Best Answer

If the ball took a bad hop and hit the fielders glove and then hit the fielder, there would not be an error and the batter would get credit for a hit. However if the fielder had the ball glance of the heel of his glove and come up and hit him in the face because he misplayed it, it should be scored as an error. To answer you question. Like any hit/error decision, this is soley up to the decision the Official Scorer makes. It is his job to determine whether the play should have been handled correctly and recorded an out, or if, the batter deserves a base hit.

** In MLB an injury will not stop the play until the play is over. i.e if an outfielder rolls an ankel going over a ball, they will not stop the play due to his injury, someone else will need to field the ball or all runners will score and then the play will end

User Avatar

Wiki User

10y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

18y ago

In this case were the ball was directly hit at the second baseman, it would be considered an error because if the ball is playable in your area and could have been made into an out and you deliberatly or accidentaly missed the ball and was unable to make the out, that is an error. A hit is when the ball is hit to a place in the feild were it is not easy to be played or near anyones area and you safely get on base.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

In the books it would be considered a hit because it wasn't a routine play. If it were hit hard directly to a player and it bounces out, that would be considered an error because was easily playable.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

This would be a hit assuming the ball was fielded and caught cleanly. If a play is so close that a 1st baseman has to stretch to make the out, then it will be a base hit if the runner is safe, even if he stretches off the base.

Now if the ball was bobbled when fielded or the throw was off and pulled the 1st baseman off the bag because of a bad throw, then the fielder would be charged an error and no basehit given, if the batter would have been out on a properly fielded or thrown ball

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a ground ball is hit to an infielder and the ball bounces off the glove and into the players upper body or face and the player is hurt and cannot make the play is it an error or a base hit?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What if a ball hits in fair territory and bounces in the air over the foul line and is touched by an infielder-is it foul?

It would depend on if the play happened within first and third base. the ball would be considered foul if it was touched in foul ground.

Who hit a grounder over the wall for a home run?

A groundball cannot be hit for a home run. If a ball is hit on the ground and bounces over the wall, it's called a ground-rule double

Devise that bounces radio waves off the ground to detect changes in elevation?

A radio altimeter bounces radio waves off the ground to detect elevation.

What do you do when you hit a ground ball towards an infielder and are running to first base?

Run as fast as you can.

What's the difference between a rally and a volley?

A rally is an exchange of shots between players, while a volley is a type of shot which involves hitting the ball before it bounces on the ground.

Whats fat round and bounces on the ground?

Ya mum

What is a unassisted ground out in baseball?

In baseball, a ground out is an out in which a batter hits a ball on the ground and one of the Infielders catches it before it hits the ground and a ground out can also be an instance of a batter hitting a ball in which an Infielder fields a baseball and then throws to another Infielder in order to record an out as long as the batted baseball was hit on the ground.

When a ball bounces back to the ground because of gravity right?

It returns to the ground because of the effect of gravity.

When a ground rule double happens does it matter if it bounces in fair then foul and out?

No. If the ball lands in fair territory and then bounces over any fence, it is ruled a ground rule double. The only exception would involve fan interference.

Why does the bouncy ball bounce higher the first time it bounces?

The ground absorbs some of the energy.

What is it called if the ball hits the warning track and bounces over the fence and why?

A Ground rule double

What is the baseball hit into the stads a fair or foul ball?

It can be either. If the ball is hit into the air and is in foul territory at any time, it counts as a foul ball if it goes into the stands. If the ball is in the air and is in fair territory when it goes into the stands, it's a home run. If the ball is in fair territory and hits the ground, then bounces into the stands in fair territory, it's a ground rule double. If the ball bounces in fair territory but then bounces into the stands in foul territory past the infield, it's also a ground rule double. If the ball bounces in fair territory, but then bounces into the stands before it passes 1st or 3rd base, it's a foul ball.