answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

In softball yes.. if first base is not occupied.... but it depends on Baseball and softball and what leval you play at

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-07-21 00:22:12
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter swings at a pitch in the dirt and it is the third strike and also the third out can the batter run to first base?
Write your answer...
Submit
Related questions

If a batter swings at a pitch and the pitch hits the batter is it a strike?

Yes as a matter of fact it is. If the bat swings half way past home plate then its a strike.


If a batter swings a bat at a pitch and misses the ball but is hit by the ball in the process is the batter awarded first base or is it a strike due to the swing?

Its a strike


What if pitcher hits batter?

If the pitcher hits the batter on a pitch then the batter is awarded first base. However if the batter swings at the ball and it hits her then it is a strike


If the batter attempts to hit the ball but the pitch hits her does she get the base?

No. If the batter swings at the pitch and is struck by the pitch, it is called a strike. A batter may not take first base when struck by any pitch that is called a strike. This also includes those pitches that the batter does not swing at. If the batter leans over the plate and is struck by a pitch that the umpire calls a strike, the batter does not get to go to first base.


If a batter steps on home plate to avoid being hit by a pitch is the pitch a strike?

If the pitch passes through the strike zone, or if the batter swings at the pitch and misses, it's a Strike. Otherwise it's a Ball. It has nothing to do with where the batter is standing.


If the batter swings and the ball hits his hand?

If the batter swings and the ball hits anywhere but the bat the pitch is called a strike. Even if it hits the person batting, while swinging, but if he is bunting and gets hit it is not a strike There is no rule that states that if a batter is attempting to bunt and a pitched ball hits him that the pitch is anything but a strike. In short, if a batter is hit during any type of swing, the pitch is ruled a strike.


When the batter swings at a pitch and miss it?

It is a strike. 3 strikes and you're out.


When does a strike in softball occur?

if the batter swings and misses or if the pitch is between the chest and kness


Can a pitch that lands on home plate be a strike?

If the batter swings or makes an attempt at a bunt then yes.


What happens when a batter gets hit by a pitch?

the batter advances to first base


What is the difference between balls and strikes?

A "strike" can be earned by a batter in one of a few ways. First, any time a batter swings at a ball and misses, regardless of the location of the pitch, a strike is earned. Second, a strike is earned when a foul ball is hit - unless the foul ball is hit with two strikes have already been earned. In this case, the pitch is simply a foul ball and is not counted as a strike. Finally, if a batter does not hit a ball that is delivered within the "strike zone," the pitch is a strike. The "strike zone" is a three-dimensional area with top of the zone halfway between the batter's shoulders and top of his uniform pants, the bottom of the zone is the hollow of his knee, the right and left boundaries are the edges of home plate. When a batter records three strikes, he has earned an out. A "ball" is any pitch that comes over home plate outside of the strike zone. The only exception to this rule is if the batter swings at such a pitch. In that case, it is automatically a strike, regardless of the position of the pitch. When a batter is delivered four "balls," he earns a "base on balls," a free pass to first base. Since the batter can walk to first, this is also known as a "walk."


What does fps mean in baseball?

First Pitch Strike percentage - or the percent of times their first pitch to a batter results in a strike.


If a batter makes contact with a pitch but makes an out is the pitch considered a ball or strike as far as the pitch count is considered?

I think you're asking, "if the pitcher throws a ball that is waaaay out of the strike zone, but the batter swings at it anyway, does it count as a strike?" The answer is YES - if it were a foul ball it would count as a strike, so why should it be any different if it is put into play?


If a ball bounces off the dirt and into the strike zone is it considered a strike or a ball?

A called strike cannot hit the ground and then go thru the strike zone. Baseball rule section 2.00 Definitions of Terms: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball". If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of rule 6.05 (c) and 6.09 (b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight.


What is the ruling if a batter leans in the strike zone to get hit by the ball?

The pitch is ruled a strike and the batter is not awarded first base.


When a batter swings at a pitch and misses is?

Baseball is a game of balls and strikes: the pitcher throws the ball, and the batter tries to hit it. If the batter swings at the ball and misses, that is called a strike. A batter gets three strikes (three efforts to swing at the ball) before being called "out."


If a ball comes to the batter and it's a good ball and it's not swung at is that consided a strike out?

If the pitch is in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "strike." If the pitch is not in the strike zone, and the batter does not swing, it is a "ball."


If a batter hits a pitch that was thrown into the dirt and gets on base is that considered a hit?

Yes it is a hit. If the ball bounces off a car three miles away and come back in the strike zone the batter can hit it. If he doesn't it is a strike. As long as it gets to the batter it is playable unless it hits the batter.AnswerOfficial baseball rules, definitions of terms section 2.00: A ball is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter. If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a "ball." If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight. That first answer is so far off base it isn't even funny -- as soon as it hits the dirt it can only be a strike if the batter swings -- this isn't crickett


How could Tim Wakefield strike out 4 batters in one inning?

runner swings and misses a wild pitch or passed ball and reaches first before tagged or forced out....counts as a K though batter is at first


What is it called when the batter swings at a pitch and misses it?

Something


If pitch hits ground in fastpitch baseball then hits the batter does he go to first?

Yes, unless he swings at it.


If a batter is hit on the hand is it a strike or hit batsman?

It depends. If the batter tried to make contact with the ball, it is a strike. If the batter's hand was in the strike zone, it is a strike. Otherwise, it is a hit by pitch.


What happens when the batter gets hit by the pitch while trying to bunt?

Just because a batter spins to avoid the pitch and in doing so happens to move his bat across the plate does not mean that he swung at or attempted to hit the pitch - even if the bat passes completely over the plate. If the pitch is not in the strike zone and if the umpire judges that the batter was attempting to avoid getting hit rather than attempting to bunt at (or swing at) the pitch, he is hit by the pitch. The ball is dead and the batter is entitled to first base. If the umpire ruled that he was attempting to strike at the pitch when the pitch hit him, the ball is dead and the pitch is ruled a strike. No runners can advance. If the pitch is in the strike zone when the batter is hit, then the ball is dead and the pitch is ruled a strike. No runners can advance.


When can a batter be hit by pitch and not be awarded 1st base?

If a batter is hit by a pitch and the umpire determines he was "leaning over the plate", or "moved into the pitch" then he may not be awarded first base and the pitch will be called a strike or ball


If a runner on fist attempts to steal and the catcher drops the third strike during the same play is the batter out?

The batter is only out on a dropped third strike when there are less than two outs and first base was occupied at the start of the pitch. With two outs the batter may take first base on a dropped third strike even if it was occupied at the start of the pitch.