Best Answer

That would be a force out (the same as if the ball had been hit to an infielder) and the batter would not be credited with a base hit.

Yep, scored Fielder's Choice 8-6 or 8-4

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

None, because none of the runners are forced to go. so therefore the person who has the ball has to tag the runner in order to get them out. But if you tag 1st their still out.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

1st base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If you have runners on 2nd and 3rd base what base do you have force play on?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What happens if the third basemen steps onto the base with the ball rather than tagging runners who avoided colliding with him and touched the base where Runner from 2nd base which is NOT a force play?

It is ruled a stolen base

What does force third base mean in softball?

force to 3rd base means that when there are runners on 1st and 2nd and they are being forced to run to the next base ( in this case 2nd would be forced to 3rd) and all you have to do is step on the base, not having to tag the runner. this can also happen with a force to 2nd.

What is required for the fielder to tag the base only?

When a batted ball is put into play there is always a force out (all they have to do is touch the base) at 1st base. To have a force out at any other base, all the bases behind it must be occupied.. i.e runner on 1st and 2nd, you would have a force out at 1st, 2nd, 3rd --- runners on 1st and 3rd.. you only have a force out at 2nd and 1st, there is no force at home since nobody was on 2nd -- Also on a caught fly ball if the runner doesnt "tag up" then it is always a force out by touching the base he was on when the ball was hit -- i.e runner on 2nd base, batter hits fly ball caught by 2nd basemen.. if the runner was running, the 2nd basemen can just touch 2nd with the ball and the runner would be out --- In a situation where the defense is doing an appeal, that is also a force out

Is it still a force play at second base if the batter reaches first base before the force play is made at second base?

Yes it would still be a force play at 2nd base, since the runner going from 1st to 2nd is required to advance (since the runner going to first, has not been put out yet)

When is a force play in effect?

A force play is in effect when a runner or runners are on base so that a fielder has to step on a base in order to record an out of the runner in question. Here's an example with the Cleveland Indians. Say Grady Sizemonre is on 1st base and Hafner is batting. If Hafner hits a ground ball to an infielder then they can force Sizemore out at 2nd base. A runner is forced to advance because the batter becomes a batter-runner. The runner may be tagged or the next base can be tagged by a fielder.

If the base runner gets hit with the grounded ball do the remaining base runners remain where they are?

The base runner is out that got hit with the ball as long as he is in fair territory. At this point the ball is considered dead and the runners would go to the base they should be at. Example: Runners at 1st and 2nd. Guy on 2nd running toward 3rd after ball is hit, he is hit. He is out. Runner at 1st is awarded 2nd, batter is awarded 1st and the ball is dead.

What is a triple unassisted play?

It is when a player on the team playing on defense gets three players out in one play... An example of this is when there are runners on first and second base and they both attempt to steal, as they are stealing the hitter hits a line drive to the shortstop who is covering 2nd base and he catches the ball, which is one out, steps on 2nd base, which is two outs, and either tags the runner running to 2nd base or throws him out at first, which is three outs.

Largest air force base?

Wright Patterson Air Force base is the largest air force base in America. Edwards Air Force base is the 2nd largest base in America.

Runner on second and third were is play made?

you could check the runners at 2nd and 3rd, and then throw to first base. Once that is done, throw it home to prevent the runner on 3rd to go home.

Balk at first base?

If a runner is on first, and the pitcher balks, he is awarded 2nd base. The balk rule was instituted to keep pitchers from deceiving the runners.

What is in-field play in softball?

Well for example: If a runner is on first and second, and the batter hits the ball, the force play is at third base because the lead runner is forced to run to third due to the runners behind him/her.

Who turned the 14th unassisted triple play in baseball history on May 12 2008?

The quick explanation: with runners on first and second running, a line drive is caught at 2nd base. The runner on second was out by "bag-tagging" as he headed to 3rd; the runner on 1st was tagged out rounding 2nd base. The specific explanation: Cleveland's 2nd baseman Asdrubal Cabrera made a diving grab of a Toronto's Lyle Overbay line-drive, with the runners on first and second going. Cabrera then touches 2nd to get Kevin Mench running from 2nd to 3rd...and finally tags Marco Scaturo running from 1st to 2nd to turn out #3.