answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

Usually, no. But the scorer may award an RBI if, in his or her judgment, the run would have scored even had the out been made. One example might be a routine, but deep, fly ball, where the runner would have scored even if the catch had been made. I think you might be asking this question the wrong way: If a run scores BECAUSE OF an error, then you don't get an RBI. However, it's entirely plausible to get an RBI on a play in which you reach on an error, as above, or an RBI groundout in which the runner would have scored from 3rd but the batter should have been retired.

The question of whether you get the RBI is not a matter of whether the BATTER reaches via error, but whether the guy who scores, SCORES because of the error.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

8y ago

If a batter gets a hit and circles the bases because of an error it is not considered an inside the park home run. He would not get a RBI but, he would get credit for a run scored. Depending on what base he just passed when the error occured would identify what type of hit it was. E.g. A batter hits a ball down the first base line. It goes all the way to the outfield corner. When the right fielder gets to the ball the batter is rounding second and heading to third. The right fielder throws the ball in wide to the third basemen(as the batter is sliding into third)it gets by him. The batter scores. The right fielder gets an one base error and the batter geta a triple with a run scored. I !

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Hopefully this will help with this question....this is from the official major league rulebook. The official rulebook of Major League Baseball states in Rule 10.04: (a) The official scorer shall credit the batter with a run batted in for every run that scores: : (1) unaided by an error and as part of a play begun by the batter's safe hit (including the batter's home run), sacrifice bunt, sacrifice fly, infield out or fielder's choice, unless Rule 10.04(b) applies;

: (2) by reason of the batter becoming a runner with the bases full (because of a base on balls, an award of first base for being touched by a pitched ball or for interference or obstruction); or

: (3) when, before two are out, an error is made on a play on which a runner from third base ordinarily would score.

(b) The official scorer shall not credit a run batted in

: (1) when the batter grounds into a force double play or a reverse-force double play; or

: (2) when a fielder is charged with an error because the fielder muffs a throw at first base that would have completed a force double play.

(c) The official scorer's judgment must determine whether a run batted in shall be credited for a run that scores when a fielder holds the ball or throws to a wrong base. Ordinarily, if the runner keeps going, the official scorer should credit a run batted in; if the runner stops and takes off again when the runner notices the misplay, the official scorer should credit the run as scored on a fielder's choice.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Yes, she would get an RBI, but the run would be unearned to the pitcher, since the batter who scored didn't "earn" her way on base. Generally the batter is not awarded an RBI if a runner scores when the BATTER reaches on an error, if if he hits into a double play.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

He could. If in the official scorers judgement, the base runner would score if the error had not occurred, then the batter can be credited with an RBI. If the error occurs, and would have been the 3rd out of the inning, then no RBI would be recorded. If the error occurs that would have put out the base runner attempting to score, then no RBI would be credited.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No. Runs scored directly from a fielding error do not have RBIs.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

yes . man on 3rd scores when outfielder drops easy fly ball. runner would have scored even if the ball was caught.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

No.

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a hitter gets on base on an error and a run scores does the hitter get an RBI?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the first hitter gets on base because of feilding error and scores is it an unearned run?

Yes. Also, after the defense records two outs, all other runs that may score are unearned.


If one gets on base by an error and scores on a hit by another batter does that batter get a RBI?

Of course. They did Bat you in to score. How you got on base to begin with doesn't matter.


What does the abbreviation H stand for in softball?

H stands for Hit ... Hit is when the hitter is able to get a clean hit on the ball. It's when the batter-runner gets to base without an error..


If a batter reaches 1st base as the result of an error but gets thrown out trying to reach 2nd on the same play is the error negated?

The error stands as the batter reached a base safely.


Is it a force out at second base if the out at first occurs before the out at second?

No. Any base runner that gets on base and scores is charged to the pitcher that pitched to him, regardless whether the batter reached base by a force out, error, catcher's interference,etc.


In softball when a team is unable to make a safe hit during the game it called?

When a team is not able to get on base by way of a hit, the game is called a no-hitter. If a player in the field makes an error and the player is safe, it is still a no-hitter. If a not a single person gets on base from one team for the entire game, it means that the it was a perfect game for the other player.


When a player gets on base due to a fielders error is the batter charged for time at bat?

Yes, the batter would have been out if it were not for the error.


Can a Pitcher still have a perfect game if someone on his team gives up an error but the pitcher himself does not allow anyone on base?

No. The definition of a perfect game is that no one reaches base in any way for the entire game, even if that runner is thrown out on the same play. If the second baseman makes an error and allows someone to reach first base, even if the runner tries for second base and gets thrown out, the perfect game is over. It becomes a no-hitter.


If a runner gets picked off but returns to the base safely is it an error?

no because if he made it safely he is A OK


If a pitching change is made during an at-bat and the batter gets on base and later scores which pitcher is charged with the earned run?

If the batter got on base with the original pitcher and he scores of the new pitcher, the previous pitcher is charged with the earned run.


If a ball is a pop fly and the opponent catches it is the hitter out?

Yes, the hitter is out and if the fielder who caught the ball can get it to a base before the runner gets back the runner is out making it a double play


Why don't Total Runs and Total RBI match for a team?

Because there are situations when a run is scored and no one gets credit for an RBI. Some examples are: 1) Runner scores on a wild pitch, passed ball, or balk. 2) Runner scores on a double play. 3) Runner scores because of an defensive error.