answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes

User Avatar

Wiki User

2009-04-18 04:37:33
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If baseball player drops catch in out of bounds is the ball live?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Is it a catch when the receiver catches the ball gets 2 feet in has possession then hits ground out of bounds and drops ball NFL football?

Answer Yes.


What is it called when a player drops the ball?

When a football player drops the ball, it is called a fumble if he had possesion of the ball, or an incomplete pass if a receiver fails to catch the ball.


If a player is trying to catch a fly ball but drops it and catches it between his legs before it touches the ground is it a catch?

Yes.


What happens when a baseball player catches a ball and drops the glove with the ball in the glove?

The player must have control of the ball in the glove. If the glove comes off before he completes the catch, it is not an out. The glove is considered part of the fielder's hand and he must have his hand in the glove.


In baseball does the fielder have to actually catch the fly ball or just have contact with it before the runner tags up?

He needs to catch it, and if he drops it the runner doesn't need to tag up.


In baseball if the ball is popped up in foul territory but is not past first base and you go and try to catch it and then drop it is it a fair ball?

no the only way it can be a fair ball is if you go to try to catch it in foul territory and then you drop it and it drops into fair territory


A play at the plate catcher drops the ball on the base runner not the ground and put it back in their glove is it a catch or a dropped ball?

its a catch


If the catcher drops the ball on a walk is the player out?

no


In adventure quest worlds where do you find the dew drops?

After accepting the quest to find the 6 dew drops, player is dropped into faerie forest and then go to the right. The player will fight enemies and when player kills them you then collect the dew drops that the enemies had on their body.


Is it a catch when the receiver catches the ball gets 2 feet in has possession then hits ground out of bounds and drops ball?

It depends on the level of play. In Highschool: Yes as long as he had possession and 1 foot in bounds, it's a catch. In NCAA and NFL: There is a concept of the 'process of the catch', which basically means that if a player catches a ball and lands inbounds and immediately goes out of bounds (without making some sort of football action), then he must maintain possession of the ball through the whole process of the catch (which includes landing on the ground and even movement on the ground for a few seconds). If you really want to see how difficult this 'process of the catch' is, consider the following scenarios: An offensive player (Team "A") catches the ball mid-air. A defensive player (Team "B") hits the player while he is still in the air air. The Team A player lands on the ground (two feet), then falls and hits his knees on the ground and while landing on his back, and still struggling with the Team B player: 1.) Team B player pops the ball out of the hands of the Team A player, and the ball hits the ground. 2.) Team B player rips the ball out of the hands of the Team A player, and gains possession a split second before both their backs are on the ground. What do you think will happen? 1.) Although the moment the Team "A" player's knees are on the ground, giving him possession of the ball, he doesn't "complete the process of the catch", so it is an incomplete pass. 2.) Because the 'process of the catch' is complete, the ball is dead where it is... HOWEVER, since the Team A player had possession when his knees hit the ground, he retains possession. So the 'process of the catch' seems a bit weird and may end up changing. In my scenario, it is better for a defender to knock a ball loose instead of taking possession himself, which is backwards to all other types of play. So this question is a good one, but is a lot deeper than most people realize. (For the record, I'm an NCAA deep wing official that verified the ruling above with multiple Division-2 & Division-1 NCAA officials, and an NFL official).


When an offensive player drops the football that is called?

fumble


What happens if a batter drops the bat in rounders?

I'm not sure if you mean "baseball" when you say "rounders," but if you are, nothing happens if the batter drops the bat in baseball.

People also asked