Best Answer

Answer to first part: Run does not count.

Explanation: For the runner on third coming home, the run does not count. No run counts on a play where the third out is a force out. There was one out when the play began; batter hits fly ball which is caught for the second out; ball is thrown to first base and the runner there is called out for the third out; this is considered a force out, therefore, the run does not count.

Answer to second part: Runner on first is called out.

Explanation: Only the defense can appeal that the runner left early. The offense (team at bat) cannot appeal that the runner did NOT leave early.

Note: The act of the right fielder throwing to first base is considered the appeal. If the runner is called out, there is no further action possible or necessary. If the runner is called safe, the defense (team in the field) can appeal by the usual process (where the pitcher with the ball addresses the rubber, then steps off the rubber and throws to first), but the same call will be made; why would the umpire change his mind?

User Avatar

Wiki User

2010-04-11 14:54:37
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
3 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: One out runners on 1st and 3rd fly ball hit to right field Ball is caught thrown to 1st base to double off the runner Runner on third scores Does the run count and how do you appeal the runner left e?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What happens if a base runner intentionally interferes with a thrown ball?

Runner is out. Other runners must return to the base they occupied at the instant of the interference. If the runner was trying to break up a double play, the other runner is also out.

In baseball what are the rules for base runners on a fly ball?

In general: If the ball is caught before it hits the ground, the runners cannot advance from the bases they are on until the moment the catch is made. If they are off the base at that moment, they must return to "tag up", then may proceed to the next base. But, the ball is still live, and the runner has to beat the throw and/or avoid the tag. Note, if the runner is caught waaaaayyyyyy off the his original base, he can be put out at his original base, on a FORCE play (the fielder need only touch the base, with the ball in his possession, before the runner touches it). But if he successfully tags up and is headed for the next base, or back to his original base, the play must be a non-force play (the fielder must "tag" the runner, i.e., touch the runner with his glove, with the ball inside it, before he reaches either base. If the ball is NOT caught in the air, everything proceeds the same way as if the ball was a grounder. This can be bad for the runner because, if he's EXPECTING the ball to be caught, he has to hang around on or close to his original base until the fielder misses the ball. This greatly reduces the amount of time he has left to make it to the next base. And if he's on first, or if he's on any other base but all the bases behind him are full, he HAS to go to the next base.Note that, if there are two outs before the fly ball is hit, the runners need not "tag up", because, if the ball is caught, the inning is over anyway, and if the ball is not caught, it's the same as a ground ball. Somewhere back in the history of baseball, a clever fielder figured out that, if there were multiple runners on base in a "force-out" situation (for example, first and second), and less than two outs, and a pop-up was hit to somewhere on the infield, the fielder could INTENTIONALLY MISS THE CATCH, then pick up the ball and get a double play fairly easily, because all the runners had to hold up to see if the ball would be caught. That was why baseball came up with... The Infield Fly Rule. If there are runners on first and second, and less than two outs, and a fly ball is hit in such a manner that it is catchable by an infielder, the umpire calls the rule into effect, loudly informing all players while the ball is still in the air. The batter is automatically out, wether the ball is caught or not. This removes the force condition on the two runners and prevents the fielder from turning an easy double play. If the ball is caught, runners may still tag up and proceed to the next base (though they are very unlikely to make it, given that the ball is already in or near the infield). If the ball is not caught, it is considered the same as the batter grounding out, and runners can advance if they choose, without tagging up, but they don't have to (and, once again, they're not likely to make it if they try, because the ball is already in or near the infield). Usually, what happens is that, as soon as the umpire determines that the rule is in effect, and alerts the players, the runners go back to their original bases and sit tight. Though he doesn't have to, the fielder ALMOST ALWAYS catches the ball, either as a matter of pride, or because it's easier than bending over to retrieve a ball on the ground. The runners make no attempt to advance, and the fielder throws the ball back to the pitcher, which ends the play. The resulting situation is exactly the same as it was before, except that there is one more out on the scoreboard, and a new batter is up with an empty count. -----For a base runner to advance on a caught fly ball, the runner must be in contact with the base he/she was occupying at the time of the pitched ball when the catch is made. Once the catch is made the runner may attempt to advance. If the runner attempts to advance before the fly ball is caught and is ruled to have advanced to the next base safely, the defensive team may make an appeal to the umpires that the runner left the base before the catch was made. This appeal must be the first order of business after the play and is made by:1) The defensive team notifying the umpires of their intent to appeal.2) The pitcher taking his normal stance on the pitching rubber with the ball.3) The pitcher steps off the rubber and throws to a fielder who is in contact with the base that the runner left too early.If the umpires disallow the appeal, the runner stays at the base he/she currently occupies. If the umpires allow the appeal, the runner is out. If this out is the third out and the runner who was called out by the appeal had scored, the run is disallowed. If this out is the third out and a runner who was ahead of the runner called out by the appeal had scored, the run is allowed.It is not the umpire's responsibiity to make this call. This appeal must be made by the defensive team.

Should a double steal be called when there are runners on first and second with no outs?

In my opinion I would not call a double steal in this situation for 2 reasons: 1. For the runner on second to advance to third on this play is very low and will most likely get thrown out. 2. The first two runners have gotten on base safely, having the start of a rally. Most likely the pitcher is struggling and it is very likely that runs will be scored. If a runner is to get caught stealing it could kill the rally and have a quick ending to the inning. Although it is suggested to not double steal in this situation it is also determind by the batter and his abilities and the runner's spead.

When does a run not count on a fly ball?

When the runner doesn't properly 'tag-up' after the fly ball is caught. In baseball, to tag up is for a baserunner to retouch or remain on their starting base (the time-of-pitch base) until (after) the ball either lands in fair territory or is first touched by a fielder. By rule, baserunners must tag up when a fly ball is caught in flight by a fielder. After a legal tag up, runners are free to attempt to advance, even if the ball was caught in foul territory. On long fly ball outs, runners can often gain a base; when a runner scores by these means, this is called a sacrifice fly. On short fly balls, runners seldom attempt to advance after tagging up, due to the high risk of being thrown out. When a base runner fails to tag up on a caught fly ball (for instance, if they started running too early, thinking the ball wouldn't be caught), they may be "doubled off", which results in them being called out. To double a runner off, a fielder must touch the runner's starting base while in possession of the ball before the runner returns to the base. If the baserunner appeared to tag up, but a fielder suspects the baserunner may have left the base too early (thus failing to legally tag up), the fielder may attempt to double the runner off by touching the runner's starting base while controlling the ball, before the next pitch is thrown. This is considered a type of appeal play. If the umpire agrees that the runner did not retouch after the ball was touched by a fielder, the umpire will call the runner out, and anything else the runner did during the play (such as score a run) is negated. Doubling a runner off is considered a "time play" (as opposed to a force play), which means that even if the doubling-off is the third out of an inning, any runs which score before the double-off will count (unless the run was scored by the same runner that was doubled off, in which case the run will not count in any situation).

What is a double out in baseball?

A double out or double play is when there are 2 outs made in one play. It can only happen if there is at least one runner on base before the ball is hit. During the play either 2 runners are called out, or the hitter and one runner is called out. There are many different ways to do this.

If a ball is a pop fly and the opponent catches it is the hitter out?

Yes, the hitter is out and if the fielder who caught the ball can get it to a base before the runner gets back the runner is out making it a double play

If a runner who was called out on the infield fly rule passes the runner on first is it a double play?

No, it is not. The batter is immediately out, and he can have no further affect on the play, unless he interferes with a fielder attempting to make a play or assists one of the runners on base.

Runners on 3rd and 1st and the batter makes a 6-4-2-double play does the batter get an rbi?

No, because the 2 part means the runner on third was thrown out

Does run on third on third count Runners on first and third one out fly ball caught in outfield runner on third tags runner on first leaves early ball is thrown to first for inning ending double play?

first base was a force out so the run shouldn't count, As an example if the runner on first had tagged and tried to take second base and was thrown out after the run scored then the run would stand, because the base runner put themselves in jeopardy of being put out

Man on first and third one out deep fly caught by outfield runners go thinking the ball will drop man on third scores before the outfielders eventually double the man off first does the run count?

if the runner on third tags up on the fly ball, and scores before the double play is made then yes the run counts

What is a double play in baseball?

It is where there is one-two runners aboard the bases (probably a runner at first base or two runners at first and second base) and a baseball player hits the ball within the infield and gets two of the runners out (depending on who was on what bases) and then there is two outs from that play! Sorry if its confusing :( did the best i could!

In baseball after a fly ball is caught can the fielder touch the bag with his elbow to double a runner up?

Yes, provided he has control of the ball at the time.

People also asked