awarded if the ball is thrown out of the playing field, such as the dugout or the stands. It is then declared a dead ball and is treated like a ground-rule double; The runner receives his extra base.


If a batter hits a ball that falls safely in front of the center fielder but the runner at second hesitates and gets thrown out at third should it be considered a fielder's choice and not a hit?

Provided that there were no runner on 1st base and batter reached 1st before runner were tagged out, this is a hit. Batter alreay had first base, runner chose to go to 3rd, not forced. If he were forced, then it is a fielders choice.


What is the penalty for a fielder throwing his glove at a batted or thrown ball?

MLB Rule 7.05(c) rules about throwing a glove at a fair ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril ". MLB Rule 7.05(e) rules about throwing a glove at a thrown ball: Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance " Two bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play; "


When a ball is hit to the third-baseman and a runner on third base attempts to score is the runner allowed to cross the base line and run on the infield to block the throw from third base to home?

Basically, a runner may take any path he desires when running between bases (other than home to first). If he UNINTENTIONALLY interferes with a thrown ball, he is NOT out and the ball continues to be in play.On the other hand, a runner may never INTENTIONALLY interfere with a fielder trying to throw the ball -- if he does so, he is out. This includes running in such a way as to INTENTIONALLY interfere with a ball that is thrown to home.Note that a throw MUST be made -- if the fielder holds on to the ball, he can NOT claim he WOULD have thrown home but for the runner. Otherwise the fielder would just hold onto the ball and then claim interference.There is no exact rule on how to decide a base runner's intent -- it's entirely the umpire's judgement."If a thrown ball hits a runner while running the bases, the runner is not out unless the umpire judges that the runner intentionally interfered, obstructed, hindered or confused the defense attempting to make a play.""A fielder starts to throw and stops because a runner is in his way but no contact is made and no intentional acts are made by the runner to cause interference. This is not interference because the runner did not interfere with a play in progress"


Is it a fielder's choice if the ball is hit to center field and the runner on 1st gets thrown out at 2nd?

NO !!! this would not be a fielder's choice its more likely to be scored a hit and a 8 to 6 put out ( it can be a 8 to 4 put out depending on whom is covering the base) ...FIELDER'S CHOICE ... Is the act of a fielder who handles a fair grounder and, instead of throwing to first base to put out the batter-runner, throws to another base in an attempt to put out a preceding runner. The term is also used by scorers (a) to account for the advance of the batter-runner who takes one or more extra bases when the fielder who handles his safe hit attempts to put out a preceding runner; (b) to account for the advance of a runner (other than by stolen base or error) while a fielder is attempting to put out another runner; and (c) to account for the advance of a runner made solely because of the defensive team's indifference (undefended steal).


What is a rundown in softball?

When the ball is thrown to a base where the runner is trying to advance. The runner instead of continuing to the base stops and tries to return to the base from which they came. The fielder then throws the ball to that base causing the runner to change their direction again and so forth until the runner is tagged out or safely reaches a base.


What is the ruling if a thrown ball is touched by detached illegal equipment?

Per MLB rule 7.05(d), each runner, including the batter-runner, may advance two bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a thrown ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play.


How many bases can a softball batter get if it is over thrown?

If the overthrow causes the ball to go out of play, the runner earns one base. If the ball stays in play after the overthrow, the runner isn't earned anything. As long as the ball is in play, the fielder always has an opportunity to pick up the ball and throw a runner out if the runner tries to advance.


If a runner is already on 1st base and the batter rips a line drive into center field and the center fielder throws out the runner at 2nd base is the batter credited with a hit or is it a FC?

One answer:it would be considered a force play. Another answer:The runner from 1st base would be out on a force play. The batter would be credited with a base hit. It would only be a fielder's choice if the official scorekeeper felt the batter could have been thrown out at 1st but the fielder chose to throw to 2nd (thus the term "fielder's choice"). It is unlikely that the batter would have been thrown out at 1st on the play you describe, but the final authority is the official scorekeeper.


If a batter hits a ball where they would otherwise safely reach first and a runner currently on a base gets tagged out due to a base running error is this considered a fielders choice?

That would depend on whether the runner that made the base running error was forced out. If there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner trips and falls between first and second and the left fielder throws to second and gets the runner out, it would be considered a force out and the batter would not get credited with a hit. But if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a ground ball into left field and the runner rounds second base too far and the left fielder throws to second and the runner is tagged out, the batter would be credited with a base hit.Answer:The above is incorrect. In order for the batter to receive a Fielder's Choice and not be credited with the hit, the scorer must determine that the batter would not have safely reached 1st base. In simple terms: "the fielder COULD have thrown out the batter, but CHOSE not to". In the example above, the left fielder could not have thrown out the batter at first. The batter is awarded the hit and the defense records a 7-4 put out.A force out does not determine a Fielder's choice. If there is a runner on 2nd with 1st empty: If the batter hits a sharp ground ball to second basemen who fields the ball cleanly and attempts to throw out the runner advancing from 2nd, the batter is given the fielder's choice whether the advancing runner is safe or out at 3rd.


If a batter hits the ball and tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?

If a batter hits the ball and a defensive player tries to get the runner at the plate does the batter get a hit recorded?If the official scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been put out at first, it is a Fielder's Choice. If the scorekeeper feels that the runner would have been safe at first anyway, it is a hit.This would be true, unless the runner is thrown out at the plate, then it would again be recorded as a Fielder's Choice.


If an infielders foot interferes with a baserunner is the baserunner out when tagged?

If a fielder is making a play, he has the right to block the base with any part of his body, so, yes, he would be out. So it would depend if the fielder was making a play. If the ball is not hit or thrown to the fielder then it is obstruction and the runner is awarded the base the umpire feels he would of reached.


What does A means in baseball fielding?

"A" is the abbreviation for an "Assist", a scoring record of a fielder who throws out a runner, such as a ground ball to short and the batter is thrown out at first, the shortstop is credited with an Assist. Two "Assist" may sometimes be credited, such as when the ball is hit to the outfield, the outfielder may throw to another fielder who then throws the baserunner out. In that case both players involved in throwing out the runner is credited with an "Assist".


Can a runner run over the short stop when the short stop is receiving the ball and not totally in the baseline?

If he is fielding a batted ball -- then no the runner cant run into him or it will be "Runner Interference" -- if the SS is catching a thrown ball at a base then the runner has the right to "run over" the SS if it is in an attempt to reach the base or continue running to the next base


The hitter gets a clear hit to centerfield but the runner waits too long to go to second and is thrown out at second Is it a hit or a fielders choice for the hitter?

For the play you describe, it would be a hit. A fielder's choice is when a fielder chooses to throw to another base instead of 1st base to retire the batter. I doubt the center fielder had a chance to throw out the batter at 1st base.