answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

no

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-07 03:56:16
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you square to bunt and do not attrmpt to bunt it on a ball out of the strike zone is it considered a strike?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Is it a ball or a strike if a batter holds the bat over the plate and the ball is outside the strike zone?

If the bat is over the plate it is indeed a strike. It is considered an attempt to hit the ball and it does not matter where thepitch is in relation to the strike zone. Ball


Is it considered a strike or a ball if a throw by the pitcher bounces before the catcher has it but still passes through the strike zone?

A dropped third strike is a "special case". When a 3rd strike is dropped, the batter becomes a "runner". If the ball bounced as you described and it was a 3rd strike, it will be treated as a hit. Any pitched ball that hits in front of the plate is considered a ball unless, of course, the batter swings at it.


If a batter makes contact with a pitch but makes an out is the pitch considered a ball or strike as far as the pitch count is considered?

I think you're asking, "if the pitcher throws a ball that is waaaay out of the strike zone, but the batter swings at it anyway, does it count as a strike?" The answer is YES - if it were a foul ball it would count as a strike, so why should it be any different if it is put into play?


In little league baseball is a foul ball considered a strike?

yes


A foul ball is considered a?

A foul ball in a two strike count is nothing it count as a strike for the pitcher count but the count will stay the same and no out. In the case of a one strike count or a zero strike count, the fould ball is counted as a strike and the count will be a 1 strike difference. EX: 0 strikes turn into 1 strike 1 strike turn into 2 strikes 2 strikes stay at 2 strikes


What is a foul ball considered in softball?

A foul ball is considered a strike in softball if you catch it its an out. but if it bounces of a fence an you catch it its not an out. If it bounces of an that would have been the third stike then its an out


In major league baseball is a foul ball considered a strike?

Unless the foul occurs on the second strike, in which nothing is called then yes.


Does the catcher have to catch the third strike in his glove to not be considered a passed ball Example ball hits the catcher in the chest rolls down but traps it and does not hits the ground?

You situation has nothing to do with passed balls. You are talking about the "uncaught third strike". And no, as long as the ball does not hit the ground it is considered caught. If the batter traps the ball and he gets it before it hits the ground, he caught it. Bobbling the ball and catching it is an out.


If a hitter motions for a bunt and doesnt make contact and the pitch is a ball is the batter charged with a strike or ball?

if the batter doesnt pulll back the bat its considered a strike It depends If the bat passes the front of the plate then it is a strike If the bat stays behind the plate it is the ball It is determined the same way that a held swing is


What happens if a batter puts his hand in the strike zone and gets hit by the ball?

This will be considered a strike. The player was on the plate or in the way of the plate.


On a third strike is aball which is caught as it bounces out?

If the ball touches the ground even before the catcher catches it the batter/runner may attempt to advance to first if there are less than 2 out and first is not occupied or if there are 2 out and first is occupied. The catcher does not have to catch the ball on a third a strike for it the be considered a strike out. This includes a ball which bounces to the catcher because the strike zone is over the plate not where it is caught.


Is a tipped ball an out if the catcher catches it?

Only if it's the third strike. A ball tipped by the bat but caught by the catcher without hitting the ground is ALWAYS considered a strike, thus eliminating any controversy on whether the batter actually tipped the ball or not.


What are the balls in baseball?

A ball in base ball is a ball outside of the strike zone. The strike zone is from mid-chest to knees and over home plate. Any ball inside the strike zone is a strike.


If a ball bounces off the dirt and into the strike zone is it considered a strike or a ball?

A called strike cannot hit the ground and then go thru the strike zone. Baseball rule section 2.00 Definitions of Terms: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.


If you swing and miss the ball but the ball hits you is it a strike or hit by a pitch?

The batter would be charged with a strike.


If the batter swings and misses the third strike but the ball hits the ground first and the catcher catches it cleanly is it still an out?

it is considered a dropped third strike. the batter must be tagged or thrown out, same as if the catcher had dropped the ball. -LM, umpire


What is the strike zone in fastpitch softball?

The strike zone is from the armpits to the knees tall. If any part of the ball crosses the plate it is considered a strike. Of course, umpire are supposed to try to stay within these parameters, but each umpire's strike zone varies.


If a ball comes to the batter and it's a good ball and it's not swung at is that consided a strike out?

If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."


If a hitter gets a hit is it scored a ball or a strike?

For the pitcher's ball/strike pitch numbers, it is counted as a strike.


What is a foul ball in baseball?

When a batter hits a ball but it goes outside the white lines (these line up with 3rd and 1st base)it is called a "foul ball" and it counts as a strike. However if the batter already has 2 strikes it does not count as anything because you can not "strike out" on a foul ball. You cannot have a foul ball on a bunt attempt if you have two strikes, however, as that is considered an out.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If the batter attempts to hit the ball and misses, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball enters the strike zone, it is a strike. If the batter does not attempt to hit the ball and the ball does not enter the strike zone, it is a ball (unless it hits the batter, then the batter is awarded 1st base).


What is a bunted ball?

A "bunt" is a ball batted into the infield by the batter while holding the bat sideways between his hands. This is a deliberately short hit that is designed to advance a runner and not gain first base for the batter. A bunted ball that rolls foul is considered a strike, even if it is the third strike.


If you hit the ball outside of the foul lines what is the ball called and what happens?

The ball is considered foul. The play results in a strike against the batter, unless he already has two strikes in which case no strikes are added.


If a pitcher throws the ball to the the batter and he doesn't hit it?

If he swings at the ball and doesn't hit it, it is called a strike. There is a spot in front of the batter called the strike zone. It's a little square area that is as wide as home plate, and stretches from the batter's knees to the letters on his jersey. If the ball lands in this area and the batter doesn't swing, it's called a strike. Any other place would be called a ball.


If a ball hits the dirt then the batter What is the call?

There is alot of answers to this questions. If the batter is inside the batters box then it is a foul ball even if the ball hit fair territroy first. If the batter is outside the batter's box then the batter is called out. But if the batter is bunting with a 2 strike count and touches the ball inside the batter's box, then he is out because it is considered to be a fould ball and a two strike foul ball bunt is an out. Also if the batter bunts with a one strike count or less and touches the ball inside the batter's box then it is a fould ball but again if he touched the ball after bunting the ball outside the batter's box then it is an out.