answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

If you hit the ball into the net in tennis you don't lose a point, rather the opponent get s a point.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-22 23:48:38
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

Sports

21 cards

What happens if carbon dioxide levels in the blood are too low

Which sport combined the games of handball and squash

What type of surface is the All-England championships at Wimbledon played on

Which of these sports features a competition known as the Grand Slam

โžก๏ธ
See all cards

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you touch the net in tennis do you lose the point?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Whose point is it when a player hits the net after hitting the ball into the opponent's court?

In tennis and volley-ball you lose the point if you touch the net while the ball is in play.


When do you lose a point in tennis?

You can lose a point for double-faulting on your serve (not getting the ball in the service box after two tries), touching the net (you are not allowed to touch the net), or hitting the ball out.


What if you hit the net during a tennis point?

you lose the point... O_o


Tennis racket over the net in tennis?

If you reach your racquet over the net in the middle of a point before the ball has crossed the net, you lose the point. If the ball has crossed the net and when you return it your follow through goes over the net without touching it, it is good


Can a tennis player touches the net without intention?

Whether you touch the net with intention or not it results in a loss of the point being played.


Can your hand touch the court in table tennis?

In my league, you can't touch the table or net with your free hand. If you do, automatic loss of point. Your paddle may touch the table with no penalty.


In tennis can a player reach over the net without hitting the ball without fault?

Yes, as long as you don't touch the net or the other side. You can't touch the ball until it crosses the net to your side, but once it crosses over, if it has spin and goes back to the opponent's side, you can and must reach over the net to touch the ball before it's second bounce because you will lose the point if it bounces back on the opponent's side without you touching it.


Can net be crossed during tennis overhead?

Yes as long as you do not touch any part of the net while the point is being played. simple :)


Is there a second serve in table tennis?

There are no 'faults' in tabletennis. If you miss the first serve, you lose the point. However, having said that, if you serve a "let" - where the ball plays truly on each side of the net, but touches the net in its travels across the net, you are permitted to retake your serve to make it a 'clean' serve that does not touch the net.


Can you run into the net in tennis?

touching the net in a tennis competition is not allowed and if you do run into it the opponent/s are/is awarded the point.


What is soccer tennis?

Soccer tennis is when you have a tennis net and you volley a soccer ball with your feet over the net to the other player. Whoever messes up or hits the net losses a point.


Can you touch the net in tennis?

"yes you can there will be no harm" and the ball must be inside not out


Do you lose a point if you step on the restraining line for volleyball?

no. if you touch the net the other team gets a point, and when the other team is serving you have to be in the court but after the ball is served you can step on and over it


What is considered fair play in tennis?

any ball that you hit after one or no bounces from your side of the court onto the other side of the court that lands inside the lines. (as long as you don't touch the net at any time) at the professional level, if you make an unnecessary noise while playing, you will lose the point. (such as yelling out before you have won the point)


What is a point in tennis?

The point of tennis is to keep the ball within bounds on the opposite side of the net from yourself, and to be the last person to do so.


In tennis how many serves per point?

You get two chances to serve per point. If you hit the ball out or into the net ther first time, you get one more chance, and if you do it again the second time, you lose the point. Also it should be noted that if the ball hits the net and goes in, the serve is replayed; this is called a let.


What does a tennis net do in tennis?

The same thing as in ping-pong. If one player does not return the ball over the net, then the other player (or team) gets the point.


What is a service in tennis?

In tennis, a service is when one opponent hits the tennis ball over the net into the opposite box. It's how tennis players start the point. If you miss the first serve, you get to serve again, but if you miss that, the point is over. Your opponent won that point. If the ball hits the net before bouncing over, it is called a let. Source: Many years of playing tennis.


Why is the net on the table tennis table there?

for without a net, the game would not be able to be played. You would not be able to tell who won the point. It is like tennis without a net, impossible to play a fair game.


What is a netball in tennis?

When the ball goes into the net. After that it stops. The person that hit the ball into the net looses the point.


Are you allowed to touch the net in badminton?

No, touching the net is an instant loss of the point.


What is a let in table tennis?

Taking the point over after a net serve or stopping the point due to disturbaces


Can you hit the net with your racket in badminton?

no, if you touch the net or go over the net with your racket, its automatically your oppent's point.


How can you lose a point in tennis?

You can lose a point in tennis for various things. Here are a few ways:You hit the ball into the netYou hit the ball outYou fail to return the ball over the netYou fail to get your serve in on your first or second serveYour opponent hits a winnerIf you yell at your opponent using nasty phrases or words (resulting in a point penalty deduction)If you yell at any of the line judges or ball boys (resulting in a point penalty deduction)


In volleyball are you allowed to touch the net to hit the ball?

no you are not aloud to touch the net at all in volley ball even if you fall into the net the point is awarded to the other team this can be judged by the umpire in the game, the ball is aloud to touch the net and go over but no person is aloud to touch the net or even put tthere hands over the net to block the ball.