Best Answer

It depends on how the goalkeeper received it.

If the goalkeeper received it from a deliberate kick or a throw-in by a team-mate, then no. Otherwise, yes.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Convert this number to scientific notation

In the metric system what is the prefix for 1000

How do housefly sense things

The tangent of an angle equals the ratio of the

See all cards
21 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In soccer can a goalkeeper kick the ball from outside and pick it up by hands?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who is the only player who can touch the ball with his hands in soccer?

The designated goalkeeper for the team may use their hands and arms to touch the ball while in their own penalty area.

What does a goalkeeper do in football or soccer?

simply a goalkeeper prevents the ball from going into the net

What soccer skill is employed only by the goalkeeper?

catching the soccer ball because forfield players they aren't aloud to use their hands and arms, so yeah the skill they use that other players don't use is catching the soccer ball.

How would you describe the duty of a soccer goalkeeper?

To keep the ball out of the net.

Can a defender head the ball back to the keeper in soccer?

Yes, and its also one of the only cases where the goalkeeper can use his hands to pick it up from a pass from the defense.

A soccer player kicks a ball into what?

A soccer player kicks a ball into the opposing team's goal. A goalkeeper will try to stop this from happening

If a goalkeeper has the ball in his hands and puts a foot behind the goal line is this a goal if the ball is still outside the plane of the goal?

absolutely no goal. only the position of ball dete rmines the goal.

Why can't you use your hands in Football?

: the players can touch the ball , just the goalkeeper because it would be a hand ball. It's too easy if permit to use your hands. but the goalkeeper must be in the penalty box to grab the ball with his hands or else... it will be considered handball

Is the goalkeeper allowed to kick the ball outside circle?


Soccer rules after using the feet then picking it up with hes hand back pass?

I'm going to assume that you are asking about a ball that is deliberately kicked back to the goalkeeper by a teammate, then picked up. If the keeper touches the ball with his hands outside of the penalty area (the "18"), the offense is handling and the other team is awarded a direct kick from the spot where the keeper first touched the ball with his hands. If the keeper touches the ball with his hands inside the penalty area but outside the goal area (the "6"), the offense is goalkeeper handling and the other team is awarded an indirect kick from the spot where the keeper first touched the ball with his hands. If the keeper touches the ball with his hands inside the goal area, the other team is awarded an indirect free kick from the spot on the goal area line nearest where the ball was first touched by the keeper.

If goalkeeper holds ball can a player head it from his hands?

A goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball when... ...the ball is between the hands or between the hand and any surface (e.g. ground, own body) ...holding the ball in the outstretched open hand ...bouncing it on the ground or throwing it in the air A goalkeeper cannot be challenged for the ball even when in the process of throwing or punting it.

Can a goalkeeper touch with his hands a ball that is outside his box although his feet are inside the box?

No. When determining whether a goalkeeper may touch a ball with his hands, only the position of the ball matters. If the ball had not crossed (or touched the plane above) the boundary of the goalkeeper's own penalty area, it would be considered deliberate handling, The restart would be a direct free kick at the location of the handling. The goalkeeper might be cautioned if the act prevented the development of a promising goal scoring opportunity in the opinion of the referee. The goalkeeper might be sent off if the ball would have entered the net if not for the handling (and without being touched again by any player) in the referee's opinion.