answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

e 2

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2009-08-13 04:25:10
This answer is:
๐Ÿ™
0
๐Ÿคจ
0
๐Ÿ˜ฎ
0
User Avatar
Study guides
๐Ÿ““
See all Study Guides
โœ๏ธ
Create a Study Guide

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: If a batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter makes his way safely to first base how is that play entered onto a scorecard?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Related questions

If the count is two strikes and a foul tip is caught by the catcher is the batter out?

YES.


Who does the catcher throw to after a strikeout?

The catcher throws to thr pitcher or if he misses the ball he throws it first to get tjr batter out because if if the batter strikes out and the catcher misses the ball the runner can run.


What happens when a batter has two strikes and swings and tips the next pitch?

If the catcher catches the tip the batter is out. If the catcher does not catch the tip, it counts as a foul ball and the batter continues at bat.


Does batter get RBI if runner scores from third on 3 strikes catcher drops ball?

Yes


Has a catcher ever been hit by the batter?

Yes, this has happened enough to have a specific rule about it. If the bat strikes the catcher or his equipment (almost always his glove) while the batter is swinging, the umpire calls catcher interference and the batter takes first base.


If bat hits glove during swing is it interference?

If the bat strikes the catcher's mitt, the rule is catcher's interference. The batter gains first.


Can you strike out by four foul balls?

The batter can foul as often as necessary, unless there are 2 strikes and the batter bunts foul. That becomes a third strike and the batter is out. Also if there are two strikes and the batter foul-tips the ball into the catcher's mitt, that's also strike 3 and the batter is out.


If there is a runner in first base and the batter strikes out swinging and the ball hits the ground pass the catcher is the batter automatically out?

With one out or no outs the batter is out. With two outs the batter may run to first.


What is the difference between a catcher catching a foul tip and catching a fly ball?

A foul tip is considered to be when the batter swings and the bat barely touches, or tips, the ball. The ball goes straight back into the catcher's mitt. A fly ball is when the batter makes contact and the ball goes up into the air for a significant distance. If a catcher catches a foul tip with less than two strikes the play is simply considered a strike and not an out. But if the catcher catches a foul tip when the batter has two strikes, the batter is scored to have struckout.


How is it scored when the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball and the batter advances to first?

In the event of a batter striking out but the Catcher dropping the ball and the batter advancing to first base, it will be ruled as a strike out however it will also be ruled as a passed ball for allowing the batter to reach base. Generally speaking, in most cases the catcher will throw the ball to first base before the batter gets there. In that situation, the put out is given to the first baseman & the catcher receives an assist.


What is the difference between a strike and a strike out?

In baseball and softball, a strike is a pitch that is swung at and missed by the batter. It goes through the batter's strike zone and the catcher catches it. A strikeout, however, is a result of three strikes. When someone strikes out, they have obtained three strikes without getting on base. They are considered out at that point.


When a runner is on first base and there is two outs and the batter strikes out and the catcher drops the ball can the batter run to first base?

Yes, with two outs the uncaught third strike rule is not in effect.


How do you scorecard runners on base and batter is called out for missing a base?

force out


When a runner is on 1st base and there are two strikes and 2 outs and the batter strikes out but the catcher drops the ball can the runner on 1st base run to 2nd base?

No. There are 3 outs. It makes no difference if the catcher catches or drops the ball. A hitter may attempt to take first base if he strikes out and the catcher drops the ball AND first base is not occupied. In this case, first base is already occupied the inning is over.


If a batter tips the ball with two strikes and the catcher juggles it but still catches it before the ball hits the ground is the batter still out just as he would be if the catcher caught it cleanly?

All that matters is that the catcher caught the ball. Accordng to MLB Rule 6.05(b), a batter is out if: " A third strike is legally caught by the catcher; Rule 6.05(b) Comment: "Legally caught" means in the catcher's glove before the ball touches the ground. It is not legal if the ball lodges in his clothing or paraphernalia; or if it touches the umpire and is caught by the catcher on the rebound. If a foul-tip first strikes the catcher's glove and then goes on through and is caught by both hands against his body or protector, before the ball touches the ground, it is a strike, and if third strike, batter is out. If smothered against his body or protector, it is a catch provided the ball struck the catcher's glove or hand first. "


If the a line drive strikes the pitchers rubber and the catcher catches it is he out?

No he is not out. Hitting the rubber is like hitting the ground. He would have to throw out the batter, runner at first base.


If a catcher is credited with a putout on a strikeout does the pitcher get an assist as most stat programs do not give assists in this instance?

The pitcher does not get an assist unless the batter strikes out and the ball bounces to the pitcher, who throws the ball to the catcher, who tags out the runner.


If there is no strikes and a batter hits the ball not in the air in the faul taritory and the catcher catches is it a out?

If the batted ball is on the ground and touched by a defensive player while the ball is in foul territory, before passing 1B or 3B, then it is foul, and the batter is not out. But if the batted ball is hit in the air, a pop up, and the catcher catches it while in foul territory, the batter is out.


Who is the person who behind the batter?

The catcher, and behind the catcher is the Umpire.


Umpire calls a batter out and catcher drops the ball and batter advances to first is he safe or out at first?

If he is called out on strikes and the catcher drops the ball, the batter may try to run to first base. In order to be put out, the catcher must throw the ball and get him out at first before he gets to the base. If the runner beats the throw, then the runner is safe. The pitcher is given credit for a strikeout. The catcher is given an error. This is how pitchers can have 4 strikeouts in an inning, which happened in MLB this week.


When would the batter be out?

After three strikes.


What ways a batter can be out?

if they have 3 strikes


Why does the batter get to run to first and is safe if 2 strikes and catcher misses a third strike?

Well, first of all, a dropped third strike is an out if the catcher's throw beats the runner. It's that way because that's just the rule.


If there is less than two strikes in a baseball game and the hitter tips the ball into the catcher's glove is it a strike or an out?

It's a strike. But if it happens when the batter has two strikes, it's an out, though I'm not sure whether they call it a strike-out or a fly-ball out.


In fastpitch softball is it a dropped third strike if the pitch hits the dirt with a 2-2 count and the batter swings and misses and the catcher catches the ball off the dirt on the bounce?

ok this confuses me if they have 2 strikes on them and they pitch it and the catcher misses it they run and the catcher has to throw them out hope it helpes!