answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Two bases from the base the runner occupied at the time the wild throw was made.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2010-05-28 15:19:42
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a runner is returning to a base to tag up after a fly ball and the outfielder's throw back to the base goes out of play how many bases is the runner awarded?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

Runner 1st and second baseball hit by batter hits runner on way to 2nd Who is out and are any bases awarded?

advancing runner struck by the batted ball is out.


Can a runner on second base steal 3rd base on ball four?

Yes, unless there are runners on both 1st and 2nd bases. In that case, the runner from second is awarded third - it is not stolen.


Runner going to first and ball is thrown into dugout how many bases awarded?

ONE (1)... and one (1) for every base runner ... two (2) if the ball is thrown in the stands ...


What does loaded bases in softball mean?

bases loaded means that there is a runner on 1st base, a runner on 2nd base, and a runner on 3rd base, all of the bases.


Is it a hit in softball if you hit the runner and reach 1st base safely?

If a fair batted ball touches a runner in fair territory, it's interference, the runner is Out, the batter is awarded a hit and given 1B, and all runners must return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch, unless forced to advance by the batter being awarded 1B.


Does a runner score from third base if bases are loaded and there is a catcher interference call?

Yes. The batter is awarded first base and all runners would be forced up a base allowing the runner from third to score.


What is ground rule double due to fan interference if a runner on first base has already passed second before the fan touches the ball?

The batter and each runner is awarded 2 bases from where they were at the time of the pitch.


What if a runner rounds third then retreats only to find a runner from second is now on third and he retreats to second but is tagged out what happens to the runner on third?

Lead runner has the right to the bag as long as they are not being forced ahead by occupants of other bases. If the runner on 3rd was not being forced they can return to the bag and the runner from 2nd must return to 2nd. The runner returning to second if tagged is out and unless the runner returning to 3rd is tagged while off the base then they are safe. If both runner attempt to occupy the base at the same time and fielder tags both runners while they occupy the base the runner from 2nd is out unless they are being forced ahead then the runner from 3rd is out.


What is it called when a runner gets caught between two bases?

A pickle is when a runner gets caught between two bases


Can a runner advance on a wild pitch that goes out of play in little league?

Yes, i believe they are awarded two bases. just like in the majors if the ball gets thrown into crowd.


How many bases does the hitter advance if a fielder throws wildly to first base and the ball goes out of play?

By "out of play" I presume you mean in the dugout or into the stands, in which case, the batter gets 2nd base If the ball stays in play, the batter could get as far as they can advance. Little League Rule 7.05 g 'states two bases when, with no spectators on the playing field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or into a bench, etc.' The two bases are awarded from the runner's position at the time of the throw. If the runner is running towards first base and the ball is thrown into the stands, he is awarded 2 bases (1st and 2nd) If the runner has safely reached 1st base and the shortstop throws to first because the runner rounded too far and the ball goes into the stands, it is still 2 bases, but in this case it is 2nd and 3rd as the runner already occupied first at the time of the throw.


Is a batter awarded an RBI if a runner on 3rd scores on a wild pitch or passed ball?

No, a WP or PB is similar to a fielding error. No RBI is awarded (unless the WP was ball 4 with the bases loaded, in which case the batter gets one RBI).


Bases loaded ball hits runner standing on third base What is the call?

Assuming you mean a batted ball? The answer depends on where the runner on third is standing. If the runner is standing in foul territory, it is ruled a foul ball. If the runner is touching third base or leading off in fair territory and the ball hits him, then he is ruled out and the ball is dead. It is recorded as a putout by the third baseman. The batter is awarded first base, and other runners forced to advance will do so, so the runner on first is awarded second base, and the runner on second is awarded third base. If the infield-fly rule is in effect and the ball hits the runner on third, he is safe and the batter is out, provided the runner is touching third base. A runner on third should always lead off in foul territory to avoid these situations which would rule him out.


When stealing home plate can the catcher jump in front of the plate to tag the runner?

YES the catcher is SUPPOSED to block the plate as long as he has the ball. if the batter swings and hits the catcher the runner would return to third and the batter awarded first base. If the bases were loaded the catchers interference would force the runner home.


How many bases are awarded if a relayed throw from the outfield enters dead ball area?

In this case, the runners are awarded two bases from where they were at the time of the throw.


Is a runner in softball out for running the bases in reverse or making a travesty of the game?

The ball is dead and the runner is out.


How many bases are awarded on an overthrow from the field?

0ne


Is it a hit if a runner goes for extra bases?

yup it is


Can a base runner touch another base runner?

Yes. No problem. However, a base runner can neither pass another runner nor may he assist the other runner in running the bases.


When one base runner passes another while circling the bases which runner is called out?

"Any runner who passes a proceeding runner before that runner is out, will be called out" rule 7.08. so in other words the runner that passes the other runner is out.


Does the run count if when bases loaded the runner crosses the plat before runner is forced out at second base?

no


In baseball can a runner on second run back to first while the runner on first goes to second?

NO. Base runner's must run the bases in the order they batted. If a runner overtakes another runner, he is automatically out.


Does a base runner hold 2nd and 3rd bases?

No, he stands on them.


If a fielder is in the basepath and the runner either runs into the fielder or is forced around the fielder is it interference on the fielder?

If a baserunner runs into a fielder who is in the base line, and who is not in the act of fielding a ball, the call would be OBSTRUCTION on the fielder. The baserunner would be awarded the base he was running to. The runner that has been obstructed will be awarded at least one base or as many bases that the umpire deems necessary to offset the obstruction. This is a judgment call for the umpire and cannot be protested.


Is a runner out if the ball gets to home base before them?

not unless the bases are loaded, creating a force at home for the runner on third otherwise the runner must be tagged to be put out