answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

You can step on the base for the out ... you can touch the bag with the hand that has the ball ... or this is my fave ... you can make a phantom tag ... that's when you close enough to the bag (with out making contact with the bag) to make the out ... the umpire will call the runner out ...

Improvement:

If you have the ball in your clear possession (in the glove, or your free hand) then the force out is in effect when any part of your body touches the bag before the running, whether it is foot, knee, either hand, or suppose any other body part you would use to tag a base --- the :phantom tag" mentioned above -- that is an umpire error and should not officially be an out

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you have the ball in your hand do you have to touch the base with your foot or the hand with the ball in for a force out at first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

In baseball if you hit the ball and you are running to first base and the pitcher puts the ball on any other base besides first base are you out'?

No, they have to touch first base.


Can a first basemen interfere with a runner if play is at first base?

There are two situations when a baseman can tag the base for an out.The first is the force out. A force out happens when a baseman tags the base of the only possible location for the runner. For example, if a batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman, the first baseman only needs to tag first base because it is the runner's only possible destination. Also, if there was a runner on first base and a ground ball was hit, there would be a force out at both second and first base because they runner on first base would be forced to progress one base. With a man on first and second base, you can force at first, second and third, and with the bases loaded, there is a force at every base. If there is a runner on second and/or third, but not first, the runners are not required to progress one base, so there is only a force at first.The second is on the fly ball. If a fly ball is caught, a base runner must touch the base again ("tag up") before moving on to the next base. If they do not tag up after the ball is caught, the baseman at the base from which they left can tag that base for the out. For example, if there is a runner on first base and the batter hits a fly ball, and that ball is caught, the runner must touch the base after the ball is caught before he can leave for the next base. If he doesn't touch the base after the ball is caught, the baseman only need tag the base while holding the ball for the out.


It requires a fielder in possession of the ball touch the ball to the base?

You can touch the base with the ball if you want to. Any part of the fielder's body can touch a base as long as he has possession of the ball.


If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.


Are you safe or out if you touch first the same time the ball is caught?

You are out: MLB official rules state that the runner must touch the base before the ball is caught.


In baseball if a ball is hit to first base and the first baseman grabs the ball in one hand and then touches the base with his glove on the hand that does not hold the ball is the runner out?

YES! Because it is a FORCE out and not a TAGGED out.


What is required for the fielder to tag the base only?

When a batted ball is put into play there is always a force out (all they have to do is touch the base) at 1st base. To have a force out at any other base, all the bases behind it must be occupied.. i.e runner on 1st and 2nd, you would have a force out at 1st, 2nd, 3rd --- runners on 1st and 3rd.. you only have a force out at 2nd and 1st, there is no force at home since nobody was on 2nd -- Also on a caught fly ball if the runner doesnt "tag up" then it is always a force out by touching the base he was on when the ball was hit -- i.e runner on 2nd base, batter hits fly ball caught by 2nd basemen.. if the runner was running, the 2nd basemen can just touch 2nd with the ball and the runner would be out --- In a situation where the defense is doing an appeal, that is also a force out


What happens if a batter hits a ball that hits first base before the batter gets there?

Should a batted ball hit any base, the ball is considered fair and live and the play continues. It is still up to the defense to field the ball and touch first base before the batter does to record an out.


If a batter hits a fair ball and fails to touch first base are the base runners ahead of her allowed to score?

Yeah they can. They can only stay put if the ball is caught as a fly.


What is in-field play in softball?

Well for example: If a runner is on first and second, and the batter hits the ball, the force play is at third base because the lead runner is forced to run to third due to the runners behind him/her.


Can you hold the ball in bare hand and touch base with ball for an out?

Yes.


If a ball lands foul and roles in bounds is it foul?

If the ball lands foul past first or third base the ball is foul regardless of where it rolls. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls fair before first/third base, the ball is fair. If the ball lands foul before first/third base and rolls foul past first/third base, the ball is foul. If the ball is touched while it is in foul territory before reaching first or third base it is considered foul and vise versa if it is touched in fair territory. Otherwise whether it is fair or foul is determined by where the ball stops. ** if the ball hits any part of 1st or 3rd base it is a fair ball