the center is always eligible
In the NFL, that depends on whether the quarterback took the snap from directly behind the center or whether he was in the shotgun formation. NFL rules state that eligible receivers are the two players on either side of the line of scrimmage and "players at least one yard behind the line at the snap. A T-formation quarterback is not eligible to receive a forward pass during a play from scrimmage". Therefore, if the quarterback takes the snap from directly behind the center he is not an eligible receiver. If the quarterback takes the snap in the shotgun formation he is an eligible receiver.
A center snaps the ball, blocks any defender in his area making a way towards the quarterback, an open eligible receiver and is a guaranteed bet for yards. And the best player on the field.
Yes. Once the ball touches an opposing (defence) player or an eligible receiver first, the "eligible receiver" rule no longer applies.
A tight end and a wide receiver are both on offense, therefore a wide receiver would not be covering a tight end.
Only 5 lineman are ineligible, 6 are eligible including the quarterback.
He doesn't. He can throw to any eligible receiver, which also includes tight ends and running backs.
5, with 11 players total 5 are linemen who are not eligible and the quarterback has to throw. That leaves 5. The quarterback is also considered an eligible receiver. The correct answer is 6.
Yes....at some levels (leagues) the center needs to have a proper # on the jersey to be eligible as a reciever
yes but the ball has to hit the ground as a "fumble" and if he picks it up he can run but it usually doesnt work very well. Or, the Center can be an eligible receiver of a forward pass if the officials are notified before the play has started. In high school football the center may advance the ball only after it has touched a back. He must also turn toward the backfield with his torso. If the fumble is intentional it is illegal because a play designed to deceive the defense is illegal. A snapper who is on the end of the line and is numbered 1 through 49 0r 80 to 89 is eligible for a pass. There is no requirement for notification but you must be numbered correctly and be positioned correctly to be an eligible receiver. Interior linemen are not eligible period. The guy who snaps the ball to start the play is called a snapper. Center is a position on the interior line and he may or may not also be a snapper.
This is from the NFL rulebook:"Any eligible offensive player may catch a forward pass. If a pass is touched by one eligible offensive player and touched or caught by a second offensive player, pass completion is legal. Further, all offensive players become eligible once a pass is touched by an eligible receiver or any defensive player."Since the pass was touched by either an eligible receiver or a defensive player and then caught it is a legal catch.