answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Official rule book section 7.08 (f) Any runner is out when he is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runners may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. The only exception is, if a runner is touching his base when touched by an infield fly, he is not out. This is to protect the runner from being doubled off. However if the runner leaves his base during a infield fly situation and is touched by the ball, both he and the batter are out.

In the above situation the call would be, runner on second base called out. Ball is dead and the batter is credited with a hit, forcing the runner on first to second and the runner at third holds his position. Base loaded and two outs., this is assuming that the runner on 2nd base was in front of the infield.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2011-05-05 16:29:20
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If the bases are loaded with one out and a batted ball hits a runner on second what is the call?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

Does the run count if when bases loaded the runner crosses the plat before runner is forced out at second base?

no


What does loaded bases in softball mean?

bases loaded means that there is a runner on 1st base, a runner on 2nd base, and a runner on 3rd base, all of the bases.


Does the runner on second have to run to third base when the batter hits the ball?

The runner only has to run if there is another runner behind him (bases loaded) or if there is a force at secoind base.


Bases are loaded and one out A ball is hit to the second baseman and he fields it cleanly but is hit by the runner therefore can't make a play.what is the ruling?

Runner is out.


In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.


Runner 1st and second baseball hit by batter hits runner on way to 2nd Who is out and are any bases awarded?

advancing runner struck by the batted ball is out.


If the bases are loaded and the force is at home plate are the other bases a force out or does the third baseman have to tag the runner?

Yes all the other bases are a force out. The runner going to first forces the runner at first to second. The runner at first forces the runner at second to third. The runner at second forces the runner at third to home. You only have to tag the runner when a runner that was "forcing" you (from a previous base) is out. In the scenario you have mentioned the only time the third baseman would have had to tag the runner from second to third would be if the initial force out was behind the runner at either at first or second (the putout thus not forcing the runner from second to third, which would now require a tag. If the initial force out was at first or second, the runner on second would have the choice of going to third or retreating to second, and not "forced" to run. Since the initial force out was at home, the runner from second to third is still being "forced" to run by the runners behind him. Make sense?


With the bases loaded and 2 outs a batter hits a slow roller to third base the runner from second gets in a rundown and before he is tagged out the runner from third scores is the run good?

yes!


How many runs should be scored when there are bases loaded 2 outs and the batter hits a grandslam home run but while running the bases passes the runner ahead of him between second and third?

Zero


What does closed bases mean in youth baseball?

Not only in youth baseball but in all levels of baseball, a closed base means that the next base that a base runner needs to get to has a runner already on the bag. E.G.: There's a runner on first and second, so a ground ball will force a throw from second base to first base considering that those bases are "closed" with base runners. In a bases loaded situation, all bases are "closed" because all bases have a base runner and the batter is considered on home plate.


What is a Grand Slam in baseball?

Good qustion Jeppe. a grand slam is when the bases are loaded ( a runner is on First, Second, and third) and the batter/hitter hits a home run.


Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out


If a relief pitcher comes in with the bases loaded and gets a force out at second does the runner that is now on first get charged to the previous pitcher since his runner was forced out by choice?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.


With bases loaded no outs hitter hits a shallow base hit to center field ball gets by fielder how many Run batted in is he credited with?

It would be up to the judgment of the official scorer. The batter would certainly get at least one RBI, but if the official scorer decides that the runner on second was already going to try to score before noticing the error, the batter may be credited with a second RBI.


Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


Softball Bases loaded 2 outs hitter lines a ball and hits the runner on 3rd while runner is still standing on 3rd in fair territory is he out or safe dead ball?

The runner is out he/she would have to be in foul territory and on the bag.


Bases loaded 1 out Batter hits fly ball which is caught-2nd out Runner from 3rd scores Runner from 2nd fails to tag. Outfielder throws to 2nd before runner tags up Does the run count?

yes


In baseball can a runner be tagged out for not touching a base when a walk is issued bases loaded batter walks runner at second failed to touch third was called out by umpire?

If you skip a base, regardless of walk, hit, or steal you will be called out if you are caught. i.e. going from 1st to 3rdnd without tagging (physically touching) 2


What happens when a player lead off a base in little league when bases are loaded and the batter gets a single?

the runner who left the base early is called out.


Bases loaded the batter walks the runner on third does not touch home can he be called out?

Yes. He can be called out because he will be outside of the line and he can be called out.


Bases loaded one out fly ball to outfield is caught runner on third tages and scores the runner on second leaves earliy the defencive team appeals and umpire calls the runner out does the run score?

The runner from 2nd is only out when the defensive team tags 2nd base, not when the infraction occurs. So the run will count unless the defensive team had tagged 2nd base before the run crossed the plate.


If you have bases loaded and 2 outs and the batter hits the ball to the outfield and the man on 3 scores but the outfielder forces a runner out does the run count?

no


Does a runner score from third base if bases are loaded and there is a catcher interference call?

Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.


What happens if with bases loaded with 2 outs the runner from first is caught in a run down instead of forced out do the runs score?

yes as long as the runner(s) touched home before the tag on the person on first


Bases loaded 1 out ball is hit to firstbaseman who tags runner and throws home is it a force at home still and can runners revert?

By tagging a trailing runner, the force has been removed, so there is no force at home.