answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, as long as it is a fair ball. Once the umpire signals the infield fly rule the batter is automatically out. However, if the ball is dropped and is ruled a foul ball, the umpire reverses his call and the batter continues his turn at bat. Nevertheless, the batter can not reach first from that batted ball. You will often find an umpire state "Infield fly, Batter is out if Fair". When the rule is in effect, the batter may not get on first base.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-28 04:54:34
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Softball

25 cards

What is the function of the heart

From what country did the Munich Massacre hostages originate

In what year did the Munich Massacre take place

How do you take an accurate pulse

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
No Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is there a way the batter can reach first safely when the infield fly rule is in effect and the batter hits an infield fly?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

A hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

A hit


What is the hit that gets the batter to first base safely?

What the name of the hit that gets the batter to first base safely


What is the infield-fly rule in baseball?

The infield fly rule is only in effect with runners on first and second or first, second, and third. The rule is put into effect when there is a pop up in the infield that is catchable. When the umpire yells, "Infield fly, batter's out" He means that the batter is out and the runner's don't have to go even if the fielder drops the ball. This is to protect the runners so they don't have to decide whether to stay on first base in case the fielder catches or to go in case he drops. If the fielder drops the ball the team in the field would have plenty of time to get the lead runner(s).


If a ground ball to the infield scores a runner when they throw to first to get the batter is it a sac for the batter?

No, it is scored as a ground out and the batter is credited with an RBI.


When does the infield fly rule apply?

The infield fly rule is in effect when there are runners on first and second or bases are loaded with less than 2 outs.


Runner on third two outs batter is out at first on an infield ground ball does the run count?

no the run does not count


After an infield hit can the batter be tagged out for making an attempt to go to second base without crossing the first base line?

no


When is the infield fly rule put into effect?

When there are runners on first and second or first, second, and third with less than two outs.


In what year did the first form of the Infield Fly rules appear in the official rules of baseball?

The infield fly rule came into existence in 1895. However, the rule stated that it was only in effect when there was one out. This was changed in 1901 to include being in effect when there were no outs as well as when there was one out.


Does a batter get credit for an RBI on an infield ground ball when he is thrown out at first with the bases loaded and a run scores?

Yes, The Batter is counted an RBI for every run he bats in regardless of whether he was safe or not.


When a batter reaches first base safely but hits into a force play is he awarded a hit?

simple answer, No!


What is a single in playing baseball?

A single is a hit that allows the batter to reach first base safely.


If a batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter makes his way safely to first base how is that play entered onto a scorecard?

e 2


Who hit the first infield home run in major league baseball?

Babe Ruth hit the very first infield homerun.


Is an out recorded if there are less than two outs and the batter safely makes it to first base on a passed ball third strike with first base unoccupied?

No out is recorded. The batter is safe at first, error charged to catcher.


What does h mean for a pitcher in box score?

Hits. A Hit is scored when a batter safely makes it to first base.


If a ball hits a piece of a broken bat in fair territory is it a dead ball live ball or an out?

It is a live ball. If the batter reaches first base safely, it is a hit. If the batter is thrown out a first, it's an out.


Who hit first infield home run?

A true infield home run never happened, four base errors have happened.


What happens when a fly ball hit to the first baseman is dropped with a runner on first base?

Nothing in your situation. Only maybe if there is less than two outs and at least another runner on second. If there is less than two outs, the infield fly rule applies. The runner should stay on first base. The batsman would be out anyway. That is the purpose of the infield fly rule. It was put in when Ty Cobb had a similar situation. He was playing short stop. There were runners on first and second. A batter hit a pop up toward him. He yelled, "I got it." The runners stayed on first and second. He dropped the ball. Tagged the runner on second. Stepped on the base, and threw the ball to first for a triple play. Then baseball put in the infield fly rule. If there is a popup in the infield with zero or 1 outs, and runners on base that would be forced out, the batter is out and the runner should not advance.


What is an infield fly in softball?

when there is a base runner on first and the batter hits a pop up. Less than 2 outs any runner on base that would be forced to run (runner on 1st or 1st and 2nd or bases loaded) as a result of a hit ball and the ball is popped up to the infield.


What does fielders choice mean?

The fielder who caught the ball had the option to either get the batter running to first or another runner. Example: With a runner of first the batter hits the ball to the short stop. The short stop choices to throw the ball to second to get the runner out but the batter reaches first base safely.


Why is the baseball tossed around the infield but not to the first baseman after an infield out?

The ball is usually not passed to the first baseman because a first baseman is involved in many plays. It's an old tradition that's still in use.


Who was the first MLB hitter to have an infield shift put on him?

ted williams


What is the rule on a dropped third strike with first base occupied?

With 0 or 1 outs, the batter is automatically out. With 2 outs, the batter may attempt to reach first base safely. In order to be called out automatically, first base must be occupied by a baserunner.


Is a batter given a hit if with bases loaded less than 2 outs batter hits ball in the air landing safely into the outfield but the runner on first is forced out at 2nd by the right fielder?

No