answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Receiving team. Same as a catch. You must have possession before its your ball.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-01-10 20:20:37
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides

๐Ÿ““
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If receiving team touches ball on punt and does not have possession then kicking team touches ball before going out of bounds but does not gain possession which team gets the ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If the kicking team touches a punt ball before the receiving team can the receiving team take possession of the ball without risking a turnover?

Yes. The ball is downed and turned over to the receiving team wherever the kicking team touches it.


When kicking off the ball touches the receiving team player then bounces to the ground and is then touched before going out of bounds by the kicking team who gets the ball?

the receiving team


Can the kicking team recover a kicked ball?

Yes but only if the ball is fumbled by the other team (the runner loses possession while running or touches the football but does not catch it). The kicking team cannot recover a kicked ball if the receiving team has not touched it/fumbled. If the kicking team does touch it before the receiving team does, it is considered a dead ball and the receiving team's offense will start wherever the ball was stopped.


If the receiving team touches the ball before it goes ten yards and the kicking team recovers the ball the ball did not go ten yards who would get the ball?

Once the receiving team touches it becomes a live ball and if the kicking team recovers it regardless how far it went they have the ball.


In football if the kicking team is kicking off in a normal formation and the receiving team does not touch it and the kicking team does touch it is it their ball?

No, the kicking team would need to gain possession of the ball. For kickoffs, the ball is considered a 'free ball' once it travels 10 yards from the spot of the kick. The ball is also considered 'free' if a member of the receiving team touches it, but does not gain full possession, before it travels 10 yards from the spot of the kick. The first team whose player gains possession of the ball is awarded the ball. Touching the ball does not signify possession ... a player must have full possession of the ball for his team to be awarded possession. A lot of 'possessions' in that last statement but that is the qualifier as to which team is awarded the ball. Touching the ball means nothing, possessing the ball means everything.


Does an onside kick have to travel 10 yards before the receiving team can catch it?

No, the receiving team may attempt to take possession at any time after the kick. It is the kicking team that must wait for the ball to travel 10 yards before they can be the first to touch it. However, should a member of the receiving team touch the ball before it travels 10 yards and fumble/muff it, the kicking team can recover the ball and take possession without penalty.


After a kickoff if it travels over 10 yards is it anyone's ball?

Yes, as long as no one on either team touches it before the 10 yards. After the ball travels ten yards during a kickoff it is a free ball. That's correct. Once the ball travels 10 yards, anyone can recover it.The receiving team can always recover after anydistance. So if an onside kick only travels 5 yards instead of the required 10 and the receiving team recovers, the receiving team would take possession of the ball at that spot.The 10-yard rule is a restriction on the kicking team only. The kickers cannot recover the ball until is has traveled 10 yards, UNLESS the receiving team touches the ball first. After the receiving team touches the ball, the kicking team can recover, regardless of how far the ball has traveled.


Does an onside kick have to go beyond ten yards?

If the kicking team wants to recover their own onside kick and be awarded possession, then yes, the ball must travel ten yards before it is touched by a player from the kicking team, UNLESS the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team. The receiving team can touch and/or recover the ball at any time. The ball ALSO has to touch the ground in addition to going 10 yards. Both those conditions must be met for the kicking team to recover the kick and maintain possession. The other way to do it is for the receiving team to touch the ball first.


Can the field goal kicking team catch the field goal attempt and run?

yes... they can its happened to me beforeNo. A scrimmage kick can only be recovered by the receiving team. It's exactly the same as a punt: If the kicking team is first to touch the ball, that constitutes an illegal touch. The only way the kicking team could maintain possession after kicking a field goal is if:The kick was no good, and the receiving team fields the ball and then loses possession.The kick was no good, and the receiving team touches the ball first within the field of play and beyond the line of scrimmage.The kick is taken on first, second, or third down, is blocked, doesn't cross the line of scrimmage, and the kicking team recovers.If a team caught its own field goal kick, the ball would be dead where the catch was made, and the opposing team would put it into play from that spot.


IF a punt is touched by a member of the receiving team and it goes out of bounds after touching a member of the kicking team whose ball is it?

Receiving team. Unless the kicking team has complete control of the ball before it goes out of bounds.


What are the rules for an onside kick?

The main rule is that the ball has to travel 10 yards downfield before it can be recovered by the kicking team prior to the opponents touching it. A kickoff is a free kick. Whoever recovers a kickoff gains possession of the ball. The ball must travel 10 yards downfield before the kicking team can touch it unless the receiving team touches it first within 10 yards. If the kickoff doesn't travel 10 yards downfield the receiving team is not obligated to attempt a return. The kick must hit the ground, in addition to travel 10 yards to give the kicking team possession of the ball if they can recover the kick. That is why onside kicks are kicked straight into the ground.


Detroit Lions 3rd quarter downing ball inside the 5yd line by Smith?

This is when the kicking team touches the ball before the receiving team, AND the ball does not go over 10 yards. This is mostly seen during onside kicks.


What is the call if the kicking team recovers the ball before ten yards?

the kicking team gets a penalty and the receiving team gets it ten yards forward from where they picked it up.


Is a punt in football a live ball?

its a live ball if a player on the return team touches it before it goes out of bounds or before it touches a player on the kicking team. if someone on the kicking team touches it, the return team's offense starts at the spot it was touched. A ball is always live when it's in play. If you're asking whether either team can recover it, the is no. The above mine correctly points out under what circumstances a kicking team could recover, and what causes the ball to go dead.


Can the kicking team on a kick off hit a man on an onside kick before the ball is touched by receiving team?

yes


Can the kicking team pass the 10 yard mark before the ball on an onside kick?

Yes. There is no rule about the kicking team passing the 10 yard mark before the ball, only that the kicking team cannot touch the ball before it travels 10 yards unless the ball is first touched by a member of the receiving team.


Can a goalkeeper score when kicking the ball from his hands if no one else touches the ball before it enters the goal?

Yes, this is allowed. However it is quite rare.


What are the rules for onside kick?

The rules for an onside kick (or any kickoff, for that matter) state that the ball must travel forward 10 yards before the kicking team may touch the ball, unless the receiving team touches it first. The receiving team may touch the ball at any time. If the kicking team recovers, they may not advance the ball. The NFL has recently implemented additional rules which make recovery of the onside kick nearly impossible: No more than five players on the kicking team may line up on one side of the ball, and the receiving team may line up just 5 yards from the ball.


What year was the kicking team no longer allowed to advance an on sides kick?

A kick off is a live ball and can be advanced wether it is an onsides or regular kick off did you know that on a regular kick off if the kicking team gets the ball before the receiving team they regain possesion and if it is in the endzone that is a touchdown To my knowledge, the kicking team has never been able to advance an onside kick. They can recover after 10 yards, of course, but they can't advance the ball after recovery. They simply take possession at the spot of the recovery.


If kicking team touches ball after it goes ten yards but before it hits the ground is there a penalty?

There is no penalty. Any touch by the kicking team is considered a "legal touch" as long as the football travels the entire ten yards, no matter if it hits the ground first or not.


How far away is the receiving team from the kicking team during an onside kick?

The receiving team must be 10 yards from the spot of the kickoff before a kick and must remain so until the ball is kicked. If they go inside of 10 yards before the ball is kicked, they are guilty of offside, which would would be 5 yards and a rekick, if the kicking team doesn't recover.


Is it a foul for the kicking team to touch an onside kick before it goes ten yards. if yes then what is the penalty and what is the foul?

Let's start with how K can gain possession of the ball during the kick. Either: 1.) R (the receiving team) needs to touch the ball before K (assuming the R player who touches the ball isn't being 'force touched' by being blocked into the ball). or 2.) The ball travels 10 yards and the ball touches the ground (it can happen in either order). If K touches the ball and neither 1.) nor 2.) has happened: - In NCAA, it is a non-flagged foul for illegal touching and R can either take the spot of the illegal touch or the result of the play. - in high school, it isn't a foul, but it is considered 'first touching' and ruled the same as the NCAA.


What structure is like a customization shop where the finishing touches are put on proteins before they are ready to leave the cell factory?

The Golgi Body is the shipping and receiving department of the cell. The Golgi is similar to the end of an assembly line, putting the finishing touches on proteins and shipping them out where they need to go.


Does an onside kick in football have to hit the ground before the kicking team can recover the ball?

No, the football has to go 10 yards before it can be recovered by the kicking team. if it goes 10 yards and is in the air the kicking team can recover it.


If a punt is fumbled on the receiving team's 2 yard line and the receiver then touches the ball again before it goes in the end zone and he falls on it in the end zone is this a safety or touch back?

a safety