If the runner was not on the base at the time when the pitcher entered the pitching circle they can still steal a base. The runner has a certain amount of time to decide to either steal or return to their original base once the pitcher is in the circle. They cannot rock though, or pretend to go either way and then go the other. Once they commit to one direction they have to go that direction, unless the ball leaves the pitcher's circle again.
In general, if there are base runners, the pitcher should run to cover home. If there are no runners on, the pitcher can just stay on the mound.
There is a pitcher's circle but no actual mound of dirt. There is a pitcher's circle but no actual mound of dirt.
There are certain things a pitcher may not do while within this circle. Fore example, when the umpire puts a new ball in play, some pitchers will spit on their hands and rub the ball up. Done outside this circle, it is legal; done inside this circle, it is illegal.
The pitcher's mound is circular.
Softball doesn't have a raised mound. In fast pitch softball, there is a circle with an 8 foot diameter drawn around the pitcher's plate.
A circle with an 18-foot diameter has an area of: 254.5 square feet.
A pitcher has a high mound because he can get some velocity.
What is the height of the pitcher's mound in college baseball
The sport of baseball has a pitcher's mound.
The pitcher is on the mound so he can't charge it. The batter charges it from the plate.
Rule 8.06 of the Official Baseball Rules (2011, pp 78-79) does not state where the visit counts, but it does state that the visit is officially over when the coach or manager leaves the 18' circle of the pitcher's mound. If he turns around to talk to the pitcher after he walks off the mound, it is considered a second visit and the pitcher must be replaced. For the rest of this answer I will just use "coach." The coach does not get counted for a mound visit when he steps over the line, because he is allowed to visit an infielder as well. However, if that infielder then communicates with the pitcher, it will be counted as a mound visit. So basically, it is considered a mound visit if the coach goes out to communicate in some way or another to the pitcher. Let's just assume that the coach isn't stupid and wants to communicate with the pitcher in a way that the other team can't hear him. He would be counted a visit the moment he stepped foot on the mound, as the umpires would then know his intention is to talk to the pitcher.
The diameter of an MLB pitcher's mound is 18 feet.