Best Answer

It depends. If the runner hit a home run, and missed third he would be sent back to second base. If the runner was on second base to start and missed third he would be out. However, even if the umpire sees a runner miss a base the runner is not penalized unless the opposing team appeals.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


1 card


See all cards
6 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a runner does not touch third base but touches home are they out or does the run count?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Is the runner out if he touches home plate on a fly ball without tagging up or can he retouch home and go back to third before they touch the base?

The runner may retouch home and go back to third before the ball reaches the base.

Is the Runner out if he is hit by a batted ball after it passes infielder?

The runner is out if he is hit by a batted ball if it does not touch the infielder. If it touches the infielder, he is not out.

During a bases loaded walk if the batter fails to touch first base on a base on balls does the runner on third base score?

If there are fewer than two outs, yes. If there are two outs, both the runner on third and the batter must touch their respective bases for the run to count.

On a dropped third strike with 2 outs runner on 3rd is stealing home and crosses home plate before the batter is put out does the run count?

That depends on how the batter is put out. If the batter is put out by throwing to the first baseman who touches first base before the batter does, the run will not count because the play is considered a force out. No run can score when the batter or another runner is put out by a force for the third out of an inning. However, if the batter is tagged out and the runner from third scores before the batter is tagged out, the run does count because the runner was not forced but instead tagged. Only if the batter runner is tagged out after he reaches first base (in attempt to get to 2nd base for example) does the run count. If the first baseman was pulled off the bag on the throw and was able to tag the batter runner before he reached first base, the run would not count. It is still considered a force play (NFHS Rule 2-24-1). The above answer is incorrect. MLB rule 4.09(a) states: One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning. EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases. Note the exception. No run scores when the third out is made by the batter-runner before he reaches first. Doesn't matter if it's a force or a tag on the batter-runner.

If a runner is hit with the ball by a miss throw by to the second base man is the runner out?

No. To force an out, the defensive player has to touch the runner with the ball or touch the runner with the glove while the ball is in the glove. A thrown ball touching a runner does not count.

What part of speech is the word touches?

Touches can be a noun and a verb. Noun: plural of 'touch'. Verb: Third person singular simple present tense of the verb 'touch'.

If a runner is forced to run to 2nd base and overruns does he have to be tagged to be out if 2nd baseman has the ball and touches the ball?

If the runner touches second base frist, then yes. He would the technically be on his way to third base, and no longer forced. If he has yet to touch second, then no. He would still be on his way to second and therefore "forced". He can be tagged or you could just step on second.

Does a fielder have to step on the base before making a tag out on the runner?

No, the fielder does NOT have to touch the base before tagging a runner out. The fielder only touches the base on a forced play.

With runners on second and 3rd with 1 out batter hits a fly ball to CF 3 base runner tags up second base runner leaves too soon does the run count?

the run counts if the runner on 3rd base tags up and then crosses the plate prior to the runner on 2nd base being picked off.If the player covering 2nd base fields the ball from the center fielder and tags the base for out # 3 prior to the runner on 3rd crossing the plate, the run would not count.Correction:Sorry I found the answer a bit confusing.The run would count if the throw from CF to home was not in time and the runner on third touches the plate before being tagged. However the run would not count if there is an appeal to 2nd and the runner at 2nd never comes back to touch. The run would not count in this situation. This is considered a force out and no runs count on a force out for out number 3.

Does a batter get credit with a basehit if he misses first base?

He does if he can get back and touch it in time before a fielder does. If the runner makes no attempt to return to the base and a fielder touches it and appeals, the runner is out.

Witch iPod touch has the speaker?

Second and third generation iPod touches have internal speakers.

If a player hit a home grand slam all but one player touches the plate is it still a home run?

If appealed by the defending team the player who did not touch home, his run would not count and he would be ruled out. In the even that this runner was the 3rd out of the inning -- his run wouldn't count as well as anyone who touched home after him