answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

yes it is a foul ball

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-03-06 00:21:48
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a fielder standing in foul territory touches a fly ball over fair territory it is a foul ball?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the player is in foul territory and drops the ball is the batter safe?

If the ball is in fair territory, the fact that the fielder is standing in foul territory does NOT make the ball foul. the same as if a ball is foul, the fielder standing in fair territory doesn't make the ball fair.


If a ball is hit between first and home and is in foul territory but is touched by a player standing in fair territory before the ball hits the ground is it fair or fowl ball?

The position of the fielder's body or feet, have absolutely nothing to do with judging whether a ball is fair or foul. The judgment is based solely upon the relationship between the BALL and the LINE at the moment the fielder touches the ball, or at the moment the ball comes to a stop, or on outfield fly balls; the moment it touches the fielder or the ground.


Is there a rule in the MLB rule book that says if a fielder touches a foul ball but does not catch it is fair?

No. The umpire calls the ball fair or foul based on where the ball is when the fielder touches it. If the ball is in foul territory when it is touched, the ball is called foul.


Is a ball fair or foul if the fielder has two feet in fair territory and catches the ball in foul territory?

Once the ball is past first or third base, the ONLY consideration is where the BALL is located -- fair or foul -- when it FIRST comes in contact with either the ground or a player. If the player is almost entirely in fair territory when he first grabs the ball, but the glove that touches the ball is in foul territory, then it's a foul ball. "If the ball touches a fielder in-flight, the judgment is made at where the ball was when it was touched, NOT from where it may land after a miss, or drop of the ball, by a fielder. The position of the fielder is irrelevant."


A runner not touching the base and a fielder touches him with a glove and ball is?

The runner is out as long as the fielder you touches has the ball in his glove


Is the batter out in every circumstance when a batted ball hits a baserunner?

No. If a fielder has a legitimate opportunity to make an attempt at the ball, but the ball passes the fielder and then touches the runner, he is not out. The rules state a runner is out when a batted ball touches him before it passes a fielder.


Is the batter out if the base runner touches the ball?

no, but the base runner is out if he is struck by a BATTED ball (but he isn't out if he touches a ball thrown by a fielder)


If the runner is tagged out then the fielder drops the ball and the runner touches the base is he out?

No


Is a runner on base permitted to advance on a fly ball as soon as the fielder touches the ball?

Yes.


If a fielder has one foot in fair territory and one in foul territory and drops a fly ball is it fair or foul?

It depends on the location of the ball, not the location of the fielder or of his feet.


If a Batter is hit by his own infield fly ball while running to base is he out?

Yes. MLB Rule 6.05(g) states that a batter is out when "His fair ball touches him before touching a fielder". If the fair ball touches the batter before it touches a fielder, the batter is called out.


In baseball if you knock a fair ball foul is it fair?

If the batter "knocks" a ball foul it's foul ...if a fielder "knocks" the ball foul while in fair territory the ball is fare... the fielder can catch the ball in foul territory for an out ...


Is it a home run if a fielder touches the ball over the fence but it falls in the field of play?

no


Is it always an error when the fielder touches the ball with his glove?

no when you are diving and that stuff is a hit if they drop it


Can a base runner get in front of a fielder on a batted ball?

Yes, but if they are in fair territory and the ball hits them they are out.


What happens if the pitcher gets hit by the batter's hit?

The ball is in play like any other batted ball and is considered fair whether or not it ricochets into foul territory after hitting the pitcher. If the ball hits the pitcher on the fly and is caught by a fielder before it touches the ground, the batter is out. If a ground ball touches a pitcher and another fielder grabs it and throws the batter out at first base, the pitcher is given an assist on the putout.


A fielder standing in fair territory reaches over the foul line and drops the ball back into fair territory does the ball remain foul because it was golng to drop foul?

No matter where the feilder is standing... foul or fair territory... the second they come into contact with the ball, its considered fair and in play. Even if it was going foul and you try to catch it and miss it, if there is any contact, the ball becomes fair.


If a ball touches a fielder and goes into the stands is it a groundrule double?

Only if it touches the ground first. It would be a home run on the fly.


How does a batter get 3 RBIs without hitting a fair ball?

Fielder knocks the ball in fair territory


Fielder throws his glove at a batted ball but does not touch the ball what's the ruling?

The ball is live and in play. There is no penalty unless the glove touches the batted ball.


If a batted ball glances off of glove and then hits runner is the runner safe or out?

The runner is not out and play goes on. Rule 7.09(k) states a runner is out when: "A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference" Since the ball touched the fielder first and then the runner, play goes on.


If a batted ball hits a runner and pops up in the air and a fielder catches the ball is the batter out also?

No...as soon as the batted ball touches the runner, the ball is dead.


Is it a foul ball if a player touches while in fair territory?

It is the position of the ball in relation to the foul line...NOT the player.


If a batted ball hits an umpire in fair territory is the ball live?

According to MLB rules, that would depend on the situation. MLB Rule 5.09(f) states that the ball becomes dead and runners advance one base, or return to their bases, without liability to be put out when "A fair ball touches a runner or an umpire on fair territory before it touches an infielder including the pitcher, or touches an umpire before it has passed an infielder other than the pitcher. Rule 5.09(f) Comment: If a fair ball touches an umpire working in the infield after it has bounded past, or over, the pitcher, it is a dead ball. If a batted ball is deflected by a fielder in fair territory and hits a runner or an umpire while still in flight and then is caught by an infielder it shall not be a catch, but the ball shall remain in play." If the ball hits the umpire first, the ball is dead. If a defensive player touches the ball and then the ball hits the umpire, the ball is live.


Is a ball fair or foul if the fielder has one foot in fair territory and one foot in foul?

The location of the fielder's body has no bearing on whether a ball is fair or foul. It is the location of the ball when it is touched by the fielder or when it goes by the base that determines whether it is fair or foul.