answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

A pitched ball can hit the ground before crossing home-plate. In most cases the batter would not swing and the pitch would be called a ball. But, if the batter decides the swing, the ball is still in play after hitting the ground and the batter may not hit the ball and receive a strike, or he may foul the ball, or hit a base-hit.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Yes, a ball doesn't become dead just because it hits the grown before crossing the plate. If it is hit, then the ball is in play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

no, it would be a "dead ball" and play will end.

The above answer it 100% wrong.

The ball remains live, the batter may hit it or if it hits the batter, he gets first base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Yes, but if he doesn't swing at the pitch, it would be a Ball.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Yes, unless he swings at it.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago

Yes. Home plate is in fair territory.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If pitch hits ground in fastpitch baseball then hits the batter does he go to first?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

A batter over runs first base and returns in the field of play but getting tagged before he is back on base is he out?

no i dont know about in baseball, but in fastpitch softball... the batter would be out


What is a unassisted ground out in baseball?

In baseball, a ground out is an out in which a batter hits a ball on the ground and one of the Infielders catches it before it hits the ground and a ground out can also be an instance of a batter hitting a ball in which an Infielder fields a baseball and then throws to another Infielder in order to record an out as long as the batted baseball was hit on the ground.


Does a batter have to drop his bat at first base after hitting a home run?

Unless you are talking about professional baseball, yes the batter can decline to take the issued walk. Only in minor leagues such as competitive fastpitch softball can you reject this. However, it rarely happens because the batter sometimes would rather get the free base than ground out, pop out, or strike out!


Is a batter awarded first base if the ball hits the ground first in womens fast pitch softball?

If it hits the ground then hits the batter then yes. If it just hits the ground then no.


In kids' pitch is it a dead ball if it hits the ground before it hits the batter?

In regular baseball rules, the ball is still live, even if it hits the ground first, until it hits the batter, then it becomes a "dead ball". If it never hits the batter, its still a live ball.


Why is there no sacrifice ground ball in baseball?

There is no sacrifice ground ball in baseball because you don't try to sacrifice yourself to advance the runner on the ground ball. Also, on a bunt, it's hard to get the leading runner anyway, so the fielder most of the time goes for the batter at first. On a ground ball however, the fielder most of the time has an easy option for the lead runner as well as the batter.


Is a batter out if the first-baseman controls the ball on the ground before the batter reaches first?

no.Unless the first baseman is touching first base.


What do you do when you get hit by a fastpitch softball?

Go to first base.


How was the name fastpitch invented?

The name fastpitch was first brought up by how their arm circulated in speed. The movement from distance to the given object is determined by calculating the volocity of movement from one given object to the next. And in baseball the given objects would be the pitchers hand and the baseball bat at specific heights and speeds.


When a pitch hits the ground before it hits a batter does the batter get first base?

No, in that case it is a ball.


In baseball if there are two outs and a runner on third and the batter hits a ground ball and is thrown out at first does a run score if the runner got home before the batter was thrown out?

nope, as long as you get the out no runs count.


Is the batter considered Hit by a pitch that has hit the ground first?

no