Depending on if there is contact made. Usually balls are snatched with contact. If it does occur without contact, then a steal is rewarded to the player.
It is a foul to snatch the ball away if it is in your opponent's hands
When a player on the team with the ball commits a foul
No, that is considered a foul
In basketball, an intentional foul is deliberately committed by a defensive player with a purpose to stop the play. The penalty or penalties of an intentional foul are foul shots from the fouled player in exchange for ball possession.
No, a basketball player is not allowed to throw the ball up in the air before attempting their foul shot. Players are able to do any preparation that will help them, but are not allowed to release the ball into the air before shooting.
You can foul someone whether you or them have the ball. If you make "illegal contact" with another player its a foul.
the ball is turned over to the other team
A dead ball foul is a term in which the ball has not been inbounded, the clock is stopped, thus a "dead ball," and a foul has been commited.
A loose ball foul in the NBA (European rules may differ) is committed when NO player from either team has possession of the ball. It is NOT a foul committed on a player who does not have possession of the ball so long as some other player has possession. A loose ball foul is committed ONLY when NO player from either team has possession, which is evident from the name, "Loose ball." The concept is important because an offensive foul has different repercussions than a defensive foul, but a "loose ball foul" is neither a defensive or an offensive foul. If any other player other than the one fouled has the ball then the foul is either defensive or offensive.
The other team gets the ball but the player is not charged with a personal foul
over the back.
The shooter has to wait for the ball to touch the rim.