Best Answer

It depends on the level of play.

In Highschool: Yes as long as he had possession and 1 foot in bounds, it's a catch.

In NCAA and NFL: There is a concept of the 'process of the catch', which basically means that if a player catches a ball and lands inbounds and immediately goes out of bounds (without making some sort of football action), then he must maintain possession of the ball through the whole process of the catch (which includes landing on the ground and even movement on the ground for a few seconds).

If you really want to see how difficult this 'process of the catch' is, consider the following scenarios:

An offensive player (Team "A") catches the ball mid-air. A defensive player (Team "B") hits the player while he is still in the air air. The Team A player lands on the ground (two feet), then falls and hits his knees on the ground and while landing on his back, and still struggling with the Team B player:

1.) Team B player pops the ball out of the hands of the Team A player, and the ball hits the ground.

2.) Team B player rips the ball out of the hands of the Team A player, and gains possession a split second before both their backs are on the ground.

What do you think will happen?

1.) Although the moment the Team "A" player's knees are on the ground, giving him possession of the ball, he doesn't "complete the process of the catch", so it is an incomplete pass.

2.) Because the 'process of the catch' is complete, the ball is dead where it is... HOWEVER, since the Team A player had possession when his knees hit the ground, he retains possession.

So the 'process of the catch' seems a bit weird and may end up changing. In my scenario, it is better for a defender to knock a ball loose instead of taking possession himself, which is backwards to all other types of play.

So this question is a good one, but is a lot deeper than most people realize.

(For the record, I'm an NCAA deep wing official that verified the ruling above with multiple Division-2 & Division-1 NCAA officials, and an NFL official).

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is it a catch when the receiver catches the ball gets 2 feet in has possession then hits ground out of bounds and drops ball?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is it a catch when the receiver catches the ball gets 2 feet in has possession then hits ground out of bounds and drops ball NFL football?

Answer Yes.

Is it incomplete if a receiver catches the ball in the air and loses possession when he lands on the ground?

Yes. According to the (new) NFL rules a receiver must maintain possession of the ball all the way to the ground.

When does change of possession occur in Ultimate Frisbee?

The possession changes when the defending team swats the disc to the ground or catches it. Also, if the offensive team drops the disc or throws it out of bounds or into the ground, then possession is changed.

In football if the ball goes out of bounds and a player is inbounds and catches the ball when it is out but he isn't is it a complete pass?

The ball is not "out of bounds" unless the ball or the player who possesses it touches the ground in an out of bounds area. So in the case where the ball is in flight over the sideline, and a player who is inbounds catches it and demonstrates control before stepping out, the pass is complete.

If a football is thrown and a recevier catches it but has not yet hit the ground can he toss it forward to another receiver?

If the receiver gains possession of the ball and then tosses it forward, it's a forward lateral. If he does not gain possession, it's technically just a tipped ball because he never caught it.

What is turnover in ultimate Frisbee?

A turnover in ultimate is when the offensive team loses possession of the disc to the defensive team. This can happen when:1. The disc hits the ground (whether it be from a missed catch or from a defender smacking it to the ground. 2. A defender catches a disc 3. An offender catches the disc out of bounds or the disc lands out of bounds. 4. The stall count on the thrower hits ten seconds.

Can you bobble the football to the ground in football?

In order to complete a catch, a receiver must maintain possession throughout the entire process. In the field of play, the ball can be bobbled so long as the player ends the catch in bounds with control of the ball. However, if a player does not have full possession of the ball as he goes out of bounds, or the catch is in any way aided by the ground, it is considered incomplete.

If a receiver's knee is down and he then catches the ball is it incomplete in college football?

No, it is considered a completed pass. A receiver may go to the ground to catch the ball, as long as it doesn't hit the ground.

In men's lacrosse can you push a player out of bounds and gain possession of the ball?

Yes, if you push him out of bounds while he has the ball, it is your ball. Or a change of possession if that is easier to understand

Is there still a College football force out rule and what is the definition ie if the player is pushed out of bounds while in the air and doesn't have the opportunity to come down?

There is no "force out" in college football. Only one foot is required in bounds for a completed catch, unless a receiver's normal progression to the ground is interrupted by a defensive player (for example, if a receiver was hauled out of bounds when he would have landed in bounds).

What is considered out of bounds in ultimate frisbee?

Just like in any other sport, there are boundaries around the field. However, if the disc flies past the boundaries, it is not necessarily out of bounds yet. Quality players curve the disc out of bounds and back in and, if caught in bounds, is still considered in and good. If a player jumps from in bounds and catches and throws the disc in play, before he hits the ground, that is considered in and good (this is commonly known as "the greatest" due to its difficulty to accomplish). Once the disc hits the ground out of play or a player catches the disc out of bounds, it is considered a dead disc. Also recognize that if the disc hits the ground, in the field or past the boundaries, it is a turnover and the other team picks up the disc.

Is it a backcourt violation while inbounding the ball a player leaves his feet in front court catches the ball in the air and land backcourt I say no with no possession out of bounds?

Yes, it is a violation. If you leave the ground from the frontcourt and catch the ball in the air, you establish possession in the frontcourt. Then when you land in the backcourt, it is over-and-back. If you catch the ball straddling the line, however, this is OK.