Best Answer

The power play technically begins the moment the referee signals the penalty, and the non-penalized team has the option to pull its goalie for an extra attacker.

If the non-offending team scores during a delayed penalty call, a 2 minute minor penalty is not assessed.

If the penalty is a double minor, or a second penalty is to be assessed during the delayed call, the previous penalty is negated upon a goal scored and the second penalty is then enforced.

User Avatar

Wiki User

2010-01-22 22:52:42
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
12 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: In hockey if a team scores with a delayed penalty do they still go on the power play?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

If Team A takes a penalty and Team B scores during that delayed penalty is Team B credited with a power play goal?

If there is a delayed penalty to team A, and team B scores, there will be no more penalty for team A.

In hockey if delayed penalty call and other team scores is there still penalty?

No. If the team who would've gone on the power play scores before the "penalized" team touches the puck, the penalty is nullified. On the other end, as soon as the "penalized" team touches the puck, play is stopped and the penalized player is sent to the penalty box. Sometimes, however, play is stopped as soon as the penalty is committed. An example may be if a player slashes another and breaks his opponent's stick.

Does the player in the penalty box get a minus if the other team scores on power play?

If a player is in the penalty box and some one scores you get to get out of the box. Example: I get a penalty and my team scores I get to get out. Or I'am in the penalty box and then the other team scores I get to get out.

What is power play in ice hockey?

A power play is when the opposing team has a penalty. a penalty is when you have a penalty and are trying to kill it off.

Are power plays in hockey over if the team on the powerplay scores?


What is a power play in ice hockey?

A power play in hockey occurs when a player is called for a penalty. The team who does not have a player in the penalty box will have a man advantage known as the power player. Typically it is 5 on 4 but it can vary in numbers depending on the situation.

What does p k stand for in hockey?

Penalty Kill. During a penalty one team is on the power play (PP) and the other on the penalty kill (PK)

What is minor power play in ice hockey?

A minor power play is when the other team that you are playing has a minor penalty with is 2 min long.

How long is a hitting from behind penalty in hockey?

it is a 2 minute penalty plus a 10 minute game misconduct the checking player has to serve 10 minutes which does NOT result in a power play another player on the team must serve the 2 minute penalty and it IS a power play

Can you have a double power play in hockey?

Yes, there are 5 on 3 powerplays, but that is the most. If there are more than 2 people who commit a penalty, the latest penalty stays in the box but the penalty doesn't start until the first person there is let out.

Is there a penalty shot and a power play together on the same play in hockey?

No and Yes, when a person gets a penalty when they're all alone the coach can decide if he wants a penalty shot or if he wants a powerplay. Although if the player who gets the penalty, gets a minor for tripping but then also punches the kid and gets a misconduct there is a penalty shot and a powerplay.

Ways to score a goal in hockey?

1 - Even strength 2 - Power play 3 - Short handed 4 - Open net 5 - Penalty shot

People also asked