He is hit by the pitch, and is walked.
yes, the ball is not dead on a walk, the batter is free to try to advance to second and risk being put out
Yes, there are no rules in baseball stating what kind of pitch a batter may swing at. It wouldn't be wise to swing at a pitch thrown during an intentional walk, but if the batter wanted to it would be legal.
He can but the umpire, in his descretion, probably won't give the batter first base
Not unless the next batter gets a walk as well. Runners can only move on base hits or walks.
If the pitcher throws four "balls", the batter is awarded first base (a "walk"). Sometimes, the batter is intentionallywalked as a strategic move. And if the pitcher hits the batter with a pitch, the batter is awarded first base, although that is not usually called a walk.
No, once the pitch hits the batter, it's an automatic walk and the ball is dead.
When a pitch is made, at any time the pitch hits the batter, it is considered a base on balls (walk) unlessthe ball is in the strike zone (and hasn't touched the ground)the batter makes no attempt to move out of the wayIf the batter makes no attempt to move out of the way the pitch is just ruled a ball. But if it is ball 4, then the batter is awarded the walk.
droped third strick a walk or hit by pitch
No, it is called a 'hit by pitch' and shows up in the box score as HBP.It is similar to a walk in that the batter is awarded first base.
No...a walk, either four balls pitched to a batter or the batter being hit by the pitch, does not count as an "at bat," and does not affect the player's batting average. It does, however, help his "on-base percentage."
it is a hit by pitch (or a walk).Clarification:The answer above makes it seem a HBP and a Walk are the same -- they are not.. they are scored different and effect stats different. If the umpire calls it ball 4 and says it never hit the batter the ball is still in play and the batter gets a Walk -- If the umpire determines the ball hit the batter, the batter gets a HBP (hit-By Pitch) and it is a dead ball --- runners advance their one base but cannot advance furtherIn your question -- even though the ball hit the dirt, once it strikes the batter (assuming the batter never swung), this is a Hit-By-Pitch
In both cases (base on balls, hit by pitch) the batter is credited with an RBI.