answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Throw the ball back to the pitcher. A batter can not advance on a dropped third if first base is occupied.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-03 18:31:59
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If there are no outs and bases are loaded on a drop third strike. What should the catcher do?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Can a batter advance on strike 3 when bases are loaded?

Yes, if the catcher drops the ball


On a dropped 3rd strike with the bases loaded can the catcher simply step on home plate or does he have to either tag the runner or throw to first base?

The batter is automatically out if there are fewer than two outs. If there are two outs, the catcher has to complete the play, but he can simply step on home for the force out.


With 2 outs and bases loaded batter swings at strike three catcher misses ball what is the call?

Its a live ball if the ball goes back to the backstop he can throw to first or if he blocks the ball he can step on home and get the runner out on third.


Bases loaded batter hits a ball and gets out on 1st 1st baseman throws it to home does the catcher have to tag?

absolutely. did this the other day.


If bases are loaded and batters swings and misses where do the runners go?

The runners stay on base unless: if it's strike 3, out 3, the inning is over and runners leave the field and switch to defense as long as the game isn't over; if it's a wild pitch and not strike 3, out 3, the runners can advance at their own risk; if it's strike 3 and not out 3 and the catcher fails to catch the ball, all runners (including the batter) can run to the next base


What must the softball catcher know in each play?

The catcher must know which bases are loaded, and where the next play will be. They have important role, because they're the only person in the infield that can see all of the bases. They must know where the lead runner is so they can make sure she doesnt get home.


Does the catcher have to tag the runner coming home if bases are loaded and batter hits ground ball to third baseman who tags third before throwing home?

yes


What are the ways that Branch Rickey said you could score from third base to home with less than two outs?

I can think of 12 ways (I answered this question for someone else and onyl thought of ten): Base hit Wild pitch Passed ball Sacrifice fly Squeeze bunt Fielder's choice Ground out by batter Balk by pitcher Batter walked with bases loaded Batter hit by pitch with bases loaded Error on fielder Steal of home What about interference by the catcher on a pitched ball with the bases loaded? Would not the batter be awarded first base, thus forcing the run home from third? Answer We came up with 18: 1. Hit 2. Error 3. Passed Ball 4. Wild Pitch 5. Balk 6. Catcher's Interference 7. Sac Fly 8. Bunt 9. Bases Loaded Walk 10. Bases Loaded HBP 11. Wild pick off throw 12. Wild throw from catcher back to pitcher 13. Steal of home 14. Fielder Interference (Cecile, not Prince) 15. Fan Interference 16. Muffed Infield Fly 17. Fielder's Choice 18. Catcher's Balk


If the bases are loaded with 1 out does ever body have to run?

Yes, because the bases are loaded!


How many outs before a baseball team switches sides?

After three outs half of the inning is over and the teams switch sides. Well, that's true most of the time. However, if the catcher drops the ball on the third strike of the last out in an inning, the batter may attempt to steal first, and must be thrown or tagged out by the catcher (or the catcher can touch home base for the force-out in a bases loaded situation). So it is possible for a "side" to have four or more outs before the side is retired. This happens with a fair bit of regularity. It could be more than four if the final strike for the fourth out is also dropped by the catcher, and the runner safely gets to first. I don't know if this particular situation has ever come to pass in a MLB game.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


What is the rule in girl's softball on a dropped third strike with the bases loaded?

If less than 2 outs the batter would be out because 1st base is occupied. If 2 outs then the batter and runners can advance. The catcher or fielder must make the out by retrieving the dropped ball at which point they can tag home, tag the batter or throw the ball to first to make the put out.


Does a walk after a strikeout passed ball with bases loaded count as earned run?

The question is confusing, but I'll try to answer it. If a pitcher strikes out a batter but the ball gets past the catcher, both the batter and all base runners may attempt to advance to the next base. The batter must advance to first, thus he put out on a force play at first. All other base runners who must advance on this play (ie, someone on first, or those on first and second) can also be forced out at the base they must advance to. Thus, if the bases are loaded on such a play, all runners must advance, and the runner on third could also be forced out at home. It's because of this fact, that the batter may ONLY advance to first after a dropped third strike when there are no runner force outs possible OR there are two outs. Otherwise, a catcher would "accidentally" drop the ball on a third strike in order to get a double play. Thus, if the bases are loaded and there is a passed ball on a third strike, the batter is out UNLESS there are already two outs. In that latter case, all runners must advance to the next base. A force-out at any base -- including home -- would end the inning with no runs. If the batter and all runners reach base safely (ie, the runner on third comes home), that would be an UNearned run because a runner scored on a passed ball. It would be unearned if the runner on third scored on a passed ball after a third strike or not -- runs are unearned if they result from the play of a fielder instead of the pitcher. One last thing -- if a fielder's play SHOULD have resulted in a third out, but doesn't, then ALL subsequent runs in that inning are unearned. In the batter gets to first on a passed ball on a third strike that should have been the third out, and the next batter gets a home run, then both runs are unearned. If the bizarre scenario I noted above -- dropped third strike on a passed ball with bases loaded with everyone safe (which MUST happen with two outs) -- occurred, and the next batter walked (also with bases loaded) thus getting another run, then that second run would also be unearned.


What does loaded bases in softball mean?

bases loaded means that there is a runner on 1st base, a runner on 2nd base, and a runner on 3rd base, all of the bases.


Do you get an RBI on a bases loaded walk?

Yes, the batter that walks in a run due to the bases being loaded will receive credit for a RBI.


Why did they call baseball baseball?

It was probably because of the loaded bases. Baseball is the only important sport with bases loaded and running to and away from the bases. Also, the ball is called the baseball.


Does a runner score from third base if bases are loaded and there is a catcher interference call?

Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.


If bases are loaded and the pitcher throws a wild pitch in retreiving the wild pitch the catcher catches the ball with his mask are the base runners automatically awarded 2 bases?

Any play on a ball with a hat, mask, throwing the glove, or using your jersey intentionally to field a ball shall be rewarded as 3 bases and it is a live ball -- so in your scenario.. all 3 runs would score, and the catcher could face an ejection the catcher picking the ball up with is mask is considered a balk and all the runners Will advance one (1) base


What does it mean when the bases are loaded in baseball?

3 base runners on 3 bases


Bases loaded I get walked Is that an RBI?

Yes


Should you cover 2nd base if the bases are loaded?

Depends, If the game is almost over, and its a close came, then you should play infield in. However, if its early in the game, you should play your regular position.


How many runs should be scored when there are bases loaded 2 outs and the batter hits a grandslam home run but while running the bases passes the runner ahead of him between second and third?

Zero


Bases are loaded ground ball to third the throw goes home for a force out the catcher throws back to third base is it a force or a tag play?

It is a force in the same way first base is forced after an out at second. This play, in reality, would probably never happen, as the catcher would usually just throw it to first to ensure two outs on the play.


What is a home run with the bases loaded?

grand slam


What is a home run with bases loaded?

Grand Slam