Best Answer

The location of the fielder's body has no bearing on whether a ball is fair or foul. It is the location of the ball when it is touched by the fielder or when it goes by the base that determines whether it is fair or foul.

User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

By MLB rule, no. The catcher is allowed to be in foul territory within the catcher's box behind the plate. Other than that, no other defensive player is allowed to be positioned, even have one foot positioned, in foul territory. MLB Rule 4.03 states: "When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory." The penalty is a balk. -----well, not exactly ... here is the complete rule, and the balk penalty only applies to the catcher -- 4.03(a). For a fielder -- 4.03(c) -- there is no specified penalty, so it becomes just a "don't do that" rule. If a player persisted, he could, of couse, be ejected. 4.03 When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory. (a) The catcher shall station himself directly back of the plate. He may leave his position at any time to catch a pitch or make a play except that when the batter is being given an intentional base on balls, the catcher must stand with both feet within the lines of the catcher's box until the ball leaves the pitcher's hand. PENALTY: Balk. (b) The pitcher, while in the act of delivering the ball to the batter, shall take his legal position; (c) Except the pitcher and the catcher, any fielder may station himself anywher in fair territory.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Yes..only one foot has to be in play..

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a pitch legal if a defensive player has 1 foot in foul territory at the time of the pitch?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can a defensive player score in soccer?

Yes. Any player on the pitch can score in soccer including goalkeepers.

Which softball player is in foul territory?

The catcher is usually in foul territory when the pitch is thrown; although, legally, any player but the pitcher COULD be there.

What happens to base runners when a defensive player catches a ball in foul territory and his momentum carries him to out of bounds?

If the fielder falls into the stands or the dugout after catching the foul, the ball is dead and runners are awarded base from the base they occupied at the time of the pitch.

In baseball how close can a defensive player be to a batter during a pitch?

The closest fielders can be is if the batter bunts 1st and 3rd charge up.If the batter doesnt bunt,on the grass.

Is the sweeper one of the forwards on the soccer team?

A sweeper is not a forward, a sweeper is a defensive player, located centre and behind the regular defensive line. Usually, their job is to pick up loose tasks on their end of the pitch, like an unmarked midfielder running through the centre.

How many baseball players are allowed in the outfield at one time?

You can place as many players in the OF that you want. Considering that the pitcher and catcher must stay in position, that gives you seven players to play in the OF, if you so wish. Remember that the only defensive player allowed to be stationed in foul territory is the catcher who must be in the catcher's box when the pitch is delivered. The only two defensive positions that are set by rule is the pitcher and catcher. All other fielders may play where the manager wants them to play. So, to answer your question, as many as seven defensive players are allowed to play in the outfield at any one time.

How do you move on the football pitch as a defensive midfielder?

As a defensive midfielder you would move mostly back towards your own goal. However you would move around the middle of the pitch and maybe go up for crosses, supply them and go up for free kicks and corners.

Which of the following is not a legal pitch in baseball?