answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, but he would be out if he were hit with a batted ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-10-24 05:43:21
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is a base runner out when hit by a thrown ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is the batter out or safe if a base runner gets hit by a ball?

the runner is out not the hitter but if he doesn't reach base before the ball is thrown to the base he would be out too.


Is a runner out if a fielder throws the ball and hits the runner?

No. A runner is out if hit by a batted ball but not out if hit by a thrown ball.


Is the ball alive or dead when hitting a runner in fair territory?

It depends. Is the ball being thrown or is it hit. If it's hit off the bat and hits a base runner it's a dead ball and the runner is out if the ball has not passed a fielder. If the ball has already passed a fielder then the ball is live and the runner is not out. It is as if it never happened. If it hits the runner when it is thrown it is perceived as if it never hit the runner.


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


Can a base runner be thrown out if a foul ball is hit?

Yes, the ball is still considered foul if the a player catches it. They can be thrown out when trying to tag after the fly ball is caught.


If a base runner is hit with the ball thrown by the catcher is the runner out?

The act of hitting a runner with the ball does not generally qualify in and of itself as an out. If the base runner is running legally (e.g. does not interfere), then there is no out, and the ball is live. However, if the batter/runner is running illegally, such as running outside of the 3 foot runner's lane between home and first base, the batter/runner will be out if hit by the catcher's throw. If he is going straight to the base, the runner is not out.


What happens if a base runner gets hit by a thrown ball?

Unless the runner intentionally intefered with the incoming throw, he is not out and the play remains live.


Is a runner out if he is hit by thrown ball?

Taged yes, hit NO!! lol :)


2nd and third with 1 out batter hits ball off pitcher and runner attempts to score and is thrown out does batter get a hit?

If the runner who started on 3rd base is the one thrown out at home, no it is not a hit. It is ruled a fielder's choice


If a base runner is hit by the ball is it a dead ball?

No. Runner is part of the field, therefor the ball is in play and the runner is out.


Is the runner alllowed to advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

YES... the ball is always live till the umpire stops play ... if the ball goes into the dugout the runner get one (1) base if the goes into the stands the runner take two (2) bases... if there's a runner on base they take the next open base...


Can the runner in baseball advance after he is hit by a thrown ball and it goes out of bounds?

Once the ball goes out of play, the number of bases the runner is to advance will depend on the ground rules at that ball park, generally when a ball goes out of play the runner gets 1 base

People also asked