answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

I dont want to be mean but, THE RELIEVING PITCHER!!!!

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-06 20:20:12
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the starting pitcher is relieved in the 3rd inning and his team is ahead at that time who gets the win the starting pitcher or the reliever?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

When calculating a pitcher's ERA and the pitcher is relieved before the inning is over do you credit a full inning pitched for the ERA stat or how do you divide the inning up?

The pitcher is credited with a fraction that represents how many outs there were in the inning when they are relieved. If the pitcher is relieved is one out, they are credited woth 1/3 (one-third) of an inning. If the pitcher is relieved with two outs, they are credited with 2/3 (two-thirds) of an inning. A pitcher who starts the game and is relieved with one out in the seventh inning is credited with 6 1/3 innings pitched ... if relieved with two outs in the seventh inning is credited with 6 2/3 innings pitched. ... if relieved with no outs in the seventh inning is credited with 6 innings pitched.


If your team goes ahead in the top of the inning and a new pitcher goes in in the bottom of the inning - which pitcher gets the win - the starting pitcher or the 2nd pitcher?

The pitcher who got the last out in the previous bottom of that inning. In other word, that pitcher can be credited with the win by making only one pitch. If I'm called in as a reliever and get a ground out to end the inning and then my team goes ahead in the top of the next inning, I would be the winning pitcher. Even if i only threw one pitch.


Starting pitcher finishes 7 inning game tied visitors go ahead in 8th inning new pitcher starts the 8th inning who gets the win?

The starting pitcher.


If a starting pitcher throws 3 innings in a seven inning game and no reliever throws more than 3 innings who gets the win?

The winning pitcher is determined by the official scorer, if the starting pitcher's team is in the lead and never gives up the lead for the remainder of the game. If not, the winning pitcher is the pitcher of record when his team takes and keeps the lead. To be the "winning pitcher", the starting pitcher must pitch five complete innings in a game that is scheduled for six or more innings.


Is a pitcher who doesnt get an out in the first inning and is pulled from the game is he still considered the starting pitcher?

A pitcher who doesn't get an out in the 1st inning and who is pulled from the game is still considering the starting pitcher. He will be listed this way on the team spreadsheet and roster.


Nickname for a Major League Baseball pitcher?

Randy Johnson - The big Unit The nicknames of a baseball pitcher are as follows; hurler, fireballer ( a good fastball pitcher), starter ( usually only starts games) ace ( your best starting pitcher), reliever ( takes over in later innings for a starter), setup man ( 8th inning guy who sets up for the 9th inning) closer ( comes in usually only for the 9th inning to close out a game) middle reliever, southpaw ( a left handed pitcher), lefty, righty, some one who is "on the bump" is a pitcher and it refers to the pitcher's mound, Knuckleballer ( a pitcher who usually only throws a slow, hard to hit knuckleball), specialist ( usually refers to a left handed pitcher that only pitches to left handed batters). That's all I can think of right now.


Who gets the win if 3 pitchers each throw 2 innings and the 4Th pitcher throws 1 inning in a 7 inning game?

According to the rules in Major League Baseball, in the event of the home team winning and keeping the lead but the Starting Pitcher only lasting 2 innings and then the second pitcher lasts two innings to make it through the 4th inning and then the third Pitcher lasts two innings to make it through the 6th inning then it would be up to the home team's Official Scorer to determine which of the Relievers had pitched the best and that reliever would be awarded the Win.


What determines the winning pitcher in a MLB game?

In almost all cases, the starting pitcher has to last at least five innings and his team must a) be in the lead before a reliever throws a pitch, and b) maintain the lead for the rest of the game. For a reliever to get a win, it's the same minus the five-inning provision. Losses are different, since that is based on the runs for which the pitcher is "responsible" -- ones that reached base against him while he was in the game. As for the save, the pitcher must finish a game that the team wins and meet conditions, most pertaining to how close the margin is when he enters the game, outlined in the rule.


How many inning does a starting pitcher in High school softball need to pitch to earn a win?

Four


What is MLB season record for fewest walks per inning allowed by starting pitcher?

cliff lee


How do you determine the winning pitcher when the starting pitcher leaves before completing the 5th inning?

The win goes to the relief pitcher (assuming there was more than one relief pitcher) whom the official scorer feels was most instrumental in the victory. That relief pitcher must pitch at least 1 full inning, or pitch a crucial out if he pitches less than one inning.


In baseball what is the pattern the infield uses to the throw the baseball prior to starting the inning?

Second to Third to First to Pitcher

People also asked